Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Profession and Practice of Technical Communication by
Call Number: Routledge e-book
Publication Date: 2021
This practical text offers a research-based account of the technical communication profession and its practice, outlining emergent touchpoints of this fast-changing field while highlighting its diversity. Through research on the history and the globalization of technical communication and up-to-date industry analysis, including first-hand narratives from industry practitioners, this book brings together common threads through the industry, suggests future trends, and points toward strategic routes for development. Profession and Practice of Technical Communication provides essential guidance for students, early professionals, and lateral entrants to the profession.
Thriving in the Gig Economy by
Call Number: Spring ebook
Publication Date: 2019
Take an in-depth look into the gig economy to see how tech professionals and entrepreneurs can earn a living as freelancers and contractors. Build your own business. The pros and cons of the lifestyle and what to expect from it are discussed.... You will understand how to make a living supplying tech skills on a "per gig" basis. Practical instructions, advice, and tips are provided on goal setting, lifestyle design, and selecting the types of work and contracts that further your goals and support the things you value as you transition from a 9-5 job.
Silicon Valley Start‐Ups and Corporate Innovation by
Call Number: Springer ebook
Publication Date: 2017
Bernhard Gold answers the question of how larger firms can learn from the successes of Silicon Valley start-ups and presents an in-depth analysis of the Silicon Valley ecosystem and presents new corporate innovation methods for the digital age, with the aim of providing a final resolution to the 'Innovator's Dilemma'.
Life 3. 0 by
Publication Date: 2017
What career advice should we give today's kids? How can we make future AI systems more robust, so that they do what we want without crashing, malfunctioning or getting hacked? What sort of future do you want? This book empowers you to join what may be the most important conversation of our time.
How to Read Like a Pro
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
Classic titles are:
Below are two technology analyst report providers. Their reports give background on trends, and help you identify potential employers and provide news useful when preparing for interviews.
Gartner Research Service
This well-known collection of market analyst reports, international news and real-world analysis focuses on a broad coverage of computing and technology sectors. Students will like the market research and IT staff will like its tools and benchmarking contents. Gartner analysts cover a broad range of business functions that impact the technology sector. NOTE: use your Business Systems credentials to login. Gartner also recruits and hires; see the careers section
of their webpage.
Cutter Consortium Membership
Cutter acts as a “global business-technology advisory firm dedicated to helping organizations leverage emerging technologies and the latest business management thinking to achieve competitive advantage and mission success” and UC San Diego has a subscription to its web contents, which includes expert research and analysis of industry trends in information technology. Cutter focuses on these practice areas:
- Agile product management and software engineering excellence
- Business and enterprise architecture
- Business technology and digital transformation strategies
- Data analytics and digital technologies
Its website contents include reports, Cutter IT Journal, the Cutter blog, training and events. Some of Cutter’s content is free, but to see the industry reports that come with the UCSD membership, you must register for an account. Instructions are here - http://blink.ucsd.edu/sponsor/ITS/services/cutter.html. Please use your ucsd.edu email address to register.
If you are interested in talking to a Cutter consultant directly, some restrictions apply; please contact Adele Barsh
or Jessica Hilt
about your research need. Also contact us if you are not finding what you want within the Cutter site.
Other Useful Resources
Nature: Careers & Jobs
The preeminent set of journals Nature has a section devoted to careers in medicine and science that are of interest to many readers.
This section of the well-known journal Science contain articles on a broad range of STEM careers and features career profiles, job search Q&A, working life articles, information about the job market and job listings.
Rich's Business Directories for California
Search for biotech and high tech firms located in CA.
Regional business news sources also follow high tech companies throughout North America. they are good for following the news in locales you'd like to work, finding potential employer and locating background to prepare for interviews. We have two major sources of these publications, listed below.
Regional Business News
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete
(national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Business Insights: Global
Searching in BI:G also covers San Diego Business Journal articles, as well as other regional North American business papers.
Book of Lists (San Diego Business Journal)
The SDBJ compiles its weekly lists in an annual collection of the largest companies and local organizations. Current issue is in Geisel Library Reference Collection (HF3163.S38 S28), older versions are available back to 1986. HTML or PDF versions of the current weekly lists are in Business Insights: Global
database. Online versions for other North American regional business news (Los Angeles
, for example) are also available in BI:G
and Regional Business News
.(example: Orange County Book of Lists
content is in RBN).