LibGuides: Career Choice & Change: Job Hunting, Internship Seeking & Discovering Your Career Path: Study Abroad

Study Abroad UC San Diego

Study Abroad UC San Diego provides services for students and international faculty.

Planning for Study Abroad

The following links lead provide more detailed information for UC San Diego students and faculty.

Getting Started

Find a Program

Financial Aid & Scholarships

How to Apply

While You're Abroad

Search the Library's Collection

UCSD Library Logo Look up books in the UC Search:

For more books to help you along, try searching using the following subject terms:

UC San Diego Career Center

UC San Diego Career Center Home

Triton Career Guide
The latest edition covers career choices, finding jobs and internships, and resume and interviewing tips.
Triton Career Resources Directory
Quick links to the most sought-after Career Center resources, such as

Frequently-used links:

Events & Virtual Workshops
Handshake
The Career Centers one-stop shop for career fairs, interviews, internships, and more
Individual Career Advising
Includes drop-in advising and how to make an appointment
Online Assessment Tools

UC San Diego Programs Abroad Office Calendar

The following calendar includes events, info sessions, application deadlines and more from the PAO. These events are open to UC San Diego students.

Before You Go

The following links may be useful to you both before and after you depart for your study abroad program. The resources offer information on individual countries from general travel information to specific cultural norms which may assist you in navigating everyday life in your host country.

Country Information
This website is run by the U.S. Passport Services. At this link, you can learn about general travel information for each country, including the stability of the country, safety and security, and local laws and special circumstances.
Culture Crossing Guide
This website provides detailed information on cultural norms for individual countries, from basics like personal space and cultural taboos to more specific information such as behavior in the workspace and at school.
Diversity & Access
A UC Irvine Study Abroad Center site that pulls together a wide range of information and links that help students understand how factors of their identity may be impacted during an experience abroad
International Newspapers
This page provides links to online news of various countries.
Jet Lag
An issue you may encounter while traveling is jet lag. This page from the Center for Disease Control's website may assist you in mitigating and dealing with the effects of jet lag.
Study Abroad Student Handbook
This guide by the Center for Global Education provides information for study abroad including choosing a program, health and safety, and coming home.

Country Studies & Global News: Top Picks from the Library's Collection

EIU.com
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to our subscribed Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) global country publications. Strong for current political and economic news and analysis, with data, forecasts, and business and investment profiles.
We also license Economist magazine online.

Europa World Plus Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of countries and global regions. Contact info for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people. Access limited to 1 user at a time. Try again later if refused.
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
- This link opens in a new window
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Financial Times (FT.com) FT is a leading international English-language news source based in London. It features world business, politics and economic news, as well as dedicated coverage of company news, climate change, technology, the arts, culture and book reviews. Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account that includes FT.com app or desktop access, set up “myFT” customized news feeds and alerts, access special reports and the ePaper, which is the digital reproduction of today’s print edition (2005-present, U.S. edition). Our subscription is sponsored by Rady School of Management and UC San Diego Library.
- This link opens in a new window
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Research Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.
- This link opens in a new window

Political Handbook of the World
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed country political profiles.
Global Policy & Strategy Resources
Want even more? This link leads to a complete list of the Library's subscription resources for country studies, statistics, global news and academic research sources. You may also wish to check out our Area Studies Guides for specific regional resources.

Resources for Your Return

Just as going abroad can be challenging, the return home may also come with some difficulties. The following resources provide information and assistance with issues such as reverse culture shock.

Coming Home
This article discusses and provides advice for readjusting to life after returning from abroad, specifically issues of relationships, settling down, talking about your experience abroad, and putting your experience abroad to use.
Reverse Culture Shock
This article provides an overview of reverse culture shock, including the definition and stages of reverse culture shock.
Top Ten Reentry Challenges
This PDF provides some common difficulties with returning from abroad and some tips with how to handle those issues.
Ten Quick Tips for Dealing with Your Return
This PDF provides more tips on how to deal with issues listed in the previous link Top Ten Immediate Reentry Challenges.
UC San Diego Student Health Services
It is important to go to the doctor if you feel unwell after returning. This page provides the phone numbers of the primary care groups at UC San Diego's SHS; call the number for your group to schedule an appointment or click on the Appointments tab.
more...less...
For more information about getting sick after coming home from abroad, see the U.S. Center for Disease Control's website here.

