Thanks to Anne K. Lu, student intern, who contributed extensively to the creation and contents of this page.
This guide is constantly a work-in-progress. You can use it now, and check back later for new material. Feel free to email me with suggestions of what topics or resources you'd like to see covered here. -Adele
Mergent Market Atlas has arrived. This platform replaces Mergent Online, but it will provide the same information and then some. Mergent Market Atlas still provides easy access to current and historical company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. There are added ESG and economic data contents. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, SEC filings, and other reports.
It's here: A new interface for all EBSCO databases, and a special Business Searching Interface upgrade for Business Source Complete. The new interface for BSC is fresh-looking and arranged better for efficient searching and finding most-requested magazines and journals. There is also an upgrade for Regional Business News.
Rollout of OpenAthens for Improved Access
Starting in May 2025, the Library is enabling OpenAthens for access to our licensed resources. This service should allow for quicker, easier and more stable access. It's integrated with UC San Diego's Single Sign-on (SSO) for identity management, so you should only have to use one login with your credentials to access the resources. Read the news release about it to understand more. Meanwhile, the vpn method continues to be available as an option for you. As always, use the Off-campus Access tab to get to the full info about your options.
Would you like to read the business news from Silicon Valley, San Francisco or Seattle? What about Boston, Pittsburgh or Atlanta? We now have access to the 44 U.S. geographies published by the American City Business Journals. They come with their associated Book of Lists, rankings of top organizations across many business categories for their respective cities. Regional business news is especially useful for job hunters, those doing market research on companies and studying economic development. Co-funded by the Library and the Rady School of Management. Featured contents:
Note: The San Diego Business Journal is sourced from a different publisher and online vendor, as is a few of the other Southern California titles. See this dedicated link for SoCal business news feeds and Books of Lists.
You can access thousands of e-journals, e-books, databases, and more through UC San Diego Library.
For on-campus access, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.
To access library resources from off-campus:
Sign in to UC Library Search with OpenAthens for seamless access.
For help with troubleshooting, visit our Connect to Library Resources page.
If there are other professional areas that you would like to be included in this guide, please contact me directly and let me know!
The careers and vocational guidance feed from Business Source Complete includes articles on all aspects of career choice and employment in general.
Co-Intelligence: living and working with AI
by
Own Your Career: Break the Corporate Blueprint and Build Your Own Ladder
by
The World of Work To 2030: A Practical Guide to Future-Proofing Your Business and Your Career
by
The Career Arts: Making the Most of College, Credentials, and Connections
by
This book reveals why college education and job preparation are not either-or propositions and identifies the blend of education and networking needed to support real-world career aspirations. The author offers guidance for anyone who is making decisions about education and career preparation with a view to getting ahead in the workforce.
HBR Guide to Your Job Search
by
Whether you're new to the workforce or have a well-established career, this book contains practical advice for navigating your job hunt. Learn how to: structure your search strategically; translate your strengths into a strong personal story; activate your network to find opportunities; write a resume that gets callbacks; craft answers to common interview questions; and set yourself up for success in your new role.
Launch Your Career: how any student can create relationships with professionals and land the jobs and internships they want
by
This book shows how any college student can land the position they want by creating relationships with professionals in the industries they're interested in by using the author's proven Career Launch Method, eight steps that organize the process.
The 2-hour job search: using technology to get the right job faster, 2nd ed.
by
In three steps, the author shows you how to select, prioritize, and make contact with potential employers so you can land that critical first interview. It contains updated advice on how to efficiently surf online job postings, how to reach out to contacts at your dream workplace and when to follow up, and advice on using LinkedIn, Indeed, and Google to your best advantage.
Scientific publishing and presentation: a practical guide with advice on doctoral studies and career planning
by
This book covers three stated aims: how to present one's own results convincingly; tips on how to publish your own research results; and explains to new scientists the usual practices for publications.
GPS for Success: Skills, Strategies, and Secrets of Superachievers
by
The author exhorts his readers to live the life that they imagine, and points to high-value tools and techniques used by people who stand out in their fields. These life navigation skills can act like a GPS to get you from where you are to where you want to go in your career. He provides ideas to develop your abilities with job interviewing, people skills, writing, and public speaking. The book offers practical coaching on ten critical behavioral skills that contribute to success, such as writing down goals, enhancing your communication and time management skills, and cultivating an attitude of service.
Exercising Your Ethics
by
Through a witty and engaging style, the author invites readers to consider their character authenticity at work. The book is for people who want to do the right thing, but may not be sure what that means, how to go about it, or how to withstand the forces that may push them away from wanting to be ethical. In a world that seems to reward winning, regardless of how it is achieved, we need a clearer reason for wanting to be and become our best selves.
