LibGuides: GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: B

B24IC	Biointelligence and Biosecurity for the Intelligence Community program (older link archive)
B2S	Build to Scale Program (older link archive)
B2U	Battery Second-Use Repurposing Cost Calculator
B3	Bioeconomy, Bioenergy, Bioproducts Programs (older link archive)
B&B	Baccalaureate and Beyond Longitudinal Study
BAB	Build America Bureau
Baby FACES	Early Head Start Family and Child Experiences Study
BACS	Bioinformatics and Computational Science program
BAER	Burned Area Emergency Response (older link archive; archive2)
BAM	Body and Mind (older link archive)
BARC	Beltsville Agricultural Research Center (older link archive; archive2)
BARD	Braille and Audio Reading Download (older link archive)
BARDA	Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (older link archive)
BAS	Boundary and Annexation Survey \| Business Applications Solution
BASINS	Better Assessment Science Integrating Point and Nonpoint Sources (older link archive)
BASO at LBNL	Bay Area Site Office at LBNL (reverted to BSO 6/23)
BASO at SLAC	Bay Area Site Office at SLAC
BAST	Best Available and Safest Technologies
BATFE	Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
BATS	Bomb Arson Tracking System (older link archive; archive2)
BAU	Behavioral Analysis Unit

BB	Biologics Branch (unable to verify 4/20)
BBB	Biostatistics and Bioinformatics Branch (older link archive; archive2)
BBCB	Division of Biomedical Technology, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology
BBD	Biosystems and Biomaterials Division
BBDB	Behavioral and Brain Development Branch (unable to verify 5/16; likely merged into Brain Development Research Consortium)
BBEBP	Biosafety, Biosecurity, and Emerging Biotechnology Policy Division (unable to verify 12/22)
BBG	Broadcasting Board of Governors (changed to USAGM)
BBL	Bird Banding Laboratory (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
BBNP	Better Buildings Neighborhood Program
BBPSB	Basic Biobehavioral and Psychological Sciences Branch
BBRB	Biorepositories and Biospecimen Research Branch
BBS	North American Breeding Bird Survey
BBSP	Block Boundary Suggestion Project
BBTD	Biosciences and Biotechnology Division (older link archive)
BC	C.W. Bill Young Cell Transplantation Program (changed to CWBYCTP) \| Bureau of Competition
BC3	Building Component Cost Community (unable to access/verify 4/20)

BCA	Biosurveillance Coordination Activity (unable to verify 6/14)
BCAP	Biomass Crop Assistance Program (unable to verify 2/23; older link archive)
BCAT	Building Code Adoption Tracking
BCBB	Bioinformatics and Computational Biosciences Branch (unable to verify 11/16)
BCCI	Border Community Capital Initiative
BCFB	Biotechnology Core Facility Branch
BCI	Better Contracting Initiative
BCJI	Byrne Criminal Justice Innovation Program (older link archive)
BCL	Building Component Library \| Bureau of Certification and Licensing
BCM	Bulk Chemical Manufacturer Reports (older link archive)
BCN	Behavioral and Cognitive Neuroscience Research Branch (older link archive; archive2)
BCOE	FBI Biometric Center of Excellence (unable to verify 3/22, possibly replaced by PRSU; older link archive; archive2)
BCP	Basic Center Program (older link archive) \| Bureau of Consumer Protection
BCPRU	Biological Control of Pests Research Unit (older link archive)
BCRC	Benefits Coordination & Recovery Center (older link archive)
BCRS	Bureau of Clinician Recruitment and Service (merged into BHW)
BCS	Division of Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences
BCSB	Behavioral and Clinical Surveillance Branch
BCSC	National Bulk Cash Smuggling Center (older link archive)
BCSRB	Behavioral and Cognitive Science Research Branch (changed to BCN)
BCTD	Biomolecular and Computational Toxicology Division
BD IWG	Big Data Interagency Working Group
BDAC	Broadband Deployment Advisory Committee
BDC	Broadband Data Collection (older link archive)