Featured Books

Intercultural Learning Through Study Abroad by Susan B. Goldstein
Call Number: Cambridge e-book
ISBN: 9781009127011
Publication Date: 2022
Although university students choose to study in locations other than their home country for a variety of reasons, including professional development and disciplinary training, nearly all education abroad programs have intercultural learning as a central goal. This book covers best practices for facilitating intercultural learning through study abroad and strategies for addressing challenges of research in this area.
The Essential Guide to Studying Abroad by Thomas R. Klassen; Christine Menges
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781000336764
Publication Date: 2019
This how-to guide is about flourishing when studying abroad, and how to use an international education to begin a fulfilling career after graduation. Written in an engaging and accessible style, using many examples, case studies, and links to resources, the book strives to reduce the stress of studying abroad.
Community Engagement Abroad: perspectives and practices on service, engagement, and learning overseas by Pat Crawford & Brett Berquist, eds.
Call Number: Project Muse e-book
ISBN: 1611863481
Publication Date: 2020
This volume develops a comprehensive framework for analyzing study-abroad programs with a community-engagement focus. More than a how-to guide, it also offers seven theoretically framed case studies showing how these experiences can change students, faculty, and communities alike. The authors take the reader on a fascinating journey through how they changed as a result of designing and delivering programs in full collaboration with community partners. They advocate for developing truly reciprocal, mutually beneficial partnerships beyond the academy.
Education Abroad: bridging scholarship and practice by Anthony C. Ogden (Editor); Bernhard Streitwieser (Editor); Christof Van Mol (Editor)
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9780429776045
Publication Date: 2020
This volume provides a succinct and accessible analysis of the existing research and scholarship around the world on a range of important areas related to contemporary education abroad, providing practitioners with important implications for programming and practice. Extending beyond student learning outcomes to look at essential topics such as institutional outcomes, program models, and host community outcomes, this volume covers major trends in contemporary research as well as an assessment of the methodological and design challenges that are common to education abroad research.
International students 1860-2010: policy and practice round the world by Perraton, H. D.
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9783030499464
Publication Date: 2020
This book describes how the number of international students has grown in 150 years, from 60,000 to nearly 4 million. It examines the policies adopted towards them by institutions and governments round the world, exploring who travelled, why, and who paid for them. Along with university students, others travelled abroad to study: trainee nurses, military officers, the most deprived and the most privileged schoolchildren. All their stories are a vital part of the world's history of education and of its broader social and political histor
Preparing to Study Abroad by Steven T. Duke; Steven S. Reinemund (Foreword by); Ken Bouyer (Foreword by)
Call Number: ebrary e-book
ISBN: 9781579229948
Publication Date: 2014
Study abroad is a potentially valuable experience in today's global economy. With proper preparation it can be transformational....This book aims to help you with your own personal journey, and to make your study abroad experience as meaningful, rewarding, and insightful as possible.
Heritage Speakers of Spanish and Study Abroad by Rebecca Pozzi (Editor); Tracy Quan (Editor); Chelsea Escalante (Editor)
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781000369830
Publication Date: 2021
This volume provides emerging research on heritage speakers of Spanish in immersion contexts in theoretical, empirical, and programmatic terms. It reports out about research about linguistic, sociolinguistic, and pragmatic development during and after a sojourn abroad, by discussing the complexities of identity formation and negotiation during immersive stays, and by highlighting programmatic innovations that could be leveraged to better serve diverse learners in study abroad contexts.
Transforming study abroad: a handbook by Neriko Musha Doerr
Call Number: Berghan e-book
ISBN: 9781789201161
Publication Date: 2019
this book introduces theoretical understandings of key study abroad terms including “the global/national,” “culture,” “native speaker,” “immersion,” and “host society.” Building theories on these notions with perspectives from cultural anthropology, political science, educational studies, linguistics, and narrative studies, it suggests ways to incorporate them in study abroad practices.