This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
Published narratives (253) by Americans and foreign visitors with observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920," as well as a 32-voolume set of sources entitled "Early Western Travels, 1748-1846"
Search or browse full text sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the early 20th century: slave narratives, other first person narratives, literature, life during the Civil War and African American churches.
Browse or search Early American Imprints (Digital Evans), a major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. On completion will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century
Scanned texts of books, pamphlets, tracts, and periodicals covering the social history, family life, and popular culture of U.S. women from 1800-1920. Also contains introductory essays, a chronology, and a bibliography.
Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
U.S. and international documents on the most significant events of the year. Includes presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, governmental reports, scientific findings,cultural discussions, etc. 100 new documents per year
50 years of historical information about UCSD, digitized largely from the UCSD Archives in the Mandeville Special Collections Library. Includes full text of student newspapers, campus news releases, images and oral histories.
1865-present. Search or browse full text of The Nation, a weekly magazine of news, politics, culture and comment published continuously in the U.S. since the end of the Civil War. Latest issue not displayed
A full text collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950. Also includes bibliographies on the field. A project of the Cornell University Library.
A digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
More than 100 pamphlets and books (1772-1889) from the Library of Congress on the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the colonies and the US: an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, etc.
Transcripts of over 420 trials in the U.S. & U.K. involving domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, and the custody of children, as well as trials for murder, rape, and sexual deviancy.
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization
Colonial America consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is an invaluable one for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.
Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries
Towards Revolution
The American Revolution
Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
Growth, Trade and Development
These primary source documents collected here help understand existence and consequences on the various frontiers that arose from the movements of Europeans to Africa, Australasia and North America. Document types include correspondence, diaries, government papers, business records, land transactions, legal documents, speeches, books and pamphlets. The earliest documents are from the seventeenth century and the latest the mid-point of the twentieth century.
The earliest documents in this collection are from the seventeenth century but the majority of the material originates from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. The material covering North America covers the varied frontier regions from fur trappers in Canada to cowboys in Texas and government in Baja California. It is divided into the frontier regions of the American East, the American Midwest, the American Southwest, California & Mexico and Canada. It covers the exploration of these regions followed by trade with native peoples, colonial rivalries, expansion of government and new nations and the final settlement and 'closing' of the frontier. These materials include a large number of manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives, including a collection of municipal and government documents from Baja California that are too fragile to be used in their original format in the library (Baja California government documents. MSS 778.)
Africa is mainly represented by its frontiers of the south with the British colonial expansion into modern day South Africa. There are also excellent clusters of material relating to the exploration of West Africa and the colonial administration of Lagos.
The beginnings of European Australia and New Zealand are covered by British government documents, starting with Arthur Phillip and the penal colony at Sydney. The frontiers of other parts of Australia are also covered by documents from the UK National Archives and some material from Australian archives.
Finally, there is some material relating to Central America, specifically British Honduras (Belize), in the form of the George Arthur Papers. George Arthur’s career here relates to the other regions featured here as he spent time on the Canadian and Australian frontiers.
