Selected subjects for easy browsing:
TIPS: Don't see your favorite topic listed above? You can search your own topics and titles by using UC Library Search. For best results, sign in to UC Library Search using SSO and your @ucsd.edu email address. To limit to the most recent ebooks, choose the radio button that says "UC San Diego Library Catalog" for your search, then filter the results to online only. Changing the results order from "relevance" to "date: newest first" will show the most recent additions to the ebook collection.
All Money Is Not Created Equal: how entrepreneurs can crack the code to getting the right funding for their startup by Below are previously-featured titles. To see the latest, click New business enterprises - Finance.
Venture Deals, 3rd ed. by
This best-selling book has become a definitive resource for understanding venture capital fundraising. The book dives deeply into how deals are constructed, why certain terms matter (and others don't), and more importantly, what motivates venture capitalists to propose certain outcomes.
Intellectual Property and Financing Strategies for Technology Startups by
This book offers a comprehensive, easy to understand guide for startup entities and developing companies, providing insight on the various sources of funding that are available, how these funding sources are useful at each stage of a company's development, and offers a comprehensive intellectual property strategy that parallels each stage of development.
Funded: the entrepreneur's guide to raising your first round by 
Entrepreneurial Finance: Strategy, Valuation, and Deal Structure by
Unlike other texts, this book prepares readers for a wide variety of situations and problems that stakeholders might confront in an entrepreneurial venture. Readers will find a unique and direct focus on value creation as the objective of each strategic and financial choice that an entrepreneur or investor makes. The authors specifically address the influences of risk and uncertainty on new venture success, devoting substantial attention to methods of financial modeling and contract design. Finally, the authors provide a comprehensive survey of approaches to new venture valuation, with an emphasis on applications.
The Business of Venture Capital: the Art of Raising a Fund, Structuring Investments, Portfolio Management, and Exits, 3rd ed. by
Since its initial publication, The Business of Venture Capital has been hailed as the definitive, most comprehensive book on the subject. Now in its third edition, this market-leading text explains the multiple facets of the business of venture capital, from raising venture funds, to structuring investments, to generating consistent returns, to evaluating exit strategies.
Pitch Perfect Raising Capital for Your Startup by
Founders everywhere struggle to nail the perfect pitch to garner VC backing, and this book is here to help. This book expertly teaches you how to tell your startup's story. To raise venture capital, it is absolutely crucial that your foundation is a story that is accessible, compelling, and succinct. The author uses his invaluable experiential knowledge to guide you through your presentation, from slide deck specifics to storytelling details to determining a fundamental philosophy for your business.
Thriving as a minority-owned business in corporate America: building a pathway to success for minority entrepreneurs by
This book: covers how trends such as Instagram businesses are opening up space for minority businesses to thrive; shows how to use new technologies such as digital currency and crowd-funding platforms to establish your business; and contains the history of laws that have been designed to protect and support minority businesses.
Supplier Diversity for Dummies by
Extend the principles of diversity and inclusion to your company's suppliers with this book. Do your efforts include supplier diversity - an essential part of any holistic diversity effort? Kathey Porter is a nationally recognized small business strategist and economic inclusion and supplier diversity expert who delivers an empowering and informative guide to implementing this integral part of any robust inclusion initiative. This book is for supply chain professionals and anyone looking to increase their proficiency in supplier diversity, improve supply chain inclusivity and increase their social impact.
Closing the Equity Gap: creating wealth and fostering justice in startup investing by
Companies backed by venture capital drive the U.S. economy, accounting for hundreds of billions of dollars in sales and profits. However, most of the wealth created winds up enriching elites, while the businesses funded by venture capitalists widen economic inequality. In this book, a social activist and an entrepreneur, Freada Kapor Klein & Mitch Kapor, offer a win-win road map for creating wealth while addressing inequalities, by investing in groundbreaking tech companies that defy assumptions from Silicon Valley to Wall Street. The authors share their belief that all companies must make a positive impact. Their firm, Kapor Capital, has helped to launch close to two hundred companies since 2011 that engaged in achieving social and economic justice while showing remarkable growth. They discuss principles that have created a new ecosystem of Black and Latinx entrepreneurs, CEOs, and investors, all devising innovative, effective solutions to address the most pernicious problems afflicting many of America's poorest communities. The authors use stories from their launches to show that the standard investment model doesn't work, how it can be fixed, and what the future could look like if more investors joined them.
