Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Career Paths

This guide uncovers resources for exploration of careers and college major choices, career development and change, and resumes and interviewing.

Industry Background

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Use the BCRC Advanced Search, and change the Content Type dropdown box to Industry Overviews to find very good and up-to-date industry profiles.
Business Source Complete
BSC has great industry coverage, including industry analyst reports, book chapters on industries, and news and academic articles that contain industry analysis
Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides public company information on more than 45,000 U.S. and international companies, both active and inactive. This resource contains Mergent Industry Reports which can be found using the Report Search tab.

Occupational Wage Statistics & Data Tables: San Diego & Carlsbad
The OWS by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics outputs information about employment and median wage for a number of industries and geographic areas over time. this example is the latest data table (May 2022 release) for our area. However, see the Data tab on their main page to change format, geography, etc.
O*Net Online
Find out more about the components of the job you want, such as skills and interests.
Occupation Outlook Handbook
The data on this website are organized by the Bureau of Labor Statistics to provide the most recent and relevant information for job searchers.

EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.

Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).