It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search through thousands of archive and manuscript collections worldwide. View descriptions of both individual collections and repositories, and in many cases detailed finding aids -- down to the level of individual folders and files.
Cataloging program by Library of Congress with details for manuscript collections around the US. Under Manuscript Searching choose "Searching on OCLC WorldCat". Also includes records of new holdings from 1986- , directories of repositories nationwide
The UC San Diego Library’s Special Collections has several interesting collections of personal papers and archives related to California and western U.S. History, as well as outstanding collections of published materials on these topics.
Lists of some 1,000 cultural and historical institutions in California, including libraries, museums, and educational institutions. Links to websites where available, but no descriptions. Organized by county.
Database of archives and special collections held by local institutions and community groups, with an emphasis on the region?s diverse and unique cultural heritage. Search or browse; retrieve descriptions the collections and links to their websites.
Listing of over 5000 websites worldwide describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources. Browse by region, country or (for U.S. and Canada) state or province
This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
CRL supports a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries, making available scholarly research resources to users everywhere. Has more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries. UCSD is a member
The U.S. agency responsible for maintaining archival collections of all Federal departments and agencies, both in Washington, D.C. and regional centers around the country. It also maintains the presidential libraries.
Formerly known as the San Diego Historical Society, the Center was founded in 1928 and maintains a research library and archive in Balboa Park, publishes the Journal of San Diego History, and operates the Museum of San Diego History
Library and archive on radicalism and social change. Goal is to preserve the history of labor, women, communities of color, peace, civil liberties, civil rights, and other progressive movements in the greater Los Angeles area
Collects manuscripts & archival materials that document the history of Scripps Institution. Also 19th- and 20th-century materials documenting oceanographic expeditions, science policy, marine resources, policy & law