Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There may be situations where the data you are looking for is in a print handbook. Here are the larger property data collections in the library.
Critical Stability Constants
Compilation of metal complex equilibrium (formation) constants and the corresponding enthalpy and entropy values represent the authors' selection of the most reliable values among those available in the literature. [Published 1974-1989]
NIST Critically Selected Stability Constants of Metal Complexes: Version 8.0, is based on this set and includes additional ligands. It can be downloaded, but is not compatible with 64 bit systems or anything more recent than Windows XP without an emulator.
DECHEMA Chemistry Data Series Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry
(INDEXES QD151 .G52)
Print indexes of chemical and physical property data (with literature references) for metallic elements and their alloys and compounds. While most of Gmelin is now available online in Reaxys
, there are gaps in the online coverage, plus many of the older references in Reaxys simply refer back to the handbooks (e.g. Gmelin Handbook: K: MVol.2, 3.2.4, page 391 - 406, or Gmelin Handbook: Mn: MVol.D5, 27.1.1, page 232 - 234).
The volumes are organized by element, with the indexes arranged in alphabetical order by the elements. Older volumes are in German and English. You can also use the Formula Indexes at the end of the run to find your compound.
International Thermodynamic Tables of the Fluid State
Part of the IUPAC Chemical Data Series. Thermodynamic data collections for Argon, Ethylene, Carbon Dioxide, Helium, Methane, Nitrogen, Propylene, Chlorine, and Oxygen.
IUPAC Chemical Data Series
Property data collection series. Link will give you titles, call numbers, and availability. Most are in Reference, with a few in the regular collection. Titles include:
International thermodynamic tables of the fluid state
Equilibrium constants of liquid-liquid distribution reactions
Ionisation constants of organic acids in aqueous solution
Ionisation constants of inorganic acids and bases in aqueous solution
Handbook of thermodynamic and transport properties of alkali metals
Enthalpies of vaporization of organic compounds : a critical review and data compilation
Measurement of the transport properties of fluids
Landolt-Börnstein - 6th Edition
Physical property data series that precedes the Landolt-Börnstein New Series that's online via Portico
. There are 28 print volumes, in German (REF QC61 .L33). [Published 1950-1980]
The Comprehensive Index (REF QC61 .Z312) covers all of the volumes in the 6th edition as well as the New Series through 1995.
Physical Sciences Data Series
Multi-volume series of physical property data with associated journal article references. Check link for titles and call numbers. Click "More" for selected titles. [Published 1978-1998]
Thermophysical Properties of Matter
Critical property compilation, with references. Click More to see the volumes
TRC Thermodynamic Tables. Hydrocarbons
Critically evaluated thermodynamic data for hydrocarbons. Reference, QD458 .T83 [Published 1985-1997]
TRC Thermodynamic Tables. Non-Hydrocarbons
Critically evaluated thermodynamic data from organic and some inorganic compounds with O, H, S, Se, Te, Po, N, P, C, Si, B, inert gases, and halogens. REF QD458 .T831 [Published 1985-1997]
You can also try ThermoDex, a property data finding aid from David Flaxbart at University of Texas at Austin Libraries. Select from the properties list to view a list of potential handbooks to check.
However, once you find a title you still need to search for it in our library catalog:
- To confirm we have the book
- To confirm the location and call number for our copy
- To see if we possibly have the book online.