Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
Example: entrepreneurship. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
Vault has extensive and up-to-date content about careers in consulting and looking for management consulting jobs. This section includes renowned titles top firms rankings, background about careers in this field and case interviewing.
Use the Research Companies section to find background on a particular firm for which you're considering interviewing.
NOTE: The Library also has print and e-book versions of case interview prep by Wet Feet and other publishers.
Browse for items on these subjects below in UC Library Search. Useful subjects are:
Professional Management Consulting: a guide for new and emerging consultants by 
The Creative Business Handbook: Follow Your Passions and Be Your Own Boss by 
The MBA compass: finding your true north in the maze of MBA programs by
Looking to pursue and MBA? The authors help you understand the differences between full-time, modular, online, and executive MBAs, and provide expert advice on selecting the right program for your unique needs.
The Leadership Pipeline: Developing Leaders in the Digital Age, 3rd ed. by 
The Next Economy MBA by 
Promoting Entrepreneurship to Reduce Graduate Unemployment by 
The Basic Principles of Effective Consulting by
Consultants are called upon more and more to help implement needed organizational changes, fill gaps in workforce capabilities, and solve significant business problems. As the demand for consultants increases, it is critical that practitioners differentiate themselves and understand how they can be most successful, for themselves and their clients. This book details what effective consultants do and provides a step by step process of just how they do it.
Marketing Skills in Practice by
Based around research into marketing education and practice, this book helps students embarking on this career to develop their professional identity, as well as key skills required by employers.
Making a Difference: careers in health informatics by
Get answers to questions about in working in health informatics. Typically, this field includes people who work in health care, computer and technology fields, information science, finance / insurance and related areas. The book describes the various jobs that exist in the field, what credentials someone needs to qualify for those jobs, and a brief description about what people in those roles tend to do every day. The authors describe career options, roles, and skill sets important in health informatics across 6 related industries.
Profession and Purpose: a resource guide for MBA careers in sustainability, 2nd ed. by
This book covers key job search resources and tips for MBAs interested in a wide range of sustainability careers. It provides ideas for researching companies, making the most of your networking, identifying job and internship openings, and preparing for interviews. It guides you to sustainability-specific career resources you should know about, so that you can be well versed in sustainability news/trends, and able to network at the right events, conferences, and company presentations.
Data Driven: an introduction to management consulting in the 21st century by
This book is a "scientific" introduction to management consulting that covers elementary and more advanced concepts, such as strategy and client-relationship. It discusses the emerging role of information technologies in consulting activities and introduces the essential tools in data science, assuming no technical background. This book has at least four objectives: to be scientific, modern, complete and concise.
Making Global MBAs: the culture of business and the business of culture by
Based on extensive field research in several leading US business schools, this groundbreaking ethnography exposes what the culture of MBA training says about contemporary understandings of capitalism in the context of globalization. Orta details the rituals of MBA life and the ways MBA curricula cultivate both habits of fast-paced technical competence and "softer" qualities and talents thought to be essential to unlocking the value of international cultural difference while managing its risks
Thriving in the Gig Economy by
Take an in-depth look into the gig economy to see how tech professionals and entrepreneurs can earn a living as freelancers and contractors. Build your own business. The pros and cons of the lifestyle and what to expect from it are discussed.... You will understand how to make a living supplying tech skills on a "per gig" basis. Practical instructions, advice, and tips are provided on goal setting, lifestyle design, and selecting the types of work and contracts that further your goals and support the things you value as you transition from a 9-5 job.