Digital Business Models by
A business model basically describes the way a company makes money. Digital business models are different to traditional business models. This book explains the key challenges and characteristics of the various business models that are used by digital businesses. Several key digital business models are evaluated, and the authors explain how to formulate and implement a strategy.
Comparative entrepreneurship education by
This book profiles the state of entrepreneurship education in nine countries, and includes very recent data of innovation and entrepreneurship education development.
The Palgrave Handbook of Minority Entrepreneurship by
Bringing much needed clarity and definition to the term 'minority entrepreneur,' this authoritative and scholarly handbook explores the distinctive challenges that minority communities face when founding and managing new ventures. The handbook is inclusive of any community who might be considered disadvantaged or under-represented in terms of entrepreneurial activity and includes women, youths, seniors, disabled, immigrants, Indigenous peoples, LBGTQ+, ex-offenders, Roma, refugees and many others. Its chapters highlight the idiosyncratic nature of the many communities, discusses the literature of minority entrepreneurship, addresses the under-researched areas of entrepreneurial behavior among minorities and disadvantaged groups, and offers new frameworks/models from which future researchers can build new knowledge. The handbook is comprehensive and covers a fast-emerging field of entrepreneurship. It is intended for an audience of students, researchers and policymakers.
Entrepreneurial Finance, Innovation and Development by
Entrepreneurship is now unanimously considered a major engine for socio-economic development, mainly because it creates jobs and innovation. Governments around the world pay special attention to removing entrepreneurial barriers in order to support development via different policies, especially entrepreneurial finance. This book provides a systematic and profound understanding of how finance, entrepreneurship, innovation, and their interactions contribute to economic development in DETEs, which cover a large number of countries in Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Latin America, and Africa.
Business with a Conscience: a research companion by
Practicing business with a conscience leaves no sector untouched. It trickles into how we treat our employees, approach our work, address stakeholders, engage in business processes, communicate and market what we stand for. This book brings together contributing scholars from multiple business areas, from a variety of cultures and locations of the world, in order to achieve the compilation of a reference work that will find an expansive appeal. It will be of great value to researchers, academics, practitioners, and students in corporate social responsibility, business ethics, leadership, organizational studies, and entrepreneurship.
Foundational Research in Entrepreneurship Studies by 
The Oxford Handbook of Entrepreneurship and Collaboration by 
Healthcare Management: Global Perspectives by
The author takes a look at international perspectives in healthcare management and the way regional priorities, national income, and social factors are crucial to effective healthcare services. Readers learn about the skills to address issues and solve problems as a healthcare manager by understanding and appreciating the complex interrelationships of global health provision. The book compares and contrasts different healthcare systems.
Pharma Marketing and Pharmacoeconomics: Opportunities, Challenges, and the Way Forward by
Provides an overview of the pharmaceutical marketplace, discussing the economics involved in manufacturing, pharma policy setting and marketing strategies. Details about the economics of clinical trials, role of patents, overviews of marketing strategies adopted by selected pharma companies, the effects of consumer- and physician-targeted marketing, and new technologies applied to pharma marketing. International in scope with special attention to the BRIC health systems and pharma marketing in India.
Medical Innovation: concepts, delivery and the future of healthcare by
An essential text for innovators, this accessible book explains how medical and healthcare professionals and students who are new to innovation in healthcare can best progress their innovation projects and how those interested in healthcare innovation can develop an improved understanding of novel treatments and developments. The book provides a clear framework for the innovation pathway, describing step-by-step how projects are taken from concept to marketing, and also includes a current assessment of emerging technologies that will influence medical innovation in the future.
Data analytics for supply chain networks by
This book describes data analytics applications to supply chains, and focuses on tools and techniques for assessing resilience and sustainability. It provides a case studies demonstrating using analytics to manage green supply chain issues.
