Market Research & Entrepreneurship: Supplemental Resources

Your guide for entrepreneurship & market research resources for Lab-to-Market classes & other activities using UC San Diego Library resources.

What this section is about

This section has background resources & quick links to specialized, non-business resources (e.g. in medicine and enginnering) that frequently get used by L2M students and others on campus doing market research.

Useful Guides & Links to Non-Business Resources

Data and Statistics Guide
Business (general resources guide)
Click here for the full business & management resources guide, including company directories, SD business sources and more.
Engineering Subject Guides
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies Research Guide This guide is a curated set of links to academic articles, reports, data and more. that is available to current faculty, students and staff of UC San Diego..
Urban Studies & Planning Research Guide This site is a curated set of links to academic research, policy reports, data and more that are accessible to current UC San Diego students, faculty and staff.
Economics Resources Guide
Patents Guide Includes background information an links to searching for U.S. and international patents.
GIS & Geospatial Technologies Resource Guide This collection of content highlights the geospatial-related software and data available for academic use by current UC San Diego students, faculty and staff. Includes ArcGIS and Business Analyst.
Subject Guides A-Z This link brings you to Library resource guides on topics from science to social science to arts and humanities. This link also will bring you to our general guides about e-books, news sources, citations, copyright and more.

PubMed
The UCSD's customized link to PubMed content will make it easier for you to link to full text articles.

Drug Discovery @ Nature
- This link opens in a new window
This part of the journal Nature that has a R&D news focus in pharma topics. Check out the tags business strategy in drug development, market analysis, drug regulation, clinical trials, and plain old drug development. This section also contains an archive of past market analysis.
Nature Biotechnology
- This link opens in a new window
Included a subset called Nature Bioentrepreneur,which stopped in 2018. Now when similar content becomes available, it's integrated into the main journal.
Nature articles on Business & Management
- This link opens in a new window
UCSD's Online Clinical Library
- This link opens in a new window
Nature Biomedical Engineering

PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.

Chronicle of Higher Education
- This link opens in a new window
CHE is the trade journal for all aspects of higher ed, and a rich site for people working in or considering a job in this field. The main site publishes a weekly update for news, and their daily newsletters, like Academe Today, are great for keeping current (register using your @ucsd email). Their Jobs site is the leading notice board for U.S.-based faculty positions, administrative and other non-instructional jobs. The Data/Almanac section contains details on pay, employment and individual institutional demographics that helps job seekers with relocation and salary negotiation. There are two sections with career advancement and skills development content – career resources and free guides & reports.

Web Search & Additional Academic Article Sources

Google Scholar
GS cross searches content like academic journals, working papers and reports in many disciplines. Don't forget to set your Scholar Preferences to UCSD so you can take advantage of fulltext linking into our resources. Note: Use the VPN client if you are off-campus, so you can link right through to our licensed content.
Advanced Search in Google
You can add limiters such as document type or domain to help focus your search.

Business Source Complete Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
Inspec Indexes 16+ million journal articles and conference papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science. Also good for related disciplines like geophysics, astronomy, mechanical engineering, biomedical engineering, ocean engineering, and acoustics. Indexes IEEE conference papers and standards. ****You can now cross search with Compendex for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate results can be removed.
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore 1988-present [+ archives for select publications.] Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books (later titles on Wiley). Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers is a feature.
- This link opens in a new window
Tip: The default in IEEE Xplore is to search metadata only, which includes abstracts, indexing terms, and bibliographic citation information. To do a full-text search, go to the Advanced Search page and select "Full text & Metadata" from the drop-down list.
MathSciNet The major index to mathematical literature for articles, books, and edited book chapters. Covers literature back to the early 1800s.
- This link opens in a new window
Mathematical Reviews (MR) from articles and books published since 1940. Bibliographic data from retro-digitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective 1913-1983. Provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues & trends in the history of business & industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science & technology for the 20th Century. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Textile Outlook International
up to date research on textiles. In print in Geisel Library.

