If you decide to use a program to manage citations, you have choices, but which one do you pick? Think about which features you need and what options are most important. You can use the tables below to help guide you.
If you start with one program and want to switch, you can take most, if not all of what you have, with you to a new program. Want more in depth help? Ask your questions via our online chat service, or contact us for an individual consultation, come to one of our workshops, or check out the Youtube training channels for the program that catches your attention.
Mendeley
Use this link to get more details about this program via our online guide.
Zotero
Use this link to get more details about this program or use our workbook.
| Does This Program Meet My Needs? | ||||
|
I want to … |
||||
|
Capture info from web pages. |
Yes, but not well |
Yes, but not well |
Sort of: you can grab the URL and then take a screenshot and attach it. |
Yes, can save a snapshot. |
|
Import information from databases. |
|
|
|
|
|
Search a database or catalog from the program. |
(limited databases) |
(limited databases) |
(Mendeley's "catalog" only) |
 |
|
Manage a collection of PDFs. |
|
|
|
|
|
Work with my collection without needing the Internet. |
|
|
|
|
|
Work from multiple computers. |
(synch with EndNote Web) |
|
(set up auto synch) |
(set up auto synch) |
|
Work on a tablet, app, or mobile site. |
(app now free) |
(app now free) |
|
(free app) |
|
Share my collection with others and have them add to it. |
|
|
|
|
|
Not spend any money on this tool. |
|
(2 GB free storage)
|
(2GB free storage, can pay to upgrade)
|
(300 MB free storage, can pay to upgrade) |
|
Online Learning Videos & Tutorials |
EndNote Training Channel | Mendeley Guides from Elsevier | Zotero Quick Start Guide | |
|
A Side By Side Comparison of The Basics
|
||||
|
Feature: |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
Mendeley |
Zotero |
|
Web-based version
|
Yes when synched with EndNote Web |
|
|
|
|
Desktop version |
|
|
|
|
|
Cost |
$80 |
Free |
Free + (cost for additional space $) |
Free + (cost for additional space $) |
|
Word processors
|
MS Word, Google Docs* |
MS Word, Google Docs* |
MS Word, |
MS Word, Google Docs |
|
Import citations from databases |
|
|
|
|
|
Import information from web pages |
|
|
|
|
|
Create records from PDFs (files or folders) |
|
|
|
|
|
Online storage limits |
N/A |
2 GB or 5GB (free or purchased version) |
2 GB free (cost for more storage) |
300 MB $ for more |
* The Cite While You Write Tools are not available in Google Docs - use copy & paste and then format the document.
|
|
A Side By Side Comparison of PDF Management Capabilities |
|||
|
Feature: |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
Mendeley |
Zotero |
|
Create records from PDFs (files or folders)
|
|
|
|
|
|
Attach files (PDFs, Docs) to record
|
|
|
|
|
|
Automatically find & attach PDFs
|
|
but UC-eLinks is available |
|
|
|
Annotate & highlight PDFs
|
|
|
|
Not part of the program, but could be connected to an annotation tool. |
|
Search thru attached PDFs (full-text)
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
A Side By Side Comparison of Your Library's Organization, Management, & Collaboration Capabilities |
|||
|
Feature: |
EndNote |
EndNote Web |
Mendeley |
Zotero |
|
Organize records into Groups or Folders |
|
|
|
|
|
Other organization tools |
Smart groups, subgroups |
Shared folders are in a separate space |
Watch folder (PDFs), tags, favorites |
Tags, Smart search, iTunes-like look |
|
Share library with collaborators |
Shared library with full access plus share via compressed library file. |
Yes, & can set read & write privileges |
Yes, set up group, public or private |
Yes, set up group, public or private |
|
Customize display
|
|
|
|
|
|
Modify or create new citation styles
|
Yes, moderately easy |
Yes, but only with librarian moderation |
Yes, but difficult |
Yes, but not easy |
|
Social media & discovery tools |
|
|
|
|
