This page is devoted to skills development and learning more about on-the-job competencies such as leadership, communication, addressing diversity and inclusion, being a mentor/mentee, navigating organizational culture, business etiquette and more.
Robot-proof: higher education in the age of artificial intelligence by 
Own Your Career: Break the Corporate Blueprint and Build Your Own Ladder by 
Lead through Anything: harness purpose, vitality, and agility to thrive in the face of unrelenting change by 
Lead Smart: How to Build and Lead Highly Productive Teams by 
Mastering Collaboration: make working together less painful and more productive by 
Running Virtual Meetings by 
The Young Professional: a Real World Survival Guide for the New College Graduate by 
The Young Professional's Survival Guide: from Cab Fares to Moral Snares by 
Look for the most recent books in the UC Search:
Look for the most recent books in the UC Search:
A quick note here: Diversity in the Workplace is a great starting-point link to use, because that subject heading tends to be a 'catch all" used to tag a wide range of materials. Some of the more specific library terminology used to find resources for/about people who are part of underserved groups still have problematic subject headings. Others also lack adequate coverage by the mainstream publishing industry. Below is a selected list of materials that address the workplace needs and experiences of some groups. It's not exhaustive in scope, but easily clickable and will give you ideas on what's in our collections. If you're interested in finding materials not listed here, try your keyword ideas in the UC Library Search. If you need help, or have ideas for adding more topics to this list (and materials for our collections), let Adele know.
UC San Diego Library's Anti-Racism guide highlights resources and processes that are helpful.
UC San Diego Community Resource Centers guide contains both archived historical material and live links to the current centers' sites.
Being Black in the Ivory: truth-telling about racism in higher education by 
Disability, Work and Inclusion Mainstreaming in All Policies and Practices by
One in seven working-age adults identifies as having a disability in OECD countries, a share that is also substantial and growing among young people (8% in 2019). Many of them are excluded from meaningful work and have low levels of income and social engagement. This report documents the current labor market situation of people with disability, and make the case for better labor market inclusion.
Driving Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion by
A key feature of this book is a primer, which is a quick reference guide to key terms, concepts, and definitions. It helps to define justice, equity, diversity, inclusion, and other key terms, such as unconscious bias, stereotypes, and microaggressions. It also features a toolkit, which includes checklists to help managers lead organizations to realize their own North Star vision. The other contents help managers to assess organizational systems that justice, equity, diversity, and inclusion impact, and take a deeper dive into realigning their organizations. It provides tools to do this, as well as interviews with DEI practitioners that cover useful practices and case studies. The framework it presents builds an inclusive organization, and a model to engage and support senior and middle management who are beginning the process of systemic change.
Inclusion Revolution: The Essential Guide to Dismantling Racial Inequity in the Workplace by 
The Latinx Guide to Graduate School by
This book offers readers advice on the graduate school process-from the application stage to the cultivating of effective networks in academia. It provides both institutional analysis and advice for prospective and current graduate students, with a specific focus on the humanities and social sciences. The authors – who draw on their work as students, professors, thesis advisors and mentors -- discuss common challenges, key questions, and helpful techniques for supporting Latinx students that will be helpful for both students and faculty mentors.
The Other: How to Own Your Power at Work As a Woman of Color by
A 2023 Int'l Latino Book Award Honorable Mention, this book focuses on how women of color, children of immigrants, and other minoritized groups are predisposed to workplace imposter syndrome--and charts a path forward for self-advocacy and advancement. The author, a MSNBC reporter and DACA recipient, recounts her career and provides practical insights to encourage readers to think about career advancement without losing their sense of identity, and to see their differences as an advantage.
Queer Career: sexuality and work in modern America by
Arguing that queer workers were more visible than hidden and, against the backdrop of state aggression, vulnerable to employer exploitation, the author positions employment and fear of job loss as central to gay life in postwar America. Queer Career shows how LGBT history helps us understand the recent history of capitalism and labor and rewrites our understanding of the queer past.
