Available only on computers in UCSD Library buildings. Includes over 20,000 college and university catalogs in original page format, plus their websites. For most non-U.S. colleges only ther websites are listed, and these typically include catalogs.
Career Adventure by Susan M. Johnston
Call Number: Geisel 6th Fl., HF5381 .J574
Publication Date: 2013
The Career Adventure is a full-range approach for adult students who are seeking engagement in a systematic process to career decision-making. Whether students are new to career planning and trying to determine how their experiences prepare them for future careers or seasoned pros who are moving on to a new career opportunity, a series of steps helps them build on the growth and learning that has informed their prior work lives. Students will use their experiences as part of a process that contextualizes skills, knowledge, and background to inform future success. Grounded in 'doing' rather than 'explaining,' students are encouraged to move aggressively through these steps for life-long career development. The revision focuses on setting and achieving career goals that offer long-term growth, and uses social networking media to create a vibrant exchange that supports mutual value and meaning. The opportunity to capitalize on the knowledge of fellow career seekers maximizes information sharing and reflection for better, more illuminated goal-setting and decision-making.
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and interships, and find graduate programs
Science by Women by Eucharia Oluchi Nwaichi (Editor)This book provides a roadmap for those embarking on a career in STEM, whether in the research or industry realms. Focusing on paths taken by women, the contributors lend their stories, tips and tricks, and hardships they faced entering into fields historically dominated by men. The authors provide practical advice, highlighting soft skills that are not often taught as modules in the classroom.
Call Number: Springer e-book
Publication Date: 2022
The Latinx Guide to Graduate School by Genevieve Negrón-Gonzales & Magdalena L. Barrera.This book offers readers advice on the graduate school process-from the application stage to the cultivating of effective networks in academia. It provides both institutional analysis and advice for prospective and current graduate students, with a specific focus on the humanities and social sciences. The authors – who draw on their work as students, professors, thesis advisors and mentors -- discuss common challenges, key questions, and helpful techniques for supporting Latinx students that will be helpful for both students and faculty mentors.
Call Number: JSTOR e-book
Publication Date: 2023
Queer Career: sexuality and work in modern America by Margot CanadayArguing that queer workers were more visible than hidden and, against the backdrop of state aggression, vulnerable to employer exploitation, the author positions employment and fear of job loss as central to gay life in postwar America. Queer Career shows how LGBT history helps us understand the recent history of capitalism and labor and rewrites our understanding of the queer past.
Call Number: Princeton Univ. Press e-book
Publication Date: 2023
Driving Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion by Kristina KohlA key feature of this book is a primer, which is a quick reference guide to key terms, concepts, and definitions. It helps to define justice, equity, diversity, inclusion, and other key terms, such as unconscious bias, stereotypes, and microaggressions. It also features a toolkit, which includes checklists to help managers lead organizations to realize their own North Star vision. The other contents help managers to assess organizational systems that justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion impact, and take a deeper dive into realigning their organizations. It provides tools to do this, as well as interviews with DEI practitioners that cover useful practices and case studies. The framework it presents builds an inclusive organization, and a model to engage and support senior and middle management who are beginning the process of systemic change.
Call Number: Auerbach e-book
Publication Date: 2022
Misconceiving Merit: Paradoxes of Excellence and Devotion in Academic Science and Engineering by Mary Blair-Loy; Erin A. CechAn incisive study showing how cultural ideas of merit in academic science produce unfair and unequal outcomes. The authors address the cultural foundations of a paradox. On one hand, academic science, engineering, and math revere meritocracy, a system that recognizes and rewards those with the greatest talent and dedication. At the same time, women and some racial and sexual minorities remain underrepresented and often feel unwelcome and devalued in STEM. How can academic science, which so highly values meritocracy and objectivity, produce these unequal outcomes? The insights here can help higher education administrators working toward greater equity as well as for scientists and engineers striving to change entrenched patterns of inequality in STEM.
Call Number: U of Chicago Press e-book
Publication Date: 2022
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by Sarah Gibson; J. FernandezHelping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face. Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. A solid introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.
