Market Research & Entrepreneurship: Data Sources

Your guide for entrepreneurship & market research resources for Lab-to-Market classes & other activities using UC San Diego Library resources.

Statistical Data Sources

Global Financial Database
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
Blockholders Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Data
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Ziman Real Estates (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK contraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
MIDAS
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
CEIC Data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused.
Four databases are included in this package:
• China Premium Databases
The China Premium Database offers over 415,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949. The China Premium Database is available in both English and Chinese.
• Brazil Premium Databases
The Brazil Premium Database covers 13 macroeconomic and 13 industry growth sectors with unmatched coverage of the energy, biofuel, and automobile sectors. Regional data are also available for Brazil's 5 regions, all 27 states, and 6000 municipalities.
• Global Database
CEIC Data’s Global Database provides access to granular macroeconomic data covering both developed and emerging markets covering over 200 economies and is ideal for business students, professors and lecturers for macroeconomic research projects and course assignments.
• Daily Database
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Powerful search engine to pinpoint association, governmental and other published data sources. Some data is available to download directly from the site in Excel or PDF format or as tables in GIF format. Contains U.S. federal, regional and international sources.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguides for more detail. If you are having trouble connecting, check the status page to see if Sage Data is down.

County Business Patterns/ZIP Code Business Patterns
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments and employment.

Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal)
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
Conference Board Research Online Collection
Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys entitled Top executive compensation, Corporate contributions, Directors' compensation and Board practices, and CEO challenge.
backfiles of data from 1998 and selected earlier reports; Executive action series of topical reports on issues of current concern; StraightTalk which is in-depth analysis of critical economic topics and forecasts of the U.S. economy, interest rates, and foreign exchange rates; Topline data on business ex

Statistical Insight Market Research Highlights

Use ProQuest Statistical Insight to find more like these.

Shining Cities 2020: The Top U.S. Cities for Solar Energy by Adrian Pforzheimer et al. This 57-page annual report is produced by nvironment America, Inc. and Environment America Research & Policy Center, Inc. on installed solar photovoltaic (PV) capacity in 70 major cities. Data are as of end of 2019.
Call Number: PQ Statistical Insight resource
ISBN: 2020 SRI R4840-2
Publication Date: May 2020

2016 Vehicle Technologies Market Report Published in May 2017 by the Dept. of Energy, this report provides an overview of developments and trends in the U.S. vehicle technologies market with data sourced from the federal government, Wards, Crains, and other private sources. Energy economics and technologies are emphasized across all major vehicle classes.
Digital America (Consumer Electronics Association Report) This report, published in 2016, covers consumer electronics industry developments, including data on sales to dealers, and consumer purchasing patterns and preferences. Covers topics like Consumer Wearables, Game Accessories, Smartphones and more.

Other Useful Sources

Polls and Social Surveys
This link to our guide to Roper iPoll, Odum, Pew and other soruces of public opinion polls. Also, the guide covers social survey from organizations like OECD, UN, ILO and more.
Text Mining Sources & APIs
See the Datasets section of the Business Analytics guide for details.
UC Library Search
Starting point for looking across the library catalog and other e-resources in one place. Good for looking for articles and ebooks on a specific topic, such as: