Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Companies

This guide uncovers resources for exploration of careers and college major choices, career development and change, and resumes and interviewing.

Resources for Company News & Background

These items are useful for market research, competitive intelligence and following what's going on with individual companies. The first three links serve well as starting points because they are the most broadly-useful databases that cover all kinds of international public and private companies. The rest of the items have more limited use but function very well in the domains they address, so may be helpful when further information is sought.

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
The BCRC company search leads to well-organized compay profiles.

Market Share Reporter & Business Rankings Annual (in Gale Business Insights)
Use the Advanced Search form in Gale Business Insights to hone in on market share/rankings information on companies & industries. Simply input your search term in the top and click the market share/rankings box under Content Type.

Business Source Complete
A search on a company name in BSC can yield news as well as SWOT and market analyses. These reports, where available, often have graphics that can be used and quoted in presentations.
Factiva
Factiva.com has great coverage of international businesses, particular news, in both English and non-English language publications.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
The NU company dossier section (located under Find a Company on the landing page) is great for obtaining company profiles. The Biographies tab on the landing page is great for gathering background on top corporate executives.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Hoover's Company Reports

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives, product lines and key competitors..

Company Directories & Lists

These resources help you do quick company look-ups and/or create lists based on criteria like 'give me all the companies in San Diego that have under 250 employees.'

Winmo (formerly Advertising RedBooks)
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies, and is an essential tool for anyone internship/job seeking and interviewing in this industry.

Uniworld Company Directories
more...less...
Search criteria can include geography, industry, size of company, and much more.

Vault
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and internships, and find graduate programs
Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
BCRC is a great first-stop for business information, and in particular doing company searches yield background on public and private companies, as well as news. It also has a list-building fuction.
Regional Business News
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Nexis Uni
NU contains a Fina a Company Search section with the full contents of Hoovers Company Records and other well-known background resources on public and private companies. That section of NU also can create lists or do look-ups.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.

SWOT Analysis

Need an easy source for company SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats)?

Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more

Statistical Insight Highlights

Corporate Equity Index
Statistical data from the annual survey by Human Rights Campaign.
ERI Salary Surveys
The Economic Research Institute regularly completes surveys that help benchmark compensation across many industries and job titles for the U.S. This link is to the latest edition in our collection. Sample titles include: Nonprofits, Research & Development, Engineering, Accounting, Management, Biotech & Pharma, Healthcare, and more.