It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This collection provides searchable information more than 40,000 major United States government, business, news media, law firm, and nonprofit organizations, including contact information for leadership and key staff details. Formerly called Leadership Directories.
Formerly the Biomedical Industry Council (BIC) and the San Diego Biocommerce Association (BIOCOM). The association sponsors sponsors an annual statewide conference, CalBioSummit, which serves as a legislative and business issues forum for the California biocommerce industry. BIOCOM also provides summaries of relevant legislative and public policy activities in C
"The Greater San Diego Business Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to building strength and prosperity in the lesbian and gay community ... and act[s] as a resource for those wanting to start a new business."
These comprehensive listings of multinational companies are great for company research and for identifying possible primary sources for competitive intelligence, and prospects for internships or jobs. Originally named Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States, they may be searched by country, region, state, zip/postal code, industry, etc.
Frequently Used Resources
this section is still a work in progress. check back soon for updates.
The San Diego Technology Archive (SDTA) is a digital collection that documents the history, formation, and evolution of the companies that formed the San Diego region's high-tech cluster, from its beginning in 1965. Materials include interviews with key executives and resarchers, company profiles, corporate family trees, timelines, and links to additional library resources. The collection highlights three or San Diego’s prominent business sectors: life sciences, software/information technology and telecommunications.
Regional Business News
Sometimes, the best coverage is from local and regional business news journalism. Below are the best resources we have for uncovering it.
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
The SDBJ compiles its weekly lists in an annual collection of the largest companies and local organizations. Current issue is in Geisel Library Reference Collection (HF3163.S38 S28), older versions are available back to 1986. HTML or PDF versions of the current weekly lists are in Business Insights: Global database. Online versions for other North American regional business news (Los Angeles, for example) are also available in BI:G and Regional Business News.(example: Orange County Book of Lists content is in RBN).