This section highlights resources about career issues unique to graduate students, including practical materials that help with academic track and non-academic track career choice & job searching. The left box features general, recent titles. The remaining boxes group resources into sections about professional sources you can read to keep up with the field, the nature of the labor force, resources for adjuncts, diversity issues in the workplace, and career changers. Finally, there is a box about UCSD-specific groups and how to use the Library's online catalog to look for more.
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
Example: entrepreneurship. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
E-Learning and the Science of Instruction by 
Instructional Design for Dummies by 
How to Make Your PhD Work: A Guide for Creating a Career in Science and Engineering by 
Be a More Productive Scholar by
How are some scholars so productive, publishing hundreds of powerful works over their careers? The author interviewed dozens of productive scholars and reveals their productivity stories and methods by dispensing more than 100 pointers for enhancing professional development and boosting scholarly productivity. Graduate students to seasoned scholars can benefit from this career-guiding advice.
Teaching Better Day by Day by 
Making the most of the postdoc: strategically advancing your early career by 
Foreign Policy Careers for Phds by 
The Career Arts: Making the Most of College, Credentials, and Connections by
This book reveals why college education and job preparation are not either-or propositions and identifies the blend of education and networking needed to support real-world career aspirations. The author offers guidance for anyone who is making decisions about education and career preparation with a view to getting ahead in the workforce.
1,000+ Tips for Life Inside and Outside the Academy by
This book is written to help readers with humanities backgrounds improve their academic research, tertiary-level teaching, professional service, and career trajectory. The author covers how graduate students and new faculty members can better understand the basics of pedagogical practice, and how to serve effectively on the committees that ran their departments, universities, and professional organizations.
Doctoral Student Skills: using your comparative advantage to succeed in grad school and prepare for the job by
This book summarizes the key skills doctoral students need to succeed in their studies and prepare for academic and non-academic jobs. Revealing the often-hidden rules of graduate school success, it guides students through challenges like selecting a research topic, choosing an advisor, preparing for conferences, publishing their work, and entering the job market. The book is designed to be used as a course text or for self-study, and each chapter features reflective exercises that can be used individually or in small groups, along with recommended readings.
Good Work If You Can Get It: how to succeed in academia by
What does it really take to get a job in academia? The author combines personal experience with the latest higher education research to help you understand what graduate school and the academy are really like in a candid, pull-no-punches book that answers questions both big and small. Topics include what does it take to succeed in grad school, what kind of jobs are there after grad school, how to be productive, how ‘publish or perish’ works, pay issues, search committees, balancing work and life, and much more. It is intended as a guidebook that anyone considering graduate school, already in grad school, starting as a new professor, or advising graduate students’ needs.
Grad School Essentials by
What's the hardest part of grad school? It's not simply that the workload is heavy and the demands are high. It's that too many students lack efficient methods to let them do their best. Prof. Shore uses humorous, lively prose to teach you to master the five most crucial skills you need to succeed: how to read, write, speak, act, and research at a higher level. Each chapter in this no-nonsense guide outlines a unique approach to acquiring a skill and then demonstrates how to enhance it. Using these concrete, practical methods, will save you time, elevate the quality of your work, and help you to earn the degree you seek. If the JSTOR edition of this e-book is in use, try the second copy that’s available on a different platform.
Mastering Your PhD: survival and success in the doctoral years and beyond, 2nd ed. by
This guide helps PhD students through their graduate student years by providing practical advice on getting started, communicating with your supervisor, staying the course, and planning for the future. While mainly directed at PhD students in the sciences, the book's scope is broad enough to encompass the obstacles and hurdles that almost all PhD students face during their doctoral training. Contents include a variety of material, including additional chapters on how to communicate better with your supervisor, dealing with difficult people, how to find a mentor, and your next career step, once you have your coveted doctoral degree in hand.
A Survival Kit for Doctoral Students and Their Supervisors: Travelling the Landscape of Research by
This survival kit is a hands-on guide for both students and supervisors about the doctoral journey, helping make the process as enjoyable as it is productive. Drawing on research from peer learning groups, contributed narratives, and their own programs, the authors emphasize the value of the doctoral partnership and the ways in which shared knowledge can facilitate a rewarding journey for students and their advisors. It is part of the SAGE Research Methods collection, which is a rich database that helps with research methods and statistical questions.