BDFWO	Bay-Delta Fish and Wildlife Office (older link archive)
BDM	Business Employment Dynamics
BDP	Big Data Program (changed to NODD; older link archive; changed from Big Data Project)
BDS	Business Dynamics Statistics (older link archive)
BE	Biological Evaluation \| Bureau of Economics
BEA	Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEACON	Beach Advisory and Closing On-line Notification
BEAD	Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment Program (older link archive)
BEARFACTS	BEA Regional Fact Sheets
BECCAL	Bose Einstein Condensates & Cold Atoms Lab
BECON	Biomedical Engineering Consortium (defunct as of 11/08)
BECP	Building Energy Codes Program
BECRM	Branch of Environmental and Cultural Resources Management (changed to DESCRM; older link archive)
BEDES	Building Energy Data Exchange Specification
BEDI	Brownfields Economic Development Initiative (discontinued)
BEEF	Big Explosives Experimental Facility (older link archive)
BEES	Building for Environmental and Economic Sustainability
BEG	Border Enforcement Grant
BEMP	Bison and Elk Management Plan
BenMAP-CE	Environmental Benefits Mapping and Analysis Program - Community Edition
BEopt	Building Energy Optimization Tool
BEP	Bureau of Engraving and Printing
BER	Biological and Environmental Research (older link archive)

BERA	Business & Economics Research Advisor (unable to verify 12/23)
BERD	Business Enterprise Research and Development Survey
BES	Basic Energy Sciences (older link archive) \| Business Expenses Survey (older link archive; archive2)
BESAC	Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee
BEST	Benefit Eligibility Screening Tool \| Biomonitoring of Environmental Status and Trends (changed to I&M, then ECO) \| Biologics Effectiveness and Safety System \| Border Enforcement Security Task Force (older link archive)
BETO	Bioenergy Technologies Office (older link archive)
BETTER	Better Extraction from Text Towards Enhanced Retrieval
BFELoB	Budget Formulation and Execution Line of Business (unable to verify 2/24; older link archive)
BFEM	Budget Formulation and Execution Manager (unable to verify 8/18; older link archive)
BFET	Blended Finance for the Energy Transition
BFP	Bridge Formula Program
BFRDP	Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program (older link archive)
BFRL	Building and Fire Research Laboratory (absorbed into EL)
BFS	Bureau of the Fiscal Service \| Business Formation Statistics
BGLP	Biomonitoring of Great Lakes Populations
BGN	U.S. Board on Geographic Names (older link archive; archive2)
BGSEEF	Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation
BHA	Bureau for Humanitarian Assistance (older link archive)
BHC	United States-México Border Health Commission
BHCC	Behavioral Health Coordinating Council (unable to verify 4/19)
BHDAP	Office of Behavioral Health, Disability, and Aging Policy (older link archive; archive2)
BHP	Basic Health Program
BHPr	Bureau of Health Professions (merged into BHW)
BHSIS	Behavioral Health Services Information System (unable to verify 10/14)
BHSO	Brookhaven Site Office (older link archive)
BHW	Bureau of Health Workforce (older link archive)