Design-Centered Entrepreneurship by
Grounded in extensive research and field testing, this book presents a concise problem-solving approach to developing a unique business concept. Step-by-step guidelines provide insight into exploring market problem spaces, uncovering overlooked opportunities, reframing customer problems, creating business solutions, and sustaining success and an entrepreneurial culture. Drawing on methodologies from the world of design, the book helps students of entrepreneurship fill in the missing piece that transforms opportunity recognition into a viable business concept. Plenty of useful diagrams help to organize key concepts, making them easily accessible to readers. This second edition has been updated to include social entrepreneurship, more international examples and enhanced support materials.
Futurize! Dealing with Megatrends and Disruptors by
The future will bring only more megatrends and disruptions. With the guidance of this book, which centers around the authors' years-of-research-backed high-performance organizations (HPO) framework and includes the unique self-assessment tool Futurize! This book will help business leaders and organizations set priorities and make decisions so that not only do they honor commitments to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, but also become more future ready.
The Complexity of Consultancy by
This book, one of three in a series looking at complexity and management, brings together the authors’ experiences to provide vibrant accounts of how to lead in everyday situations using practical judgement. The book includes a brief historical introduction to complexity and leadership, real-world narratives illustrating concrete dilemmas in the workplace, and a concluding chapter that draws together the practical and theoretical implications. It includes both theoretical grounding and practical insights from managers and consultants in leading firms.
What Every CEO Should Know about AI by
The author combines his background in developing and implementing AI with scholarly research on knowledge and cultivating talent to address misconceptions about AI. The book explains what AI can and cannot do, carefully delineating facts from beliefs or wishful thinking, and is filled with examples and coverage of ethical issues CEOs should be aware of.
Early Stage Valuation: a fair value perspective by
This book is a comprehensive review of the current methodologies used to value Early Stage Enterprises (ESEs) at fair value for financial reporting, investment, and mergers and acquisitions. It examines how to apply market analysis, discounted cash flows models, statistical techniques such as option pricing models (OPM) and Monte Carlo simulation, the venture capital method and non-GAAP metrics to ESE valuation. The text considers the most recent AICPA, Appraisal Foundation and IPEV guidance, real-world case studies, and examines developments in both academic research and venture capital investor practice.
The Brand Strategy Canvas: A One-Page Guide for Startups by
No matter where you are in the business creation process, using this tool, you’ll be able to build a brand from scratch that you can enthusiastically and effectively implement in real time. This book takes you through each of the simple yet thought-provoking questions of the tool to develop your strategy, including considering audience insight, assessing benefits, creating a positioning statement, and identifying key messages. You will explore real-world case studies along the way and build a message map that ensures your organization drives home a consistent, clear, and authentic message to your target audience.
The Prepared Leader by
The next crisis might be here now, or it might be around the corner. In this book, two history-making experts in crisis leadership--James, dean of The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, and Wooten, president of Simmons University--forcefully argue that the time to prepare is always. They bring decades of world-renowned research on crisis leadership, diversity and inclusion, management strategy, and positive leadership to the table to help leaders better prepare themselves to lead through crises--and for whatever lies around the corner.
New Venture Management: The Entrepreneur's Roadmap for Development, Management, and Growth, 3rd ed. by
This edition introduces the world of new and emerging ventures and the fundamentals of effective new venture management, including such diverse activities as planning, marketing, financing, and growth. It’s divided into four distinct parts, guiding readers through the entire new venture management process and focusing in turn on ideas and opportunities, planning, finance, and management challenges. It covers Lean Startup methodology, team development, crowdfunding, scaling challenges, and business ethics.
Managing Start-Ups for Success: Engtrepreneurship in difficult times by
This book skilfully identifies the challenges of building a new business venture from an idea to a marketable product. An essential guide for entrepreneurs and professionals working in business management and marketing communications, as well as scholars of business administration and financial sciences, this book by an industry expert offers many new and practiced approaches, examples and lessons for innovative thinking and breaking new ground in business. The volume is rich with examples and case studies of many small and large businesses.
