LibGuides: Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Visual Arts, Design & Architecture

Featuring...

Out of Architecture: the value of architects beyond traditional practice by Jake Rudin; Erin Pellegrino
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781032292960
Publication Date: 2023
Out of Architecture is both a call to reassess the architecture profession and its education, and a toolkit for graduates and working architects to untangle their skills, passions, and value from traditional architectural practice and consider alternate pathways. Written by design professionals and expert career consultants, this book is informed by numerous client accounts as well as the authors' own stories and routes out of architecture
Arts Leadership: Creating Sustainable Arts Organizations by Kenneth Foster
Call Number: T&F e-book
ISBN: 9781138740211
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides a contemporary overview of the field of arts leadership, focusing on the performing arts. The author draws on his extensive global experience advising arts organizations, and proposes an innovative approach to organizational design, systems, and structures for arts leaders in the 21st century that is based in ecological thinking and the creative process that is intrinsic to the arts. This book provides an exceptional tool to understand a unique sector, and is essential reading for students and practitioners across the creative and cultural industries.
Creative Practices for Visual Artists by Kenneth Steinbach
Call Number: Taylor & Francis ebook
ISBN: 9781138299207
Publication Date: 2018
Contrary to popular belief, the practice of art isn't just a product of innate talent or artistic vision; artwork emerges from an intentionally constructed and maintained artistic practice. Developed from interviews with more than 75 mid-career artists, this book examines the methods and approaches highly successful artists use to stay creatively robust for a lifetime.
The Profession of City Planning by Lloyd Rodwin (Editor); Bishwapriya Sanyal (Editor)
Call Number: Taylor & Francis ebook
ISBN: 9780882851655
Publication Date: 2017
The book appraises what planners do and how well they do it, how and why their current activities differ from past practices, and how much and in what ways planners have or have not enhanced the quality of urban life and contributed to the intellectual capital of the field.
Art/Work by Heather Darcy Bhandari; Jonathan Melber
Call Number: N6505 .B575, Geisel 1st fl. west
ISBN: 9781416572336
Publication Date: 2009
The most comprehensive guide of its kind, Art/Work gives artists of every level the tools they need to make it in an art world.
Accelerating on the Curves: the Artist's Roadmap to Success by Katharine T. Carter
Call Number: N8350 .A23, Geisel 1st fl. west
ISBN: 9780984545308
Publication Date: 2011
Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts by Richard Clark; Pamela Fehl; Brad Holland (Foreword by)
Call Number: N8350 .C53, Geisel 1st fl. west
ISBN: 9780816059287
Publication Date: 2006
Art remains an attractive field to many creative people, but it is traditionally difficult to break into the business. ""Career Opportunities in the Visual Arts"" is intended for anyone looking for an advantage in planning a career in art.
Doctoral Writing in the Creative and Performing Arts by Louise Ravelli, Brian Paltridge & Sue Starfield (Eds.)
Call Number: LB2369 .D63, Geisel 6th fl.
ISBN: 9781909818477
Publication Date: 2014
This book casts light on the unique and challenging form of the doctoral thesis in the creative and performing arts, where the written text is combined with a creative/performed text, to present a unique contribution to research. There are chapters that have content directly relevant to career exploration relating to pursuing a PhD in a wide range of arts fields.
Eric Owen Moss: the New City by Eric Owen Moss; Frank Gehry The book will have great appeal to city and urban planners, developers involved in urban restoration and renewal, young architects and students, and anyone interested in advanced civic design.
Call Number: Books, Geisel Floor1 East NA737.M73 A4 2016
ISBN: 9780847848010
Publication Date: 2016
Becoming an Architect by Lee W. Waldrep Starting a career as an architect is an exciting prospect, but it's important to do your research before you take the plunge. The third edition of Becoming an Architect is an update to the best-selling guide and highlights the risks and rewards on the path to a career as an architect.
Call Number: Wiley e-book
ISBN: 9781118612132
Publication Date: 2014
Architecture: an Introduction by Geoffrey Makstutis; Chronicle Books Staff; Laurence King Publishing Limited Staff
Call Number: NA1995 .M35, Geisel 1st fl West
ISBN: 9781856696234
Publication Date: 2010
The Advertising On-Ramp by Belle Frank This book is a must-read for college seniors and new graduates in communications, marketing, and advertising, or those in liberal arts who want to move into those fields.
Call Number: HF5828.4 .F73, Geisel 6th Fl
ISBN: 9780985179519
Publication Date: 2013-04-15

How to Read Like a Pro

Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.