Look up books in the UC Search:
For books to help you explore higher education, try searching using the following subject terms:
Below are subject phrases that uncover additional items that may help you find and get a job:
Smashing Glass Ceilings: Empowering Women in Education by
This book will help elevate and inspire women in the education sector to become confident, successful and fulfilled in their careers. In addition to providing advice about leadership progression, bestselling author Kate Jones shares guidance on alternative options to leadership for women in education. The book also contains advice for male colleagues so that they too can help empower women in education.
Gender Inequalities in Tech-Driven Research and Innovation by 
Thriving in academia: building a career at a teaching-focused institution by 
The organized academic: how to transform your academic life by 
Thriving in Part-Time Doctoral Study: integrating work, life and research by 
English for Academic CVs, Resumes, and Online Profiles by 
The Science and Technology Labor Force by 
Post-PhD Career Trajectories by 
The PhD Handbook for the Academic Job Search by 
57 Ways to Screw up in Grad School by 
Being Black in the Ivory: truth-telling about racism in higher education by 
Inclusion Revolution: The Essential Guide to Dismantling Racial Inequity in the Workplace by 
Science by Women by
This book provides a roadmap for those embarking on a career in STEM, whether in the research or industry realms. Focusing on paths taken by women, the contributors lend their stories, tips and tricks, and hardships they faced entering into fields historically dominated by men. The authors provide practical advice, highlighting soft skills that are not often taught as modules in the classroom.
The Latinx Guide to Graduate School by
This book offers readers advice on the graduate school process-from the application stage to the cultivating of effective networks in academia. It provides both institutional analysis and advice for prospective and current graduate students, with a specific focus on the humanities and social sciences. The authors – who draw on their work as students, professors, thesis advisors and mentors -- discuss common challenges, key questions, and helpful techniques for supporting Latinx students that will be helpful for both students and faculty mentors.
Conquering Academia: transparent experiences of diverse female doctoral students by
This book highlights the lived experiences of diverse women who are progressing through a doctoral degree program, covering the challenges as well as opportunities that they face. It addresses themes of intersectionality, lived experiences, challenges and opportunities. Part of the Contemporary Perspectives on Access, Equity, and Achievement series, this book describes how their cultural identities assist them with navigating the academic landscape, and provides guidance for current female doctoral students about strategic positioning as a student within the doctoral program and personal necessary transformation in academia. It also informs faculty and staff in academia about the experiences of diverse women and how to support their progression and overall retention.
The Public Professor: how to use your research to change the world by
The work of academics can matter and be influential on a public level, but the path to becoming a public intellectual, influential policy advisor, valued community resource or go-to person on an issue is not one that most scholars are trained for. This book offers scholars strategies to become more engaged with the public on a variety of fronts: online, in print, at council hearings, even with national legislation. Lee Badgett (@LeeBadgett), is a veteran policy analyst and public intellectual with 25+ years of experience connecting cutting edge research with policymakers and the public.
Contingent Faculty and the Remaking of Higher Education by Thriving in academia : building a career at a teaching-focused institution by 
Quick Hits for Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers by 
Inclusive Collegiality and Non-Tenure Track Faculty by 
The Psychologist's Guide to Professional Development by 
Corporate to Classroom: a Career-Switcher's Guide to Teaching by 
How to Write a Lot: a practical guide to productive academic writing by
In this 2nd edition of a popular guide published by the American Psychological Association, its author, Paul Silvia, offers advice from his own experience in order to help writers in many disciplines overcome barriers to writing and using their time productively. This book covers practical strategies to motivate students, professors, researchers, and other academics to become better and more prolific writers. Topics include how to write, submit, and revise academic work; writing formats such as journal articles and books; and effective time management that avoids sacrificing evenings, weekends, and vacations. New in this edition is a chapter on writing grant and fellowship proposals.
On Writing Well: the classic guide to writing nonfiction by 
The Craft of Research by 
