LibGuides: Finding Data & Statistics: Health/Health Care & Mortality

US Health Care Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
Includes FastStats by topic and full text of many of the statistical publications the NCHS produces (e.g., Vital and Health Statistics Series reports).
MEASURE DHS Statcompiler
DHS STATcompiler is an online database tool that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables that serve their specific data needs. It accesses nearly all of the DHS population and health indicators.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Site includes a variety of interactive maps and charts.
Reproductive Health Data and Statistics. CDC
Abortion, Hysterectomy, Infant Health. Interactive Atlas of Reproductive Health, International Reproductive Health Surveys, Maternal Health, Tobacco Use and Pregnancy, Unintended and Teen Pregnancy Prevention, Women's Reproductive Health
March of Dimes PeriStats
PeriStats provides access to maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, cesarean births, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.
CDC Injury Prevention & Control: Data & Statistics (WISQARSTM)
WISQARSTM (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data including suicide.
SEER Cancer Statistics
This is the NCI's SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) Program web site containing statistical publications including the SEER Cancer Statistics Review 1973-present and Racial/Ethnic patterns of Cancer in the U.S.
Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE)
The U.S. Census Bureau’s Small Area Health Insurance Estimates program produces the only source of data for single-year estimates of health insurance coverage status for all counties in the U.S. by selected economic and demographic characteristics.
Congressional District Health Dashboard
Includes 36 metrics across health outcomes, social and economic factors, clinical care, physical environment, and health behavior, for all 435 U.S. Congressional Districts.
State Health Facts Kaiser Foundation
Indicator categories include: health coverage & uninsured, health costs & budgets, demographics and economy, health status, COVID-19, HIV/AIDS, Medicare, providers & service use, mental health & substance abuse, and more.
California Department of Public Health - Statistics
Statistical and data tables produced by the California Department of Public Health.
California Vital Data (Cal-ViDa)
The California Vital Data (Cal-ViDa) Query Tool allows users to create custom reports of California’s birth and death data. After your query has been completed, you can view the report, export, or print the data. Other options to obtain birth and death data can be found by accessing the data request page of Vital Records Data and Statistics.
San Diego Health Archive
The San Diego Health Archive is a digital collection of more than 10,000 documents and reports on San Diego's health, health statistics, and health-related topics. By its very nature, most information presented here is not current.

International Health Care Statistics

Childinfo. UNICEF
Child Survival and Health, Child Nutrition, Maternal Health, Water and Sanitation, Education, Child Protection, HIV/AIDS, MDG (Millennium Development Goals) Monitoring. Data by Country.
more...less...
Specific topics such as breastfeeding, birthweight, vitamin deficiency, mortality, school enrollment, child labor, mutilation and domestic violence attitudes.
Health Data. OECD
Health expenditures, mortality by disease, number of practicing nurses and physicians, life expectancy and risk behavior. Data by country back to 1960.
more...less...
OECD COUNTRIES: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States.
International Narcotics Control Board
Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.
World Health Organization
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being, including: global health expenditure, maternal and newborn health, immunization data, malnutrition, noncommunicable diseases, drug resistance, mortality, HIV country profiles, malaria and cholera outbreaks, and more.
Global Health Workforce statistics database
The data presented in the Global Health Workforce Statistics database are processed data extracts of the national reporting in the National Health Workforce Accounts data platform. Complementing the national reporting, additional sources such as the National Census, Labour Force Surveys and key administrative national and regional sources are also employed. Due to the several data sources, considerable variability remains across countries in the coverage, periodicity, quality and completeness of the original data.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. World Bank.
Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Include mortality, immunization, malnutrion etc.

Mortality Datasets

Community Health Status Indicators
Provides an overview of key health indicators for local communities.
CDC - National Vital Statistics System
Includes downloadable microdata as well as links to CDC WONDER and the Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System.
Social Security Death Master File [CD-ROM]
ASCII record-delimited files compressed in .zip format. Contains records of deaths from 1936 and later that have been reported to the Social Security Administration. Includes the following information on each decedent, if the data are available to the SSA: social security number, name, date of birth, date of death, state or country of residence (Feb. 1988 and prior), ZIP code of last residence, and ZIP code of lump sum payment.