BIA	Board of Immigration Appeals \| Bureau of Indian Affairs
BIBCO	Monographic Bibliographic Record Program
BIDEH	Biological Integrity, Diversity, and Environmental Health
BIDS	Binational Border Infectious Disease Surveillance Program \| Biomedical Informatics and Data Science (changed to BACS) \| Business Information Database System (unable to verify 3/24)
BIE	Bureau of Indian Education
BIEC	Border Interagency Executive Council
BIF	Bank Insurance Fund (merged into DIF)
BIFAD	Board for International Food and Agricultural Development
BIG	Boating Infrastructure Grant Program
BIL	Bipartisan Infrastructure Law
BIMAS	BioInformatics Molecular Analysis Section (unable to verify 8/18)
BIMO	Bioresearch Monitoring
BIO	Biosciences Division (older link archive) \| Directorate for Biological Sciences
BioAMS	National Resource for Biomedical Accelerator Mass Spectrometry
BioEco	Biodiversity and Ecosystems Informatics Working Group (unable to verify 1/18)
BioEPIC	Biological and Environmental Program Integration Center
BioLINCC	Biologic Specimen and Data Repository Information Coordinating Center
BIP	Balancing Incentive Program \| Biofuel Infrastructure Partnership (unable to verify 2/23) \| Bridge Investment Program
BIRD HLS	U.S.-Israel Binational Industrial Research and Development Homeland Security
BIRDS	Building Industry Reporting and Design for Sustainability (older link archive)
BIS	Biomedical Informatics Section \| Bureau of Industry and Security (older link archive; archive2)
BISON	Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (replaced by GBIF)
BITB	Behavioral and Integrative Treatment Branch (defunct)
BI-TC	Biometric and Identity Technology Center
BITMAP	Biometric Identification Transnational Migration Alert Program

BJA	Bureau of Justice Assistance (older link archive)
BJS	Bureau of Justice Statistics (older link archive)
BLAST	Basic Local Alignment Search Tool \| Battery Lifetime Analysis and Simulation Tool
BLI	Blue Lightning Initiative
BLIP	Brookhaven Linac Isotope Producer (older link archive)
BLM	Bureau of Land Management
BLS	Bureau of Labor Statistics (older link archive)
BMAP	Bomb-Making Materials Awareness Program
BMBL	Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories
BMD	Biomolecular Measurement Division \| Borders and Maritime Security Division
BMDM	Branch of Monitoring and Data Management
BMDR	Ballistic Missile Defense Review (older link archive; archive2)
BMDS	Benchmark Dose Software
BMGR	Basic Mechanisms of Genome Regulation (changed to GBMGD; older link archive; archive2)
BMIS	Bioresearch Monitoring Information System (older link archive) \| Bond Management Information System
BMS	Bank Management System \| Baseline Measurement System
BNI	Beneficiary Notices Initiative (older link archive)
BNL	Brookhaven National Laboratory
BNQP	Baldrige National Quality Program (changed to BPEP)
BOC	Bureau of the Census
BOD	Binding Operational Directive (older link archive)

BOEM	Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
BOEMRE	Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement Bureau (replaced by BOEM and BSEE)
BOGS	Branch of Geospatial Support (older link archive)
BOI	Beneficial Ownership Information
BOP	Federal Bureau of Prisons
BOR	Bureau of Reclamation
BORSTAR	Border Patrol Search, Trauma, and Rescue
BORTAC	Border Patrol Tactical Unit
BOSC	Board of Scientific Counselors
BP	Bureau of Budget and Planning (older link archive)
BPA	Bonneville Power Administration (older link archive)
BPAC	Biological and Physical Sciences Advisory Committee
BPC	U.S.-Russia Bilateral Presidential Commission (inactive or defunct 2/17)
BPD	Building Performance Database (older link archive) \| Bureau of the Public Debt (merged into BFS)
BPEP	Baldrige Performance Excellence Program
BPHC	Bureau of Primary Health Care

BPN	Business Partner Network (unable to verify 10/12)
BPP	Bioproduct Pilot Program \| North American Bird Phenology Program (older link archive; archive2)
BPPC	Border Patrol Processing Coordinator
BPR	Biological and Physical Resources (older link archive; archive2)
BPS	Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study \| Building Permits Survey (older link archive) \| Division of Biological & Physical Sciences \| Office of the Biological Policy Staff (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
BQMS	Biotechnology Quality Management System (older link archive)
BQP	Biomarker Qualification Program
BR	Hazardous Waste Report (Biennial Report)
BR&D	Biomass Research & Development
BRAC	Defense Base Closure and Realignment Commission (unable to verify 12/19)
BRACE	Building Resilience Against Climate Effects
BRAD	Biomedical / Biobehavioral Research Administrator Development Program (unable to verify 11/16)
BRADS	Biospecimen Repository Access and Data Sharing (unable to verify 2/24)
BRAG	Biotechnology Risk Assessment Grants (older link archive; archive2)
BRAIN	Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies Initiative
BRB	Benefits Review Board (older link archive) \| Biometric Research Branch (changed to BRP) \| Biostatistics Research Branch