Art and Architecture Source
Although this database is great for academic research, it also has news and contents that are useful for keeping up with the market for visual arts and careers. For example, try a search on the subject of career development. It also covers key titles, like:
Business Source Complete
This business database has journals on management in the applied arts and design as an industry. For example:
You also can search on keywords for jobs you like (e.g., gaming or game design) and combine it with the phrase vocational guidance (example for the field of architecture), to customize your searches for what you are interested in.

WWD
trade journal of the fashion & apparel industry
Variety
Long-standing trade publication for the international entertainment industry, with special focus on film, television and theater.
Photo District News
Covers breaking news stories and delivers in-depth features on the [commercial] photo industry, including interviews and profiles, reports on new products both analog and digital, and information on useful sources for professional photographers.

The Business of Art

The guides listed below are high-quality resources that are specifically focused on the business of art, including opportunities to sell your work and promote yourself as an artist. They are good for inspiration as well as specifics.

Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market, 33rd ed by Chuck Sambuchino (Editor)
Call Number: EBL e-book
ISBN: 0593332067
Publication Date: 2022
This book is the definitive publishing guide for anyone who seeks to write or illustrate for kids and young adults.
Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market 2016 by Mary Burzlaff Bostic
Call Number: N8600 .A76, Geisel 2nd fl west, Research Assistance Desk
ISBN: 144034261X
Publication Date: 2015 (updated annually)
Do you want to establish or expand a career for yourself in fine art, illustration or design? This reference guide can help you navigate the changing business landscape.
Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists, 4th ed. by Tad Crawford
Call Number: KF390.A7 C68, Geisel 6th fl.
ISBN: 9781621534037
Publication Date: 2014
The fourth edition of this eminently useful book includes new forms for hiring and firing employees, agreements to arbitrate, promissory notes, and general releases. Also included are a contract for the sale of an artwork, contract for a commission, delivery-of-art confirmation form, artist-gallery contract, contract for an exhibition loan, model release, commercial lease, sublease, and lease assignment, and much more. Each form includes step-by-step instructions, advice, and unique negotiation checklists for making the best deal possible.
What They Didn't Teach You in Design School by Phil Cleaver
Call Number: EBL e-book
ISBN: 1440334366
Publication Date: 2014
You'll appreciate this design career guide if: You're a recent graduate and looking for a job as a designer You want resume and interviewing advice, as well as tips for working in the design industry You'd like to learn how to avoid common pitfalls of asserting yourself in the design industry
Photographer's Market 2017 by Mary Burzlaff Bostic (Editor); Noel Rivera (Editor)
Call Number: TR12 .P515, Geisel 1st fl East
ISBN: 9781440346583
Publication Date: 2017
This edition contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date market contacts for working photographers today: magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, stock agencies, advertising firms, contests, and more. For additional titles on these topics, see Photography - business methods in our catalog or in Circuit (other SD county libraries)..
Professional Photography: the new global landscape explained by Grant Scott
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780415717540
Publication Date: 2015
This handbook uses a global approach to teach photographers how to thrive in a fast-changing and competitive international marketplace. Highlights include practical examples and detailed advice about: Being well-versed in creating both still and moving images. Designing and maintaining a well-structured website. The importance of engaging with social media. Exploring personal projects to find new clients. Managing print sales and exhibiting. Understanding budgeting and copyright in a digital world. The accompanying podcast interviews with some of today¿s top professional photographers provide additional insider information to help photographers understand their place in both the commercial and creative worlds.
Photographers at Work: essential business and production skills for photographers in editorial, design, and advertising by Martin Evening
Call Number: TR154 .E94, Geisel 1st fl East
ISBN: 9780321994141
Publication Date: 2015
What are the relationships between photographer and clients really like? How should you prepare for a special effects shoot? What steps should you take to protect your equipment while shooting on location? In Photographers at Work, photographer and best-selling author Martin Evening examines these issues and much more, offering advice to help you succeed in an ever-changing-and challenging-field.