Health Datasets

AIDS Public Data Set
This data set contains counts of AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome) cases reported to CDC by state and local health departments from 1981+. Case counts can be retrieved by demographics, case-definition, date of diagnosis, date of report, HIV exposure group (risk factors), and mortality.
All of Us Research Hub
The All of Us Research Program, led by the National Institutes of Health, is building one of the largest biomedical data resources of its kind. The All of Us Research Hub stores health data from a diverse group of participants from across the United States. The All of Us Research Program will provide a national research resource to inform thousands of research questions, covering a wide variety of health conditions. A diverse cohort of 1 million or more participants will contribute data from electronic health records (EHRs), biospecimens, surveys, and other measures to build a comprehensive set of biological, environmental, and behavioral data.
more...less...
PUBLIC TIER
The Public Tier dataset contains only aggregate data with identifiers removed. These data are available to everyone through Data Snapshots and the Data Browser, an interactive tool on the Research Hub. Counts differ between Data Snapshots and Data Browser due to the lag time in the curation process.

REGISTERED TIER
The Registered Tier curated dataset contains individual-level data, available only to approved researchers on the Researcher Workbench. The Registered Tier currently includes data from electronic health records (EHRs), wearables, and surveys, as well as physical measurements taken at the time of participant enrollment.

CONTROLLED TIER
In addition to the data in the Registered Tier, the Controlled Tier dataset contains genomic data in the form of whole genome sequencing (WGS) and genotyping arrays, previously suppressed demographic data fields from EHRs and surveys, and unshifted dates of events.

To learn more about particular data fields available within each tier, visit the Registered Tier Data Dictionary or Controlled Tier Data Dictionary.
California Consumers Experiences with Managed Care
A survey of insured Californian's experiences with managed health care done for California's Managed Health Care Improvement Task Force.
Demographic and Health Surveys
National and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Surveys have been conducted in 32 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, 7 countries in North Africa/West Asia/Europe, 10 countries in South and Southeast Asia, and 13 countries in Latin America and the Caribean. Microdata are available free of charge by request.
Guatemalan Survey of Family Health, 1995
The Guatemalan Survey of Family Health was designed to examine the way in which rural Guatemalan families and individuals cope with childhood illness and pregnancy, and the role of ethnicity, poverty, social support, and health beliefs in this process. The EGSF sample includes all rural communities in four of Guatemala's 22 departments.
Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) @ ICPSR
The HMCA preserves and disseminates health care data collected by researchers. Subjects covered include Health Care Providers, Cost/Access to Health Care, Substance Abuse and Health, Chronic Health Conditions, and Other.
Health Care and Facilities datasets @ ICPSR
A list of over 800 studies, surveys, and polls of assorted major and minor health datasets held at ICPSR.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
The HCUP is the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, discharge-level information beginning in 1988.
Integrated Health Interview Series (IHIS)
Harmonized data and documentation for the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
Joint Canada-US Survey of Health
The JCUSH was a research study conducted by Statistics Canada and the National Center for Health Statistics, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Data collection began in November 2002 and ended in March 2003. The JCUSH was a one-time, random telephone survey in both countries.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, or MEPS as it is commonly called, is the third (and most recent) in a series of national probability surveys conducted by AHRQ on the financing and utilization of medical care in the United States.
Mexican Health and Aging Study
The Mexican Health and Aging Study (MHAS) is a prospective panel study of health and aging in Mexico, with national and urban/rural representation. The baseline survey was conducted in the Summer of 2001,with follow-up surveys conducted in 2003, 2012, 2015, 2018, and 2021.
National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey series 1973-present @ ICPSR
NAMCS contains data on medical care provided in physicians' offices. It is a continuously sampled survey based on a nationwide sample of patient records.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The principle US Governmental health statistics agency, NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.
more...less...
Some useful NCHS datasets include:
National Survey of America's Families
A comprehensive look at the well-being of children and non-elderly adults, and reveals sometimes striking differences among the 13 states studied in depth.
more...less...
The survey provides quantitative measures of child, adult and family well-being in America, with an emphasis on persons in low-income families in the nation as a whole and in 13 states: Alabama, California, Colorado, Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. Three rounds of the survey have been carried out: 1997, 1999, and 2002.
OECD Health Data
Examines national health systems from 1960 forward for OECD member countries in a general, demographic, economic, and social context.
Population Research Center at NORC and The University of Chicago
This site makes available data from some of the Population Research Center's projects. Interesting datasets include the National Health and Social Life Survey, the Chicago Health and Social Life Survey, and the Chinese Health and Family Life Survey. These surveys profile sexual behavior, demography and health.
Vital Statistics Data Available Online
US birth and death data. Can be downloaded or analyzed online through VitalStats or WONDER.
Women's Healthy Eating and Living Study (WHEL)
The Women's Healthy Eating & Living (WHEL) Study was an NIH-supported clinical trial. In compliance with the terms and conditions of NIH's Data Sharing Policy as well as to promote the concept of data sharing, these data are being made publicly available. Also in accordance with NIH policy, the datasets include only de-identified data and documentation. All personally identifiable health information such as dates or study sites has been removed in accordance with the HIPAA privacy rule.
World Health Organization data collections
The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being.
Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey (MCBS)
Continuous, in-person, longitudinal survey of a representative national sample of the Medicare population.
Medicaid State Drug Utilization Data
State Drug Utilization Data (SDUD) has been reported by states since the start of the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program for covered outpatient drugs paid for by state Medicaid agencies. Dataset includes quarterly number of outpatient prescriptions, total units, and reimbursement costs. Available at state and national level back to 1991.
Roper Health Poll Database
The Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.

