Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: F

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

F

F Office of Foreign Assistance (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
FAA Federal Aviation Administration
FAADS Federal Assistance Award Data System (older link archive; archive2)
FAAPS Forecasting and Advance Acquisition Planning System (replaced by C-BOT)
FAAT FEMA Acronyms, Abbreviations, and Terms List
FAC Federal Audit Clearinghouse (older link archive; archive2) | Fish and Aquatic Conservation
FACA Federal Advisory Committee Act (older link archive)
FACAOSSP Full All-Cargo Aircraft Operator Standard Security Program
FACE Family and Child Education (older link archive) | Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation Program
FACES Family and Child Experiences Survey
FACETs Forecasting a Continuum of Environmental Threats
FACOSH Federal Advisory Council on Occupational Safety and Health (archive/terminated; older link archive)
FACT Field Audit Checklist Tool | Financing Alternatives Comparison Tool | Food and Agriculture Cyberinformatics and Tools (older link archive)
FAD Food Assistance Division (unable to verify 6/19)
FADGI Federal Agencies Digitization Guidelines Initiative
FADS Food Availability (Per Capita) Data System
FAE Foreign Aid Explorer (merged into ForeignAssistance.gov)
FAER Fisheries: Aquatic and Endangered Resources Program (changed to Fisheries Program; older link archive)
FAERS FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (older link archive; archive2)
FAF Freight Analysis Framework
FAH Foreign Affairs Handbook
FAI Federal Acquisition Institute (alternate link archive)
FAIS Food Aid Information System (older link archive)
FAM Foreign Affairs Manual
FAMES Fatality Analysis of Maintenance-of-way Employees and Signalmen Committee
FAM-IT Fire and Aviation Management IT
FAMWEB Fire and Aviation Management Web Applications (replaced by FAM-IT)
FAN Foreign Affairs Network (unable to access 4/19)
Fannie Mae Federal National Mortgage Association
FAPIIS Federal Awardee Performance and Integrity Information System (older link archive)
FAPRS Federal Assistance Programs Retrieval System (replaced by CFDA)
FAR Federal Acquisition Regulation (older link archive)
FARA Food Access Research Atlas | Foreign Agents Registration Act (older link archive)
Farmer Mac Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation
FARR Federal Air Rules for Indian Reservations
FARS Fatality Analysis Reporting System
FAS Federal Acquisition Service (older link archive; archive 2) | Foreign Agricultural Service
FASAB Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
FASD Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (older link archive)
FASS-FHA Financial Assessment of FHA Housing
FASSR Financial Assistance and Social Services Report
FAST Free and Secure Trade
Fatherhood FIRE Fatherhood—Family-focused, Interconnected, Resilient, and Essential
FATUS Foreign Agricultural Trade of the United States
FAVIR Fruits and Vegetables Import Requirements Database
FBCI Faith-Based and Community Initiatives (changed to OFBNP)
FBE Foreign Biometric Exchange Program
FBGC Florence Bascom Geoscience Center
FBI Federal Bureau of Investigation
FBIIC Financial and Banking Information Infrastructure Committee
FBIS Foreign Broadcast Information Service (changed to WNC; defunct)
FBMS Financial and Business Management System
FBO Federal Business Opportunities (merged into beta.sam.gov)
FBP Fishery Biology Program (older link archive)
FCA Farm Credit Administration
FCC Federal Communications Commission | U.S.-Mexico Border Field Coordinating Committee (unable to verify 11/18)
FCCI Federal Cloud Computing Initiative (unable to verify 10/13; likely absorbed into cloud.cio.gov, then into FedRAMP)
FCCPS Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics
FCD Fire Calorimetry Database
FCG Federal Consulting Group
FCIC Federal Citizen Information Center (discontinued; replaced by Pueblo.GPO.gov) | Federal Crop Insurance Corporation
FCPP Fusion Center Performance Program
FCR Federal Case Registry (older link archive)
FCS Food Contact Substances (older link archive)
FCSC Foreign Claims Settlement Commission
FCSIC Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation
FCSM Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (older link archive)
FCSS Federal Commission on School Safety
FCTF Financial Crimes Task Forces (older link archive)
FD Food Distribution Programs (changed to USDA Foods Programs)
FDA Food and Drug Administration
FDA-TRACK FDA Transparency-Results-Accountability-Credibility-Knowledge Sharing (older link archive)
FDB Financial Disclosure Branch (unable to verify 4/20)
