It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The text continues to delve into the inner world of a therapist's hopes and fears, exploring many of the challenges faced by practitioners. This fifth edition is thoroughly revised to feature new research and clinical experience, new stories, and expanded coverage of technology.
Reflections of a Neuropsychologist: Brushes with Brains follows the life of an influential neuropsychologist's fascinating and varied career. Unique in its autobiographical approach, it features coverage of research into human evolution, archaeology and neurology.
This book provides an optimistic account of the value and role of schooling. Schooling is a common but not universal approach to education and has need of its own distinctive justification, in contrast to other approaches such as home-based or work-based education. This reflective book will appeal to students and scholars of philosophy of education and to all professionals concerned with schools.
Aimed at recently qualified psychiatrists or those looking to qualify soon, "How to Succeed in Psychiatry" is not a source of clinical information but a survival guide to help you through the first years practising psychiatry. This book covers the topics you won't find in standard textbooks. It deals with daily problems and practical solutions for young psychiatrists.
This book focuses on rethinking creativity for 21st century education. It examines the way that creativity spans disciplines, through a set of common thinking skills that the most accomplished thinkers in any field use. These seven transdisciplinary thinking skills are rooted in historical exemplars of creativity across disciplines from art to science to engineering that can be applied in the classroom.
For students seeking to find an exciting career in psychology, this book provides comprehensive coverage that spans a range of psychology careers. The chapters describe 30 different graduate-level careers (i.e., careers for those holding a PhD, EdD, or PsyD) in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia clinical and counseling psychology specialized settings such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools.
This visionary volume spotlights innovative mental health careers in today's technology-driven climate while inspiring readers to create their own opportunities.
How to Read Like a Pro
Every field and industry has at least one publication that people in the field read to keep up with what's going on. These magazines are in the Library's collections and you can access them and read like any pro in your field! For those exploring careers, they are great sources for inspiration. For job seekers, they are sources that can help you look knowledgable on trends, which can give you an edge for your job interviews and put you at ease for those moments of small talk with a potential employer.
To find more industry news for your own special interest, type your keywords and do a search. In the results, look at the left nav bar for Source Type and click "trade journals" and/or "magazines" to follow the latest news. You may set up an alert in your email for weekly updates or follow the feed in a news reader.
Example: teaching. Check off "Trade Publications" on the left to focus on news & developments in the field.
Nearly one in four Americans is an enrolled student at any given time. As a result of this great demand for talented teachers, education is the United States' second largest industry, and the different career tracks within education are as varied as the national population of its students. This publication includes:The Scoop: Everything you need to know about what your industry does, its history, who works in it and where it's going.Getting Hired: Practical information on researching potential employers, networking, interviewing and getting in the door.On the Job: A look at life on the job and the industry culture.Talk Like a Pro: A glossary of industry jargon and key terms.Resources: Associations, organizations, websites and other resources to help you plan and advance your career.
This guide gives thorough background information to explore a range of careers in education.
Search with Roger
Look up books in the UC San Diego catalogue:
Starting a Successful Practice in Clinical Psychology and Counseling by Owen J. BargreenClinical psychology is a quickly growing profession, yet it is a challenging one: the preparation is arduous, the training is highly selective, and the results - an established and financially successful practice - are not easy to achieve. This book explains how to prepare for and surmount all of the hurdles presented to those who hope to eventually develop a lucrative and rewarding practice in clinical psychology.