BRC	Bioenergy Research Center \| Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future \| Breastfeeding Report Card
BRD	Biological Resource Division (changed to EMA) \| Biological Resources Division \| Broadband R&D (older link archive; archive2)
BRDIS	Business Research and Development and Innovation Survey (older link archive)
BRE	Book-Rich Environments Initiative
BRFSS	Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
BRIAR	Biometric Recognition and Identification at Altitude and Range
BRIC	Biological Research in Canisters \| Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities
BRIDG	Bimonthly Records and Information Discussion Group (older link archive)
Bridge2AI	Bridge to Artificial Intelligence
BRIDGE C2	Building Research in Implementation and Dissemination to close Gaps and achieve Equity in Cancer Control
BRIDGE Train	Building Research and Innovation for Development, Generating Evidence, and Training (older link archive)
BRIDGE-U	Bringing Research to Impact for Development, Global Engagement, and Utilization (older link archive)
BRInE	Brine Research Instrumentation and Experimental Laboratory
BRL	Basic Research Laboratory (unable to verify 11/23)
BRP	Behavioral Research Program \| Binational Relations Programs \| Biometric Research Program
BRR	Bridge Replacement and Rehabilitation Program
BRS	Biotechnology Regulatory Service (older link archive) \| Business Response Survey to the Coronavirus Pandemic
BRSS TACS	Bringing Recovery Supports to Scale Technical Assistance Center Strategy
BSB	Biomolecular Screening Branch (changed to PTB)
BSC	Board of Scientific Counselors
BSCD	Biological Sciences and Career Development Program (unable to verify 8/17)
BSE	Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (Mad Cow Disease)
BSEE	Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement
BSI	Border Security and Immigration Policy
BSIC	Broader Social Impacts Committee
BSMD	Biology and Soft Matter Division (unable to verify 8/18)

BSO	Berkeley Site Office at LBNL (reverted back from BASO at LBNL 6/23; older link archive; archive2)
BSP	Bank Supervision Policy \| Burn Severity Portal \| Business Service Providers
BSPB	Bacterial Special Pathogens Branch
BSR	Division of Behavioral and Social Research
BSRM	Bank Systemic Risk Monitor
BSRT	Behavioral Sciences and Rehabilitation Technologies Program (unable to verify 8/17)
BSSD	Biological Systems Science Division (older link archive; archive2)
BSTEM	Bank Stability and Toe Erosion Model
BT23	2023 Billion-Ton Report
BTA	Bureau of Trade Analysis
BTAI	Behavioral Threat Assessment Integration (older link archive)
BTC	Benefits Tax Counsel
BTFA	Bureau of Trust Funds Administration
BTID	Business Transformation and Innovation Division (older link archive)
BTLS	Beginning Teacher Longitudinal Study
BTO	Building Technologies Office
BTOP	Broadband Technology Opportunities Program; changed to BroadbandUSA
BTOS	Business Trends and Outlook Survey
BTRIC	Buildings Technology Research & Integration Center (older link archive)
BTS	Bureau of Transportation Statistics
BTWG	Binational Technical Working Group
Budget LoB	Budget Formulation and Execution Line of Business (unable to verify 2/24)
BUILD	Better Utilizing Investments to Leverage Development (changed to RAISE)
BVA	Board of Veterans Appeals
BVP	Bulletproof Vest Partnership (older link archive)
B-WET	Bay Watershed Education and Training (older link archive; archive2)
BWIP	U.S.-Mexico Border Water Infrastructure Program
BWT	Border Wait Times
BXA	Bureau of Export Administration (changed to BIS)