It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide gathers in one place the links to company financial datasets, industry ratios, background information, news on finance topics and academic research articles for corporate finance and financial markets.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)This link opens in a new windowWRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. ACCESS: UC San Diego faculty, staff and students first must sign up for a WRDS account by using the Register link on the landing page. LIMITATIONS: Masters & Undergraduate students do not have access during summer or quarter breaks. UC San Diego affiliates without AD network accounts are ineligible for WRDS accounts (most Extension students are in this category). In those cases, Mergent Online and Global Financial Database are your recommended alternatives.
Currently includes (as of 9/14/2021):
Bank Regulatory Database
CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange)
S&P Compustat Bank
Compustat Bank - daily updates
S&P Compustat Global
Compustat Global - daily updates
Compustat Legacy - Global
S&P Compustat North America - annual update (current + historical data)
Compustat North America - daily updates (current + historical data)
Compustat Legacy - North America
S&P Compustat North America - monthly update (current + historical data)
S&P Compustat Historical Segments
Compustat Historical Segments - daily updates
Contributed Data - Characteristic Returns
Contributed Database: Intangible Value
KPSS Technological Innovation
Contributed Database: LIVA
CRSP/Compustat Merged (Annual)
CRSP Indexes (Annual)
CRSP Stock (Annual)
CRSP Treasuries (Annual)
CRSP Ziman Real Estates (Annual)
CRSP Index History Intraday (Quarterly)
Dow Jones Averages & Total Return Indexes
Direct Marketing Educational Foundation
SEC Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics
Fama-French portfolios and factors
Federal Judicial Center Linking
Federal Judicial Center Litigation
Federal Reserve Board Foreign Exchange Rates, Interest Rates, and State Composite Indexes
Macro Finance Society
MSRB - Municipal Securities Transaction Data
OTC Markets End-of-Day Pricing
Philadelphia Stock Exchange Currency Options and Implied Volatility
Publicly Available Data
The Penn World Tables Database
Research Quotient (provided to all academics with a Compustat subscription)
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1993
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1994
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1995
NYSE Trades & Quotes 1996
NYSE Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Trades & Quotes - Exists for FK contraint
NYSE Trades and Quotes - for website use
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2014
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2015
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2016
NYSE Millisecond Trades & Quotes 2017
NYSE Short Sales 2005
NYSE Short Sales 2006
NYSE Short Sales 2007
Total q by Luke Taylor
FINRA TRACE Enhanced
FINRA TRACE corporate bond trades
WRDS Research Applications
WRDS Backtest Basic
WRDS Beta Suite
WRDS Efficient Frontier
WRDS EU Short Sales
Event Study Intl using Compustat
Event Study Intraday
Event Study Long Run
Event Study US
WRDS Financial Ratios (base)
WRDS Financial Ratios with CCM
Linking Suite: Bond - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Monthly - CRSP
Linking Suite: TAQ Daily - CRSP
Linking Suite: Supply Chain
WRDS Patent Database
WRDS SAS Visual Analytics
WRDS Company Subsidiaries
WRDS World Indices
Accounting, Tax, & Banking CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis ProQuest database contains highly-ranked global and scholarly journals, current news and trade journals on topics in accounting, banking and taxation. It's useful for articles on the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowDates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Economist.comThis link opens in a new windowPublisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)
Financial Times (Newsbank)Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: FT.com (most current coverage; for Rady graduate programs only). All others should use one of these: Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Business Insights: Global (1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).
Mergent OnlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Mergent ArchivesThis link opens in a new windowSearch here for historical annual reports (starting from 1925), business ratios (starting from 1979) and the company and industry report publications known as the Moody's/Mergent's manuals (starting from 1909, including the industrial, public utilities, transportation, banking, OTC, banking & finance, and international publications and statistical data). For current company information, use Mergent Online, and for current ratios, use Key Business Ratios.
RMA eStatement StudiesThis link opens in a new windowThis resource contains composite financial data from over 250,000 anonymous financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in 762 industries. This tool is designed for comparing one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business along measures of liquidity, debt/default probability, sales and operations. Help using eStatement Studies.
Key Business RatiosThis link opens in a new windowThis online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.
The Library catalog, a one-stop link where you may search for books, articles & more.
Barron'sBarron's front page is under the news pages tab in Factiva, plus you can search for Barron's articles in the main search screen. Rady graduate students have special subscription access via these instructions.
Wall Street Journal News Feed via ProQuest
Recent Gartner Articles of Interest
As of Summer 2018, you have access to Gartner Research Service, a well-known brand of market analyst reports, international news and real-world analysis focuses on a broad coverage of computing and technology sectors. Try searching on fintech, banking, credit and related keywords. The platform allows you to track your favorite keywords.
These applications enable the digitalization of finance business processes with new functionality, deployment options and emerging technologies. Application leaders can capitalize on these developments to enable finance transformation, process optimization and data-driven decision making.
Banks are looking at ways to improve customer experience via usage of the artificial intelligence suite of technologies. We identify emerging vendors using AI-based technologies for banking and investment services that technology and service providers seeking to develop tools should watch.
The COVID-19 pandemic precipitated channel migration for retail banking customers. CIOs responsible for supporting financial services channel strategy should use this infographic to learn how customer behaviors changed during the pandemic, and how they might change again as it subsides.