Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: W

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

W

W&I Wage and Investment Division (older link archive)
WAIC Water and Agriculture Information Center (older link archive)
WALS Wednesday Afternoon Lecture Series
WAMS Women and Minorities in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Fields Grant Program (older link archive)
WAOB World Agricultural Outlook Board (older link archive)
WAPA Western Area Power Administration
WARC Wetland and Aquatic Research Center (older link archive)
WARM Waste Reduction Model
WARP Watershed Regressions for Pesticides (unable to verify 5/20; replaced by NWIS)
WASDE World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates Report (older link archive)
WASH Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene
WaSSI Water Supply Stress Index (older link archive)
WATERS Watershed Assessment, Tracking & Environmental Results
WaterSMART Water Sustain and Manage America's Resources for Tomorrow
WAUSP Water Availability and Use Science Program (older link archive)
WB Women's Bureau (older link archive)
WBC Women's Business Centers (older link archive; archive2)
WBP Water Bank Program
WCATWC West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center
WCB Wireline Competition Bureau
WCE Well Control Equipment Reporting
WCFSP Water Conservation Field Services Program
WCI Weapons and Complex Integration
WCIT Water Containment Information Tool (older link archive)
WCR Well Control Final Rule | NOAA West Coast Region (older link archive)
WD Wage Determinations (older link archive; archive2)
WDOL Wage Determinations OnLine (discontinued 6/19; merged into beta.sam.gov)
WDPB Waterborne Disease Prevention Branch
WDR Water Data Reports
WDTS Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists (older link archive)
WE3 Women's Economic Empowerment and Equality
WEA Wireless Emergency Alerts
WECD Watershed and Ecosystem Characterization Division
WED Western Ecology Division (changed to PESD; older link archive)
WEEG Water and Energy Efficiency Grants
WellBQ Worker Well-Being Questionnaire
WEP Water and Environmental Programs (unable to verify 3/15) | Windfall Elimination Provision
WEPP Watershed Erosion Prediction Project (older link archive)
WERC Western Ecological Research Center
WETT Water-Energy Tech Team (changed to Energy-Water Nexus Crosscut Team)
WFEC Wildland Fire Executive Council (terminated, but website still available)
WFF Wallops Flight Facility
WFIRST Wide-Field Infrared Survey Telescope (changed to Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope)
WFIT Wildland Fire Information and Technology
WFLC Wildland Fire Leadership Council
WFMRDA Wildland Fire Management, Research, Development & Application (older link archive)
WFO IPCIS Washington Field Office Infrastructure Protection and Computer Intrusion Squad
WFPO Watershed and Flood Prevention Operations Program
WFRC Western Fisheries Research Center
WFRS Water Fluoridation Reporting System
WF TCP Wilson-Fish Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Coordination Program (older link archive)
WFW Watershed, Fish, Wildlife, Air & Rare Plants program (changed to WFWARP; older link archive)
WFWARP Watershed, Fish, Wildlife, Air & Rare Plants program
WGSC Western Geographic Science Center
WH White House
WH&B National Wild Horse and Burro Program (older link archive; archive2)
WHA Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs (older link archive)
WHATIF Watershed Health Assessment Tools Investigating Fisheries
WHC Worker Health Charts
WHCNAA White House Council on Native American Affairs
WHD Wage and Hour Division (older link archive)
WHEJAC White House Environmental Justice Advisory Council (older link archive)
WHIAAPI White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (older link archive)
WHIP Wildfires and Hurricanes Indemnity Program | Wildlife Habitat Incentive Program (older link archive)
WHISPers Wildlife Health Information Sharing Partnership (older link archive)
WHMO White House Military Office (older link archive)
WHNRC Western Human Nutrition Research Center
WHOUA White House Office of Urban Affairs (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
WHP Office of Western Hemisphere Programs (unable to verify 6/19) | Workplace Health Program
WHTCC White House Transition Coordinating Council (unable to verify 2/18)
WHTI Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative
WHUSA Women's Health USA (older link archive)
WIC Women, Infants and Children, Special supplemental food program for
WID Water Infrastructure Division
WILD Wind-Wildlife Impacts Literature Database (unable to verify 1/20)
WIN Weight-control Information Network (unable to verify 2/20; older link archive)
WiNS Women in Neutron Sciences
WIP Weatherization and Intergovernmental Programs Office
WIPP Waste Isolation Pilot Plant
WIRFC Water Infrastructure and Resiliency Finance Center
WIS Well Information System
WISE Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer
WISER Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
WISEWOMAN Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for WOMen Across the Nation
WISQARS Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System
WLA Water Laboratory Alliance
WLCI Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative
WLL Wirtz Labor Library (older link archive)
WMA Water Resources Mission Area
WMDT Office of Weapons of Mass Destruction Terrorism (older link archive)
WMEAT World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers (older link archive; archive2)
WMGBP Webless Migratory Game Bird Program
WMOST Watershed Management Optimization Support Tool (older link archive)
WMU Web Manager University (changed to DGU)
WNC World News Connection (defunct)
WND Wireless Networks Division (older link archive)
WNET Women's Network for Entrepreneurial Training (defunct)
WNGSR Weekly Natural Gas Storage Report
WOA World Ocean Atlas (older link archive)
WoCRn Women of Color Research Network (older link archive; archive2)
WOD World Ocean Database (older link archive)
WONDER Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research
WoRLD Work-Related Lung Disease Surveillance System (changed to eWORLD)
WOSB Women-Owned Small Businesses (older link archive; archive2)
WOTC Work Opportunity Tax Credit (older link archive)
WOTUS Waters of the United States (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
WOW Workers Owed Wages
WPAC Whistleblower Protection Advisory Committee (terminated 4/18; older link archive)
WPC Weather Prediction Center
WPO Weather Program Office
WPOFCU Wheat, Peanut, and Other Field Crops Research Unit
WPS Wireless Priority Service (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
WPSAR Western Pacific Stock Assessment Review (older link archive)
WPSR Weekly Petroleum Status Report
WQIC Water Quality Information Center (changed to WAIC)
WQP Water Quality Portal
WQX Water Quality Exchange (older link archive; archive2)
WR OSMRE Western Region (unable to verify 4/22)
WRA Office of Weapons Removal and Abatement (older link archive)
WRACCW Water Resources Adaptation to Climate Change Workgroup
WRB Water Rights Program and Branch (older link archive)
WRCC Western Regional Climate Center
WRD Water Resources Division
WREN Working Together to Resolve Environmental Effects of Wind Energy
WRIVA Walk-through Rendering from Images of Varying Altitude
WRN Weather-Ready Nation (older link archive)
WRP Wetlands Reserve Program (older link archive) | Workforce Recruitment Program (older link archive; archive2)
WRRC Western Regional Research Center
WRRI State Water Resources Research Institute
WRT Wholesale and Retail Trade Program
WS Wildlife Services
WSA Wadeable Streams Assessment
WSCC Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child
WSFR Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration (older link archive; archive2)
WSIO Watershed Index Online
WSP Witness Security Program | Work Stoppages Program
WSR Wild and Scenic Rivers
WSRD IWG Wireless Spectrum Interagency Working Group (older link archive)
WSS Web Soil Survey
WTB Wireless Telecommunications Bureau (older link archive)
WTC World Trade Center Health Program
WTO World Trade Organization
WUI Wildland Urban Interface
WWC What Works Clearinghouse
WWEC West-wide Energy Corridor Information Center
WWEIA What We Eat in America (older link archive)
WYO Write Your Own Program