Mental Health Statistics

National Institutes of Mental Health - Statistics
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
Tracks health risks in the United States over ten years, national and state data.
Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (CDC)
Survey data starting in 1991 based on high school questionnaire about health behavior.
Health, United States
Chartbook from the NCHS indicating Trends in the Health of Americans. This resource includes over 140 trend tables including topics such as fertility, natality and mortality. Includes Mental Health Expenditures and other data.
College Drinking (NIAAA)
Statistics on deaths and injuries caused by college drinking from the NIAAA.
International Narcotics Control Board
Annual report provides regional and country statistics on illegal use of drugs and drug trafficking.
SAMHSA's National Survey on Drug Use & Health
Sponsored by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, an Agency of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (ICPSR)
Microdata from government drug abuse and mental health surveys, 1970s to the present.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics. Office of Applied Studies
Current news, trends and national and state data on substance abuse.
The State of Aging and Health in America Report
Assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years. The report includes national- and state-based report cards that examine 15 key indicators of older adult health, strategies to improve the health and quality of life of older adults, and state examples that highlight innovative healthy aging efforts at the state and community level.
more...less...
Health Status and Health Behavior.

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Datasets

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Established in 1984 to track behavioral health risk in the United States. Behavior and risk categories include: exercise, being overweight, use of seatbelts, tobacco and alcohol, etc.
ICPSR Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
Topics covered include: health care providers, cost of and access to health sare, substance abuse, chronic conditions, and other health related topics.
Monitoring the Future: 1976+ @ ICPSR
An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of approximately 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed. A number of questions on drug use are asked.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health @ ICPSR
Drug and alcohol use incidence and prevalence estimates and report the consequences and patterns of use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian population aged 12 and older. Also asks a set of questions about mental health treatment.
Murray Studies of Mental Health @ Murray Research Archive
An archive of longitudinal mental health data, compiled over an eight year period with the support of the National Institute of Mental Health. In cases of restricted data, application must be made directly to the Murray Research Archive for permission to use the data.
SAMHDA: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
SAMHSA collects data through multiple sources and surveys and provides access to public-use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of mental illness and substance use disorders in America.

Drugs and Tobacco Statistics

World Drug Report
From the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
Drug Abuse Statistics from SAMHSA
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration of DHHS compiles detailed statistics on alcohol, tobacco, and drug use.
Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL)
Tobacco Yearbook. USDA

Drugs and Tobacco Datasets

California Tobacco Surveys
The California Department of Health Services conducts surveys of attitudes, behaviors, and media exposure regarding smoking and tobacco use as components of the smoking cessation evaluation effort required by California Assembly Bills AB75, AB99 and AB816. The objective of these surveys is to collect representative statewide data on cigarette smoking behavior, attitudes towards smoking, media exposure to smoking, and use of tobacco products other than cigarettes, from adults and teenagers living in California. These surveys are conducted approximately every three years through contracts with the University of California, San Diego (UC San Diego) and Westat, Inc. to measure changes in attitudes and behaviors in the California population. The California Tobacco Survey (CTS) was conducted in 1990-1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1999, 2002 and 2005. The 1990-1991 survey includes an adult pregnancy supplement.

Finding Data & Statistics: Health/Health Care & Mortality

Health/Health Care & Mortality categories

US Health Care Statistics

International Health Care Statistics

Mortality Datasets

Health Datasets

Mental Health Statistics

Mental Health and Substance Abuse Datasets

Drugs and Tobacco Statistics

Drugs and Tobacco Datasets