FDCRP Federal Law Enforcement Agency Deaths in Custody Reporting Program
FDIC Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
FDLP Federal Depository Library Program
FDMS Federal Docket Management System
FDMSD Food Defense Mitigation Strategies Database (older link archive)
FDNS Fraud Detection and National Security Directorate (older link archive)
FDNU Federal DNA Database Unit
FDOSS Foodborne Disease Outbreak Surveillance System
FDPIR Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations (older link archive)
FDS Federal Data Strategy
FDsys (GPO) Federal Digital System (discontinued 12/18; replaced by govinfo)
FE Office of Fossil Energy (changed to FECM)
FEA Federal Enterprise Architecture (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
FEB Federal Executive Boards
FEC Federal Election Commission | Federal Electronics Challenge
FECM Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management
FED Food Economics Division
FEDFacts Information about the Federal Electronic Docket Facilities (older link archive)
Fed FUNDS Federal Funding for Water and Wastewater Utilities in National Disasters
FEDIX Federal Information Exchange Inc. (defunct)
FEDLINK Federal Library and Information Network
FedRAMP Federal Risk and Authorization Management Program
FedRelay Federal Relay Service (older link archive; archive2)
FEDRIP Federal Research in Progress Database (unable to verify 11/16)
FEDS Finance and Economics Discussion Series (older link archive)
FEDSTATS Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (unable to verify; older link archive; archive2)
FedVTE Federal Virtual Training Environment (older link archive; archive2)
FEGLI Federal Employees' Group Life Insurance
FEHB Federal Employees Health Benefits
FEIS Fire Effects Information System
FEMA Federal Emergency Management Agency
FEMP Federal Energy Management Program
FERA Fate, Exposure, and Risk Analysis
FERC Federal Employee Relocation Center (older link archive) | Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Fermilab Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
FERRET Federated Electronic Research, Review, Extraction, and Tabulation Tool (decommissioned 6/20; older link archive)
FES Fusion Energy Sciences (older link archive)
FESAC Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee
FETC Federal Energy Technology Center (changed to NETL)
FETP Field Epidemiology Training Program
FEVS Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey (older link archive)
FEWS NET Famine Early Warning System Network
FFAS Farm & Foreign Agricultural Service (unable to verify 8/17)
FFAVORS Fresh Fruits and Vegetables Order Receipt System (older link archive)
FFB Federal Financing Bank (older link archive)
FFEL Federal Family Education Loan Program (older link archive)
FFETF Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force (replaced by Task Force on Market Integrity and Consumer Fraud; older link archive)
FFF Feds Feed Families (older link archive)
FFFIPP Fire Fighter Fatality Investigation and Prevention Program
FFIEC Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council
FFLs Federal Firearms Licensees
FFP Office of Food for Peace
FFRDCs Federally Funded R&D Centers
FFRRO Federal Facilities Restoration and Reuse Office
FFVP Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program
FFWR Farm and Food Worker Relief Grant Program
FGA Food Grains Analysis Group (older link archive)
FGBNMS Flower Garden Banks National Marine Sanctuary
FGDC Federal Geographic Data Committee
FGIS Federal Grain Inspection Service (older link archive; archive2)
FGM/C Female Genital Mutilation or Cutting (older link archive; archive2)
FGOA Feed Grains and Oilseeds Analysis Group
FGP Facility Guarantee Program
FHA Federal Health Architecture (older link archive; archive2) | Federal Housing Administration (older link archive)
FHAP Fair Housing Assistance Program (older link archive)
FHC Fisheries and Habitat Conservation (changed to FAC)
FHEO Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity (older link archive)
FHFA Federal Housing Finance Agency
FHFB Federal Housing Finance Board (merged into FHFA)
FHIP Fair Housing Initiatives Program (older link archive)
FHP Forest Health Protection
FHWA Federal Highway Administration (older link archive)
FHWAR National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, & Wildlife-Associated Recreation (older link archive)
FI Fertility and Infertility Branch (changed to FIB)
FIA Federal Insurance Administration (changed to FIMA) | Forest Inventory and Analysis
FIB Fertility and Infertility Branch
FIC John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences
