Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Investment Banking Explained, Second Edition: an Insider's Guide to the Industry by
Call Number: HG4534 .F57, Geisel Library 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2019
This classic guide has been revised to provide a crystal-clear view of how investment banking works in the post-financial-crisis landscape. Written in accessible, easy-to- understand language, Investment Banking Explained provides a solid foundation in the history, key terms, structures, and strategies of this complex, ever-expanding, and critically important industry. Everything you need to identify structures, strategies, and operational aspects of investment banking is here, along with deep dives into of the operations of the world's most successful firms.
The Work: searching for a life that matters by
Call Number: F189.B153 M67, Geisel 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2015
The acclaimed author of The Other Wes Moore continues his inspirational quest for a meaningful life and shares the powerful lessons--about self-discovery, service, and risk-taking--that led him to a new definition of success for our times.
A Complete Guide to the Futures Market by
Call Number: Wiley ebook
Publication Date: 2017
A comprehensive resource for futures traders and analysts. Spanning everything from technical analysis, trading systems, and fundamental analysis to options, spreads, and practical trading principles, provides a solid foundation in futures market basics, details key analysis and forecasting techniques, explores advanced trading concepts, and illustrates the practical application of these ideas with hundreds of market examples.
The Technical Interview Guide to Investment Banking and Website by
Call Number: Wiley ebook
Publication Date: 2017
This book is the aspiring investment banker's guide to acing the interview and beginning your journey to the top. By merging a 'study guide' to the field with a forecast of the interview, this book helps you prepare for both content and structure. Each chapter includes a list of the questions you will almost certainly be asked--along with the answers that interviewers want to hear--from the basic Q&A to the advanced technical analyses and case studies.
How to Get into the Top MBA Programs by
Now with new and expanded information on international MBA programs, comprehensive rankings of the leading schools, and new interviews with admissions officers, How to Get Into the Top MBA Programs provides a complete overview of what the top schools look for. This book features a step-by-step guide to the entire application process with in-depth advice from more than thirty admissions directors.
Call Number: HF1111 .M66 (Geisel, 6th fl)
Publication Date: 2010
How to Read Like a Pro
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
The Economist This link opens in a new window
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist
online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Vault This link opens in a new window
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and interships, and find graduate programs
Recent Gartner Articles of Interest
As of Summer 2018, you have access to Gartner Research Service, a well-known brand of market analyst reports, international news and real-world analysis focuses on a broad coverage of computing and technology sectors. Try searching on fintech, banking, credit and related keywords. The platform allows you to track your favorite keywords.
Market Guide for Blockchain Consulting and Proof-of-Concept Development Services by
Call Number: ID: G00326939
Publication Date: 13 March 2018
Organizations are starting to review the potential of blockchain to disrupt their industry through new business models and efficiencies. With skills in demand, sourcing and vendor management leaders need to explore the market for consultancy services to navigate the fast-evolving blockchain world.
Follow Four Evaluation Steps to Decide If Blockchain Is Right for Your Supply Chain by
Call Number: ID: G00347294
Publication Date: 08 February 2018
Blockchain has its origins in the banking, insurance and finance sector (fintech). These industries have conducted pilots and proofs of concept (POCs) across...propositions of smart contracts — computerized protocols used across the fintech world to help enforce contractual-based transactions...
you have two other great campus resources available to you
UCSD Career Services is for all UCSD Students, and their site contains two high interest resources for this career interest: Vault's Career Insider and Going Global.
Resources from Rady Career Connections
MBA students have access to additional content for career exploration, job hunting and interview prep.