It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and interships, and find graduate programs
Use the Research Companies section to find background on a particular firm for which you're considering interviewing.
Magazine Writing by Christopher D. Benson; Charles F. WhitakerWhat does it take to launch a career writing for magazines? In this comprehensive, up-to-date introduction to magazine writing, students will learn everything from the initial story pitch all the way through to the final production, taking with them the essential tools and skills they will need for today s rapidly changing media landscape.
Call Number: Ebsco e-book
Publication Date: 2014
On Camera by Nancy Reardon; Tom FlynnFrom the Foreword by Bob Schieffer: "This is a real 'how to' book by two people who really know how. But it is more than just a fine manual on broadcast journalism, journalists and non-journalists alike will find it good read, a treasure chest of anecdotes, stories and a tall tale or two from the most exciting profession of all--reporting the news." R
Call Number: PN4784.T4 R43, Geisel 7th fl.
Publication Date: 2013
Researching for the Media by Adèle EmmThis book explains the role of the researcher and journalist within radio, television and journalism exploring key areas of what to expect in the job.
The discussion delves into donor behavior, decision making, social influences, and models, then uses that context to describe today's fundraising methods, tools, and practices. A robust planning framework helps you set objectives, formulate strategies, create a budget, schedule, and monitor activities, with in-depth guidance toward assessing and fine-tuning your approach.
This book includes the insights that reflect the advances in data science, data engineering and knowledge engineering from upcoming researchers and leading academicians across the globe.) The volume covers variety of topics such as Advanced Communication Networks, Artificial Intelligence and Evolutionary Algorithms, Advanced Software Engineering and Cloud Computing, Image Processing and Computer Vision, and Security.
The acclaimed author of The Other Wes Moore continues his inspirational quest for a meaningful life and shares the powerful lessons--about self-discovery, service, and risk-taking--that led him to a new definition of success for our times.
Targeted to today's media-savvy students, the Media Career Guide includes the latest information on using social media during a job search, as well as tips for navigating a rapidly changing digital media landscape.
This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in communications and media such as: - Marketing - Journalism - Radio - Television - Broadcasting - Public Relations - International Relations - Labor Relations.
How to Read Like a Pro
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
Covers breaking news stories and delivers in-depth features on the [commercial] photo industry, including interviews and profiles, reports on new products both analog and digital, and information on useful sources for professional photographers.
The Business of Communications
The guides listed below are high-quality resources that are specifically focused on the business of communications (including art and writing), which elaborate on opportunities to sell your work and promote yourself as a creator. They are good for inspiration as well as specifics.
Writer's Market by Robert Lee Brewer (Editor)
Call Number: PN161 .W83, Research Assistance Desk, Geisel 2nd fl west
The best resource available for finding a literary agent! No matter what you're writing--fiction or nonfiction, books for adults or children--you need a literary agent if you want to get the best traditional publishing book deal possible.
Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market 2017 by Mary Burzlaff Bostic
Do you want to establish or expand a career for yourself in fine art, illustration or design? This reference guide can help you navigate the changing business landscape.
Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists, 4th ed. by Tad Crawford
Call Number: KF390.A7 C68, Geisel 6th fl.
Publication Date: 2014
The fourth edition of this eminently useful book includes new forms for hiring and firing employees, agreements to arbitrate, promissory notes, and general releases. Also included are a contract for the sale of an artwork, contract for a commission, delivery-of-art confirmation form, artist-gallery contract, contract for an exhibition loan, model release, commercial lease, sublease, and lease assignment, and much more. Each form includes step-by-step instructions, advice, and unique negotiation checklists for making the best deal possible.
Now in its 30th edition, CWIM contains more than 500 listings for children's book markets, including publishers, literary agents, magazines, contests, and more, making it the definitive guide for anyone seeking to write or illustrate for kids and young adults. Inside, you'll also find: Interviews with accomplished authors, such as Kwame Alexander, Dandi Daley Mackall, and Kenneth Oppel Advice from 21 debut authors of picture books, middle-grade fiction, and young adult fiction sharing their personal journeys to success and publication Roundtable discussions with agents on what they're currently seeking, interviews with authors who published with small presses, and informative articles on the craft of writing A one-year subscription to the children's publishing content on WritersMarket.com (print version only) + Includes exclusive access to the webinar "How to Query Agents for Children's Picture Books, Middle-Grade, and Young Adult Fiction" by agent Jennifer De Chiara of the De Chiara Literary Agency
This guide includes hundreds of publishing opportunities specifically for poets, including listings for book and chapbook publishers, poetry publications, contests, and more. These listings include contact information, submission preferences, insider tips on what specific editors want, and--when offered--payment information.
You'll appreciate this design career guide if: You're a recent graduate and looking for a job as a designer You want resume and interviewing advice, as well as tips for working in the design industry You'd like to learn how to avoid common pitfalls of asserting yourself in the design industry
Photographer's Market 2017 by Mary Burzlaff Bostic (Editor); Noel Rivera (Editor)
Call Number: TR12 .P515, Geisel 1st fl East
Publication Date: 2017
This edition contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date market contacts for working photographers today: magazines, book publishers, greeting card companies, stock agencies, advertising firms, contests, and more. For additional titles on these topics, see Photography - business methods in our catalog or in Circuit (other SD county libraries)..