FICAM Federal Identity, Credential, & Access Management
FICMNEW Federal Interagency Committee for the Management of Noxious and Exotic Weeds (older link archive)
FICO Financing Corporation
FIDO Federal Interagency Databases Online (unable to verify 1/17) | Forest Inventory Data Online (older link archive)
FIFRA SAP Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act Scientific Advisory Panel
FIMA Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration (older link archive)
FinCEN Financial Crimes Enforcement Network
FINCIC Financial Crisis Inquiry Commission (defunct; archived at UNT)
FIND F Interagency Network Databank (unable to verify 8/17; likely merged into ForeignAssistance.gov)
FINI Food Insecurity Nutrition Incentive (changed to GusNIP)
FIO Federal Insurance Office
FIPNet Federal Information Preservation Network (unable to verify 1/22)
FIPS Federal Information Processing Standards (older link archive; archive2)
FIPSE Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education
FIRM Flood Insurance Rate Map (older link archive; archive2)
FIRST Fatality and Injury Reporting System Tool | FOIA Immigration Records SysTem (older link archive)
FirstNet First Responder Network Authority
FIS Flood Insurance Study (older link archive)
FISC Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court
FIST Firearm Inquiry Statistics
FIT Office of Financial Innovation and Transformation (older link archive)
FITF Foreign Influence Task Force
FJC Federal Judicial Center
FJSP Federal Justice Statistics Program (older link archive)
FLA Farm Loan Analysis
FLAG Farm Loans Analysis Group | Foreign Labor Application Gateway
FLAP Federal Lands Access Program (older link archive)
FLAS Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships Program
FLASH Flooded Locations & Simulated Hydrographs
FLC Federal Laboratory Consortium | Office of Foreign Labor Certification (older link archive)
FLEO Census of Federal Law Enforcement Officers
FLERT Firefighter and Law Enforcement Retirement Team
FLETA Federal Law Enforcement Training Accreditation
FLETC Federal Law Enforcement Training Center
FLH Office of Federal Lands Highway (older link archive)
FLICC Federal Library and Information Center Committee
FLIGHT Facility Level Information on Greenhouse Gases Tool | Future Leaders in Infections and Global Health Threats
FLLI FAA Leadership & Learning Institute
FLO Family Liaison Office (changed to GCLO; older link archive)
FLOTUS First Lady of the United States (older link archive)
FLP Forest Legacy Program (older link archive; archive2)
FLPP Federal Lands Transportation Planning Program (older link archive; archive2)
FLRA Federal Labor Relations Authority
FLS Farm Labor Survey
FLTP Federal Lands Transportation Program (older link archive)
FLU Financial Litigation Unit
FMAP Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (older link archive)
FMC Federal Maritime Commission
FMCS Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
FMCSA Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
FMD Foreign Market Development Program
FMI Facilities Management Institute (older link archive; archive2)
FMIP Freight Model Improvement Program
FMLA Family and Medical Leave Act
FMMI Financial Management Modernization Initiative
FMNP Farmers Market Nutrition Program (older link archive)
FMP Federal Marketplace | Foreign Medical Program (older link archive)
FMPP Farmers Market Promotion Program
FMR Fair Market Rents | Federal Management Regulation
FMRD Fishery Monitoring & Research Division (older link archive)
FMS Financial Management Service (merged into BFS)
FMSHRC Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission
FNCS Food, Nutrition, and Consumer Services (older link archive)
FNIC Food and Nutrition Information Center (older link archive)
FNL Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research
FNMA Federal National Mortgage Association
FNRB Functional Neuroscience Research Branch (changed to INB)
FNS Food and Nutrition Service
FOD Field Operations Division
FOG Fatalities in Oil and Gas Extraction
FOH Field Operations Handbook (older link archive)
FOIA Freedom of Information Act (older link archive)
FOMC Federal Open Market Committee
FOOD Foodborne Outbreak Online Database (replaced by NORS)
FoodAPS National Household Food Acquisition and Purchase Survey
FoodNet Foodborne Diseases Active Surveillance Network
FORHP Federal Office of Rural Health Policy (older link archive)
FORT Fort Collins Science Center
FOTG Field Office Technical Guide
FOUO For Official Use Only (.pdf)
FPA Fire Program Analysis
FPAC Farm Production and Conservation
FPAR Family Planning Annual Report (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
