Skip to main content

Latin American Studies: News Sources on Latin America

An introductory guide to doing research in Latin American studies in the UCSD Library

Zeta

Tijuana's Independent Newspaper  Zeta known for its critical political and cultural commentary and its cultural supplements is microfilmed at UCSD.

The microfilm for 1984-2011 is available on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing (in the microfilm drawer -- call # XF 1865)

Recent print editions are available in the Current Newspapers area also on Geisel's 2nd Floor West Wing

For other editions, ask at the Research Assistance Desk to see issues in the Bindery.  These are for in-library use only.

Important Open Access Online News Sites

LANIC Newspapers and News 

lists many different news sites, most offering some free content.

Latin American Newspapers (Zona Latina) 

list by country of newspaper web sites, some with free content

UN News 

HISTORICAL NEWS RESOURCES

World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers 

full text of more than 200 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th early 20th century from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Covers period 1805 through 1922 only.

Proquest Historical Newspapers 

important source of information about U.S. Latin American relations (from a North American perspective). Includes full text and indexing of New York Times (1851-2006), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987),Washington Post (1887-1993) and others

The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010) Licensed by UCSD 

The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011) Licensed by UCSD 

California Digital Newspaper Project 

Coordinates preservation of California newspapers printed since 1846. Catalog shows publishing history and library locations for nearly 13,000 papers. Part of the state-by-state U.S. Newspaper Project. Based at UC Riverside.

 Foreign Broadcast Information Service Electronic Index Licensed by UCSD 

1975-1996. Index to the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government on political, economic, scientific and cultural issues and events worldwide. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Licensed by UCSD 

1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.

Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries by Charno, Steven M. 

Call Number: Reference Geisel 2 W and Geisel 1 E Z 6947.L36

Publication Date: Austin : Published for the Conference on Latin American History by the University of Texas Press, [1969, ©1968]

The Center for Research Libraries provides online access to this resource to members.

[Argentina] Archivo Historico RTA (Radio y Televisión Argentina) 

El RTA ordena, preserva, digitaliza y pone en estado público el material audiovisual y sonoro que fuera tanto grabado como emitido por Canal 7 y Radio Nacional en Argentina. Prisma es su sitio web, que hace posible la democratización del acceso al acervo audiovisual y sonoro del Archivo Histórico de RTA. También, Prisma provea información contextual muy util sobre su contenido.
The Historic Archive of RTA (Radio and Television Argentina) organizes, preserves, and digitizes audiovisual and sound material recorded and distributed on Argentina’s Channel 7 and National Radio. Prisma is its website, which facilitates democratic, public access to tue audiovisiual and sound collections of the Historic Archive of RTA. Prisma provides rich contextual information about its content as well.

[Mexico] Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th century 

Call Number: Microforms, Geisel Floor 2 West XF 2769

Microfilm collection of nineteenth-century Mexican newspapers. See also guide: Microform Guides, Geisel Floor 2 W XF 2769

[Mexico] Revolutionary Mexico in newspapers, 1900-1929 : guide to the microfilm set by Adán Benavides and Agnes L. McAlester 

Call Number: Geisel Floor6 F1234 .R492 2002

Publication Date: [Austin, Tex.] : Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, General Libraries, University of Texas at Austin, 2002

Use guide with: Microforms, Geisel Floor2 West XF 2769 (Includes Independent Mexico in Newspapers and Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers)

Best Bets

Factiva Licensed by UCSD 

Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages. You can narrow by country, language and other filters.

*To search Factiva effectively, IT IS ESSENTIAL TO (IE MAKE MAKE SURE THAT) YOU USE BOOLEAN SEARCH TERMS!!!

Economist.com Licensed by UCSD 

Publisher portal to articles in Economist magazine (1997- ) plus related content. Our URL provides access to the restricted "premium content" inside. (Longer online runs of Economist articles are available via other databases; see Help Links.)

 The Financial Times 

Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.

FULL TEXT NEWS DATABASES

Access World News Licensed by UCSD 

Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.

AP Images Licensed by UCSD 

With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners.

 Business News Americas 

Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America.  Consequently, also useful for following news on the ways that various "development" projects affect the environment and peoples living in the affected area.  CLICK HERE for important access information.

The Economist (1997-Present) Licensed by UCSD 

Economist Intelligence Unit Portal Licensed by UCSD 

Searchable online archive (1996- ) and feed of Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong on current political, economic, and business affairs worldwide.

EMIS Intelligence Licensed by UCSD 

Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance and news in Latin America and other regions. From the main page, select country or countries then news sources. Selected full text of many important newspapers.

 Ethnic NewsWatch Licensed by UCSD 

1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Factiva Licensed by UCSD 

Provides access to over 1000 global and local newspapers, 3000 journals and magazines, in 22 languages. Includes selected full text of some major Latin American newspapers. You can limit your search to newspapers by world region and country.

The Financial Times (1999-) 

Access to the Financial Times from 1999 on is provided through Business Insights Global. In order to search in the Financial Times only, put in Financial Times in a separate search field (with your keyword search terms in one search field, and Financial Times as Publication Title in another.

 Keesing's World News Archive Licensed by UCSD 

1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time

Latin America Data Base Licensed by UCSD 

Searchable database of weekly newsletters covering Latin American political and economic affairs. 1986-present

LatinNews Licensed by UCSD 

Online archive and feed of the Latin American Newsletters (London) family of political economic news and analysis publications - also known as Latin American Intelligence Service. Earliest coverage reaches back to 1967.

more...  

Military & Government Collection Licensed by UCSD 

Offers current news on all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

New York Times (1999-present) Licensed by UCSD 

Nexis Uni Licensed by UCSD 

thousands of full-text sources, including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, trade journals, and some legal information. Coverage dates vary. Includes partial full text from some Latin American news sources and magazines

 World News Connection Licensed by UCSD 

Online news service obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, newswires, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage 1994-2013. Successor to FBIS.

World Newsreels Online 1929-1966 Licensed by UCSD 

A collection of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection is semantically indexed, allowing users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places 546 English, French or Japanese with English transcripts.