Call Number: PQ e-book
Publication Date: 2018
Conquering Academia: transparent experiences of diverse female doctoral students by Sonyia RichardsonThis book highlights the lived experiences of diverse women who are progressing through a doctoral degree program, covering the challenges as well as opportunities that they face. It addresses themes of intersectionality, lived experiences, challenges and opportunities. Part of the Contemporary Perspectives on Access, Equity, and Achievement series, this book describes how their cultural identities assist them with navigating the academic landscape, and provides guidance for current female doctoral students about strategic positioning as a student within the doctoral program and personal necessary transformation in academia. It also informs faculty and staff in academia about the experiences of diverse women and how to support their progression and overall retention.
Call Number: PQ e-book
Publication Date: 2020
The Public Professor: how to use your research to change the world by M. V. Lee BadgettThe work of academics can matter and be influential on a public level, but the path to becoming a public intellectual, influential policy advisor, valued community resource or go-to person on an issue is not one that most scholars are trained for. This book offers scholars strategies to become more engaged with the public on a variety of fronts: online, in print, at council hearings, even with national legislation. Lee Badgett (@LeeBadgett), is a veteran policy analyst and public intellectual with 25+ years of experience connecting cutting edge research with policymakers and the public.
Call Number: Jstor e-ibook
Publication Date: 2016
Autism Works by Adam FeinsteinPacked with real-life case studies examining the day-to-day working lives of people across the autism spectrum in a wide variety of careers, this book provides constructive solutions for both employers seeking to improve their workplaces and for individuals with autism considering their employment options. It dispels popular myths about autism, such as that everyone is good at IT, and crucially tackles the potential job opportunities available across the spectrum, including for those who have no language at all. It also highlights the neglected area of gender differences in the workplace.
Examines strategies and best practices that effectively integrate LGBTQ areas of teaching and research with student life activities.
Gendered Success in Higher Education by Kate White (Editor); Pat O'Connor (Editor)Examines higher education institutions that exemplify gendered success whether in terms of the presence of women in senior positions or attempts to change a gendered organisational culture. It proposes a new gender agenda, identifies the factors that need to be included in a model of gendered change, and provides important insights into the nature of gendered change globally.
Call Number: Springer ebook
Publication Date: 2017
A Practical Guide to Gender Diversity for CS Professors by Diana FranklinComputer science faces a continuing crisis in the lack of females pursuing and succeeding in the field. Companies may suffer due to reduced product quality, students suffer because educators have failed to adjust to diverse populations, and future generations suffer due to a lack of role models and continued challenges in the environment. In this book, we draw on the latest research in sociology, psychology, and education to first identify why we should be striving for gender diversity (beyond social justice).
Mentoring Faculty of Color by Dwayne MackThe 14 new essays in this collection come from underrepresented faculty who teach at predominantly white colleges and universities. This book discusses both the tenure and promotion experiences of faculty of color and is not racial, ethnic, gender, cultural or discipline specific. The book is thus not only for aspiring graduate students of color and faculty of color desirous of outside mentoring, but is also aimed toward administrators interested in the professional development and dilemmas of faculty of color.
Call Number: ebrary e-book
Publication Date: 2012
Homofiles: theory, sexuality, and graduate studies by Jes BattisThis volume collects the work of gay, lesbian, and transgender graduate students who are pursuing studies across the humanities. This is the first anthology to specifically explore the role of queer and transgender intellectuals-in-training within the academy, and the contributors both analyze and challenge the structures of academia that they are working in as cultural critics.
Divergent Mind: thriving in a world that wasn't designed for you by Jenara NerenbergThis book contains a paradigm-shifting study of neurodivergent women - those with ADHD, autism, synesthesia, high sensitivity, and sensory processing disorder. When it comes to women, sensory processing differences are often overlooked, masked, or mistaken for something else entirely. The author offers a path forward, describing practical changes in how we communicate, how we design our surroundings, and how we can better support divergent minds. When we allow our wide variety of brain makeups to flourish, we create a better tomorrow for us all.