FPB Federal Programs Branch | Finance and Performance Budgeting Division (older link archive)
FPC Federal Publishing Council | Foreign Press Centers (older link archive; archive2)
FPCO Family Policy Compliance Office (older link archive)
FPD Flight Projects Directorate
FPDS Federal Procurement Data System
FPI Federal Preservation Institute (older link archive) | Federal Prison Industries | Federal Program Inventory (inactive or defunct 9/17)
FPIC Federal Partnership for Interoperable Communications (older link archive)
FPISC Federal Permitting Improvement Steering Council
FPKI Federal Public Key Infrastructure (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
FPKIPA Federal Public Key Infrastructure Policy Authority (older link archive; archive2)
FPL Forest Products Laboratory
FPM Office of Field Policy and Management (older link archive)
FPMR Federal Property Management Regulation
FPRS Food Programs Reporting System
FPS Federal Priority Streamgages | Federal Protective Service
FPTA Fibers, Peanuts and Tobacco Analysis Group (older link archive)
FR Federal Register
FRA Federal Railroad Administration (older link archive)
FRAC Financial Research Advisory Committee
FRAMES Fire Research and Management Exchange System
FRAMEWorks Family, Relationship, and Marriage Education Works
FRASER Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
FRB Federal Reserve Board
FRC Federal Records Centers
FRCC Fire Regime Condition Class
FRCO Federal Recovery Consultant Office
FRCP Federal Recovery Coordination Program (changed to FRCO)
FRD Federal Research Division | Fisheries Resources Division (older link archive)
FRED Faciltiies and Real Estate Division (older link archive) | Federal Reserve Economic Data | Fine-Root Ecology Database
Freddie Mac Federal Home Loan Corporation
FREE Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (defunct as of 6/15)
FREE-B Food Related Emergency Exercise Bundle (older link archive)
FRESC Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center (older link archive)
FRG First Responders Group (changed to First Responder Technologies, then First Responder Capability)
FRMP Fisheries Resource Monitoring Program
FRPC Federal Real Property Council (older link archive)
FRPP Farm and Ranch Lands Protection Program (older link archive)
FRPP MS Federal Real Property Profile Management System
FRPS Federal Reserve Payments Study
FRRCC Farm, Ranch, and Rural Communities Committee
FRS Facility Registry Service (older link archive) | Federal Reserve System | Federal Relay Service (changed to FedRelay; older link archive)
FRSAN Farm and Ranch Stress Assistance Network
FRSS Fast Response Survey System
FRTEP Federally Recognized Tribes Extension Program
FRTIB Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board
FRTR Federal Remediation Technologies Roundtable
FRUS Foreign Relations of the United States
FS Forest Service (older link archive)
FSA Farm Service Agency | Office of Federal Student Aid
FSAFEDS Federal Flexible Spending Account
FSANS Food Safety and Nutrition Survey
FSAP Federal Select Agent Program
FSB Federal Subsistence Board | Fisheries Sampling Branch (changed to Fisheries Monitoring Operations Branch; older link archive)
FSC Forensic Science Center (older link archive)
FSCS Full-Service Community Schools program
FSD Federal Service Desk (older link archive)
FSDO Flight Standards District Offices
FSEOG Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (older link archive)
FSG Food Service Guidelines
FSGB Foreign Service Grievance Board (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
FSI Foreign Service Institute (older link archive)
FSIC Food Safety Information Center (changed to FSRIO)
FSIDP Foreign Service Impasse Disputes Panel
FSIMS Flight Standards Information Management System
FSIP Federal Service Impasses Panel (older link archive)
FSIS Food Safety and Inspection Service
FSME Federal and State Materials and Environmental Management (unable to verify 10/14)
FSO Fermi Site Office (older link archive)
FSOC Financial Stability Oversight Council (older link archive)
FSP Food Stamp Program (changed to SNAP) | Fundamental Science Practices (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
FSRDC Federal Statistical Research Data Centers
FSRG Food Surveys Research Group (older link archive)
FSRIO Food Safety Research Information Office (older link archive; archive2)
FSRS FFATA Subaward Reporting System
FSS Family Self-Sufficiency Program (older link archive) | Field Support System | Food Safety Survey
FSSI Federal Strategic Sourcing Initiative (older link archive; archive2)
FSWG President's Food Safety Working Group (inactive or defunct 1/17, WH transition)