Current Journals, Geisel Floor2 West HD9850.1 .T45

Environment Complete Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) 1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
- This link opens in a new window
Urban Studies Abstracts Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1992 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. Formerly Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
Alt-PressWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.

Public Opinion & Polling Resources

Guide to Public Opinion Resources
This guide has our links to Roper, Polling the Nations, Pew, ICPSR, California Field Polls and much more.

Sentiment Analysis, 2nd ed. by Bing Liu Sentiment analysis is the computational study of people's opinions, sentiments, emotions, moods, and attitudes. This fascinating problem offers numerous research challenges, but promises insight useful to anyone interested in opinion analysis and social media analysis. This comprehensive introduction to the topic takes a natural-language-processing point of view to help readers understand the underlying structure of the problem and the language constructs commonly used to express opinions, sentiments, and emotions. The book covers core areas of sentiment analysis and also includes related topics such as debate analysis, intention mining, and fake-opinion detection. It will be a valuable resource for researchers and practitioners in natural language processing, computer science, management sciences, and the social sciences. In addition to traditional computational methods, this second edition includes recent deep learning methods to analyze and summarize sentiments and opinions, and also new material on emotion and mood analysis techniques, emotion-enhanced dialogues, and multimodal emotion analysis.
Call Number: Cambridge e-book
ISBN: 9781108486378
Publication Date: 2020
A Practical Guide to Sentiment Analysis by Erik Cambria (Editor); Dipankar Das (Editor); Sivaji Bandyopadhyay (Editor); Antonio Feraco (Editor) Sentiment analysis research has been started long back and recently it is one of the demanding research topics.  Research activities on Sentiment Analysis in natural language texts and other media are gaining ground with full swing. But, till date, no concise set of factors has been yet defined that really affects how writers' sentiment i.e., broadly human sentiment is expressed, perceived, recognized, processed, and interpreted in natural languages. The existing reported solutions or the available systems are still far from perfect or fail to meet the satisfaction level of the end users. The reasons may be that there are dozens of conceptual rules that govern sentiment and even there are possibly unlimited clues that can convey these concepts from realization to practical implementation. Therefore, the main aim of this book is to provide a feasible research platform to our ambitious researchers towards developing the practical solutions that will be indeed beneficial for our society, business and future researches as well.
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9783319553924
Publication Date: 2017

Dictionaries & Handbooks

Need a business quotation? To understand a foreign-language business term? To find a handbook that will help you understand a business or technical process? To look up a word or term and get a specialized definition? Below are some of the most useful titles for market research look-ups.

AccessScience
- This link opens in a new window
This resource allows you to look up and get definitions for scitech terms and concepts.

Access Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.

Oxford Reference Online
- This link opens in a new window
Here's the link to cross-search all the business, economics, management and technology dictionaries. See below for some of the most useful titles for market research look-ups.
A Dictionary of Business and Management by Jonathan Law (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780199684984
Publication Date: 2016
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains over 7,100 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation.
The Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations by Hugh Rawson; Margaret Miner
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780195168235
Publication Date: 2006
With nearly 6,000 quotations arranged historically and annotated extensively, you'll know not just who said what, but get the full story behind the quote.

Quick Links to Career Resources

Quick links are here. The full Career Resources Guide is more wide-ranging in what it helps you accomplish and the range of resources it lists.

Vault This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and interships, and find graduate programs
- This link opens in a new window
Uniworld Online These comprehensive listings of multinational companies are great for company research and for identifying possible primary sources for competitive intelligence, and prospects for internships or jobs. Originally named Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States, they may be searched by country, region, state, zip/postal code, industry, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Leadership Connect Leadership Connect is a people intelligence service that has been connecting users with leaders in business, government, and nonprofits for 51 years. Use it for student and faculty research, as well as staff and administration strategic initiatives, government relations, career service assistance (clerkships, internships, career pathways, employer recruitment), alumni relations, etc. Includes contact information and biographical content (education and career history) for high level decision makers as well as organizational charts for government agencies.Originally published in print as “the Yellow Books,” its online search can create lists of organizations grouped by features like geographic area, industry, job title, school affiliation, directorships, type and size of organization, and more.
- This link opens in a new window