Entrepreneurial Marketing:: How to Develop Customer Demand, 3rd ed. by
How do you sell an innovative product to a market that does not yet exist? Market research data will be largely irrelevant in these cases, making sales and marketing of innovative new products especially challenging to entrepreneurs. This book is a guide to successfully developing customer demand and the market for innovative new products. It covers classic marketing concepts, such as segmentation, positioning, and the marketing mix, and discusses how they undergo an 'extreme makeover' in the context of innovative products hitting the market. The author stresses principles of affordable loss, experimentation, and adjustment for emerging opportunities, as well as cooperation with first customers and use of digital technologies.
The New Arts Entrepreneur: navigating the arts ecologies by
This book is the first one specifically for arts entrepreneurship educators and students. Melding an arts-first approach with understandable entrepreneurial concepts and newly formulated tools, the text helps arts students to envision themselves as an entrepreneurial CEO, not simply another random entrepreneur flailing through a maze of well-worn entrepreneurial suggestions that don't fit. The arts ecologies focus provides a framework to envision an entrepreneurial horizon for almost any arts-based business, included those ventures seeking to impact the production of art.
Health Tech: Rebooting Society’s Software, Hardware and Mindse by
This book, by a noted healthcare futurist, addresses how global healthcare will change in the next decade. It covers the complex history of public health, a discussion of COVID and its impacts on health systems worldwide, and also explores specific health tech tools and processes that are developing or in their infancy. Examples are basic medical devices gradually being upgraded and digitally enhanced, AI, wearables, robotics, sensors, and digital therapeutics. The book also describes the movers and shakers in the healthcare system of the future, from startups to patient and service providers, as well as the health challenges of our time, including pandemics, aging, preventive healthcare, and more.
Resilient: How to Overcome Anything and Build a Million Dollar Business with or Without Capital by
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller, this book portrays how to overcome anything, bootstrap, and go from initial concept to Series A funding. Follow entrepreneur and Resilia CEO Sevetri Wilson as she describes her journey from self-funding to venture capital success. Written for ambitious and aspiring entrepreneurs like herself, Wilson covers a wide variety of topics about the entrepreneurial journey: going from idea to product, the correct way to dive into the hiring process; preparing to raise money, building a tech company as a non-technical founder, and how to select the right accelerators, programs, and pitch competitions.
The Startup by
This highly readable volume tells the true story of a venture that achieved more than 400,000% return for its founders and investors.
Startup Opportunities: know when to quit your day job, 2nd ed. by
Start strong with essential early-stage guidance from the VC perspective. This guide is for anyone with a great business idea, to help with realistic assessment from the outset that can save you a lot of time and money. Accomplished venture capitalists share their insight on startups and entrepreneurs: who will fail, who will succeed and why, and what you should do to give your business the very best shot at becoming a global success story. You'll learn how to evaluate your business with a critical eye, and how early customer development can be key in turning a good idea into a great opportunity.
Entrepreneurship for Deprived Communities by
This study investigates barriers to developing enterprise in deprived communities, highlights trade-offs local authorities face and offers guidance that contributes to a model for developing a community-centered enterprise culture that is critical for reinvigorating disadvantaged groups. Chapters explore range of issues and examples, including rethinking the dynamics of micro enterprise, rural entrepreneurship, senior entrepreneurship, entrepreneurship in a cosmopolitan city, civic and community-centered entrepreneurship, and lifestyle entrepreneurship.
Urban Studies and Entrepreneurship by
This book attempts to advance critical knowledge and practices for fostering a variety of entrepreneurship at a city level. It connects scholarship and policy practice in both disciplines.
From Science to Startup: he inside track of technology entrepreneurship by
This book charts the experiences, pitfalls and knowledge behind leading scientific ideas to successful startups. Written by one of Switzerland's top serial entrepreneurs, this book is a must-read for scientists and academicians who want to see their idea turn into a product and change the market.
Medical Innovation: Concept to Commercialization by
This book is a practical, step-by-step approach on how to move a novel concept through development to realize a commercially successful product. Real-world experience cases and knowledgeable contributors provide lessons that cover the practices of diverse organizations and multiple products.
