Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science and Diplomacy by
Call Number: Springer ebook
Publication Date: 2017
This book examines in depth science diplomacy, a particular field of international relations. Written by a professor of economics and former Embassy counselor for science and technology, the book sets out to answer the following questions: Can science issues affect diplomatic relations between countries? Is international scientific cooperation a factor for peace? Are researchers good ambassadors for their countries?
American Ambassadors by
Publication Date: 2015
Some of those named as American ambassadors are the product of both a time-honored tradition and a thinly veiled form of corruption. 'American Ambassadors' explains how a person becomes an ambassador, where they go, what they do and why, in today's ever more globalized world, they are more important than ever.
Careers Around the World: Individual & Contextual Perspectives by
Call Number: Geisel 6th fl., HF5381 .C267
Publication Date: 2011
Use Roger, the UCSD Library catalog, to find more items.
Useful subjects are:
How to Read Like a Pro
Follow news using EbscoHost databases
To find more industry news for your own special interest, type your keywords and do a search. In the results, look at the left nav bar for Source Type and click "trade journals" and/or "magazines" to follow the latest news. You may set up an alert in your email for weekly updates or follow the feed in a news reader.
Example: international careers. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
The Going Global Country Career Guide provides country-specific information aimed at helping you find employment in and outside the U.S. Information provided includes work permits and visa regulations, popular company profiles, resume and CV writing guidelines, and cultural advice.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
Etiquette & Country Background
Global Business Etiquette by
Call Number: ABC-Clio e-book
Publication Date: 2006
Whether you are preparing for a long-term overseas assignment or a short trip abroad to meet with clients, customers, suppliers, or distributors, Global Business Etiquette will be an indispensable resource for understanding the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoiding embarrassing (and costly) gaffes, and successfully navigating the subtleties of social interaction.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by
Call Number: HF5389 .M674, 6th fl, Geisel
Publication Date: 2012
How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa.
Culturally Mindful Communication by
Call Number: T&F e-book
Publication Date: 2017
Drawing on research in intercultural communication, psychology, and public and nonprofit administration, this book provides useful strategies for students and practitioners of public service to improve their intercultural communication skills. Topics include: expectations for public and nonprofit professionals in today''s multicultural society frameworks for assessing cultural differences and similarities verbal and nonverbal communication in the intercultural context stereotyping, prejudice, ethnocentrism, microagression, and social privilege as barriers for effective intercultural communication key considerations for effective multicultural teams approaches for effective multicultural community engagement, and leading with cultural mindfulness.
International Protocol by
Call Number: JSTOR e-book
Publication Date: 2016
This book offers an overview of its associated practices, including those found within the context of diplomatic relations and the business world. Focusing on a wide range of countries and cultures, the book covers topics like seating arrangements, the history and use of flags, ceremonies, invitations and dress codes, and gifts and decorations.
Want to see more titles like these titles above? Try:
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Internet Archive version
includes captures back to 2007 and archives back to 2000. FDLP Archive version
includes downloads back to 2000.
Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD Portal) This link opens in a new window
Portal to UCSD-subscribed EIU content. Includes searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people. Access limited to 1 user at a time. Try again later if refused.
Language learning resources
Mango Online Language Learning
Mango offers conversation and film-based tutorials in over 70 languages. Mango can be accessed anywhere with a campus internet connection.
Business Chinese by
Call Number: T&F e-book
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
This book has been specifically designed for students in the fourth year of language learning or above who wish to progress their language training and prepare to tackle real-life business situations confidently and effectively. Designed to prepare students for the world of business, it presents timeless business knowledge through topics ranging from frequently occurring business activities, economic systems and phenomena, to issues of common interest. Topics include: the stock market, international trade and economic recession and inflation. By the end of this course students will have the skills to deal effectively with a range of business situations and the skills to prepare themselves for any future business encounters.