Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Books for Phase Diagrams
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database
Database of 40,300 binary and ternary alloy phase diagrams, from over 9,000 inorganic systems. With associated crystal and reaction data.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online
Database of over 28,500 relevant, critically-evaluated phase diagrams with commentaries for inorganic compounds (ceramics and glasses). You can view the diagrams and associated commentaries, and download a Phase Equilibria Diagram viewer to digitize and manipulate the diagrams. If you begin on the "Welcome" page, make sure you download the PED viewer and click "Start Seaching."
ASM Handbook, Volume 3 - Alloy Phase Diagrams
Complete explanation of phase diagrams and their significance and covers solid solutions; thermodynamics; isomorphous, eutectic, peritectic, and monotectic alloy systems; solid-state transformations; and intermediate phases. The volume includes 1083 binary systems, 1095 binary diagrams, 115 ternary systems, and 406 ternary diagrams. (Vol. 3 from the 30-volume ASM Handbook series on metallic and non-metallic engineering materials.)
One of the core chemical and materials science databases, indexing more than 50 million journal articles, patents and other sources. Use the default topic search: phase diagram of your alloy
. One-time registration required
Phase Diagrams of the Elements (1991)
Phase diagrams for most of the elements, with associated literature references.
Landolt-Bornstein (via Portico)
Includes 10-volume series: Phase Equilibria, Crystallographic and Thermodynamic Data of Binary Alloys. You can browse the volumes in Portico, then the table of contents for your alloy.
The volumes are sorted by the book subtitle, which is the range of alloys covered. The first volume (Ac-Au – Au-Zr) is in the A's. The other volumes: B-Ba – C-Zr, Ca-Cd – Co-Zr, Cr-Cs – Cu-Zr, Dy-Er – Fr-Mo, Ga-Gd – Hf-Zr, Li-Mg – Nd-Zr, Ni-Np – Pt-Zr, and Pu-Re – Zn-Zr. They're sorted in the contents by the first element so Li-Mg – Nd-Zr will be in the L's under "Li." There's also one volume for ternary alloys - Phase Diagrams and Physical Properties of Nonequilibrium Alloys · Nonequilibrium Phase Diagrams of Ternary Amorphous Alloys (filed under the N's).
Collections of phase diagrams, in the library's reference collection:
- Atlas of Electrochemical Equilibria in Aqueous Solutions
REF QD553 .P6613 1974
- Binary Alloy Phase Diagrams
REF TN690 .B528 1990
- Moffatt's Handbook of Binary Phase Diagrams
REF TN690.4 .M64
- Pearson's Handbook : Crystallographic Data for Intermetallic Phases
REF TN690.4 .V55 1997
- Phase Diagrams of Ternary Iron Alloys
REF TN693.I7 R34 1987
- Phase Diagrams : A Literature Source Book
REF QD503 .W575
- Phase Diagrams for Ceramists
REF QD501 .L592
- Phase Diagrams of Copper-Oxygen-Metal Systems
REF TN693.C9 C483 1989
- Ternary Alloys : A Comprehensive Compendium of Evaluated Constitutional Data and Phase Diagrams
REF TN693.S5 T47 1988
(Volumes 1-2 only, through Ag-Zn-Zr)