Science by Women by
This book provides a roadmap for those embarking on a career in STEM, whether in the research or industry realms. Focusing on paths taken by women, the contributors lend their stories, tips and tricks, and hardships they faced entering into fields historically dominated by men. The authors provide practical advice, highlighting soft skills that are not often taught as modules in the classroom.
Succeeding and Adult Dyslexia: personal perspectives, practical ideas, and theoretical directions by
There is a need to demonstrate the potential that dyslexic adults have to achieve success despite the difficulties often associated with dyslexia. This book offers a comprehensive discussion of the relationship between dyslexia and success based on current research from theory and practice, including the challenges of dyslexia in work-related contexts and a range of potential solutions.
Conquering Academia: transparent experiences of diverse female doctoral students by
This book highlights the lived experiences of diverse women who are progressing through a doctoral degree program, covering the challenges as well as opportunities that they face. It addresses themes of intersectionality, lived experiences, challenges and opportunities. Part of the Contemporary Perspectives on Access, Equity, and Achievement series, this book describes how their cultural identities assist them with navigating the academic landscape, and provides guidance for current female doctoral students about strategic positioning as a student within the doctoral program and personal necessary transformation in academia. It also informs faculty and staff in academia about the experiences of diverse women and how to support their progression and overall retention.
Divergent Mind: thriving in a world that wasn't designed for you by
This book contains a paradigm-shifting study of neurodivergent women - those with ADHD, autism, synesthesia, high sensitivity, and sensory processing disorder. When it comes to women, sensory processing differences are often overlooked, masked, or mistaken for something else entirely. The author offers a path forward, describing practical changes in how we communicate, how we design our surroundings, and how we can better support divergent minds. When we allow our wide variety of brain makeups to flourish, we create a better tomorrow for us all.
Expanding the Circle by 
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by
Helping to create inclusive work environments for non-binary people, this book builds knowledge of non-binary identities and provides practical solutions to many of the basic workplace problems this group face. Working with and including non-binary people in the workplace is beneficial for both employer and employee, as it attracts and retains younger and non-binary workers by helping promote an inclusive brand, as well as satisfying equality obligations. Based on novel research of non-binary inclusion within businesses, it provides a basic overview of non-binary people, a business case for inclusion, a brief description of how non-binary people fit into current equality laws and likely future developments in the area. A solid introduction for companies wishing to embrace all genders in the workplace.
The Public Professor: how to use your research to change the world by
The work of academics can matter and be influential on a public level, but the path to becoming a public intellectual, influential policy advisor, valued community resource or go-to person on an issue is not one that most scholars are trained for. This book offers scholars strategies to become more engaged with the public on a variety of fronts: online, in print, at council hearings, even with national legislation. Lee Badgett (@LeeBadgett), is a veteran policy analyst and public intellectual with 25+ years of experience connecting cutting edge research with policymakers and the public.
Transgender in the Workplace: the complete guide to the new authenticity for employers and gender-diverse professionals by
Offering a fresh and practical perspective for employers and gender-diverse professionals, this book presents useful tools, information, and resources to help organizations and individuals to understand and leverage the power of gender authenticity as a pathway to business success. The unemployment rate for gender-diverse individuals is disproportionately high. The author, a leading diversity consultant, introduces five fundamentals for creating gender-authentic workplaces.
Look for the most recent books in the UC Search:
The Inclusive Organization: real solutions, impactful change, and meaningful diversity by 
Negotiation essentials: the tools you need to find common ground and walk away a winner by 
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Managing Across Cultures by 
HBR Guide to Office Politics by 
The Mentoring Manual, 2nd Edition by 
Inclusion on Purpose: an intersectional approach to creating a culture of belonging at work by 
Easier: 60 ways to make your work life work for you by 
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by 
The Mentee's Guide by 
Drop Dead Brilliant by 
