Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: D

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

D

D3 Downloadable Dynamometer Database (older link archive)
DA Directorate of Analysis
DAACs Distributed Active Archive Centers (older link archive)
DAAAP Division of Anesthesia, Analgesia, and Addiction Products (changed to DAAP; older link archive; archive2)
DAAP Division of Anesthesiology, Addiction Medicine, and Pain Medicine
DAAT DHS Acronyms, Abbreviations, and Terms
DAB Departmental Appeals Board | Division of Aging Biology
DACA Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
DACOWITS Defense Advisory Committee on Women in the Services
DACS Division of Acquisition and Cooperative Support
DAIDS Division of AIDS
DAIT Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation
DALTCP Office of Disability, Aging, and Long-Term Care Policy (changed to BHDAP)
DAP Digital Analytics Program (older link archive) | Donations Acceptance Program
DAPA Deferred Action for Parents of Americans and Lawful Permanent Residents (older link archive)
DAR Division of AIDS Research
DARA Data Aggregation Reference Architecture (unable to verify 11/17)
DARRP Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Program
DARS Division of Applied Regulatory Science
DART Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (older link archive; archive2) | Deep-ocean Assessment and Reporting of Tsunamis
DAS Data and Analytical Solutions Division (unable to verify 4/20; older link archive)
DASH Division of Adolescent and School Health
DASIS Drug and Alcohol Services Information System
DATIM Design and Analysis Toolkit for Inventory and Monitoring
DAWN Drug Abuse Warning Network (older link archive)
DB Dermatology Branch (unable to verify 10/17)
DBB Defense Business Board
DBD Division of Bacterial Diseases
DBE Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program
dbGaP Database of Genotype and Phenotype
DBGT Developmental Biology, Genetics & Teratology Branch (unable to verify 12/12)
DBI Division of Biological Infrastructure
DBLS Office of Davis Bacon and Labor Standards
dbMHC Database of Major Histocompatibility Complex (discontinued; data available via ftp)
DBNBR Division of Basic Neuroscience and Behavioral Research (merged into DNB)
DBP Discretionary Bridge Program
DBPR Division of Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response (unable to verify 3/13)
DBRUP Division of Bone, Reproductive, and Urologic Products (unable to verify 5/20)
DBS Demographic & Behavioral Sciences Branch (changed to PDB) | Division of Behavioral Surveillance (unable to verify 6/14)
dbSNP Database of Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms
DBSR Division of Behavioral and Social Research
DBSVB Developmental Biology and Structural Variation Branch
dbVAR Database of Genomic Structural Variation
DDA Difficult Development Areas
DDD Division of Dermatology and Dentistry
DDDP Division of Dermatology and Dental Products (changed to DDD)
DDE DOE Data Explorer
DDETFP Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (older link archive)
DDH Disaster Distress Helpline
DDHS Delta Development Highway System (unable to verify 7/17)
DDI Directorate of Digital Innovation | Division of Drug Information (older link archive; archive2)
DDID Deputy Director for Infectious Diseases
DDLO Division of Diabetes, Lipid Disorders, and Obesity
DDN Division of Digestive Diseases and Nutrition
DDOC Division of Digital and Online Communications
DDOR Declined Detainer Outcome Report (changed to Declined Detainer Report)
DDP Data Download Program
DDPHSS Deputy Director for Public Health Science and Surveillance
DDT Division of Diabetes Translation
DDTC Directorate of Defense Trade Controls (older link archive)
DDTP Division of Diabetes Treatment and Prevention
DEA Division of Extramural Activities | Drug Enforcement Administration
DEALS Division of Epidemiology, Analysis, and Library Services (absorbed into DPHID)
DEB Division of Environmental Biology
DEBA Digital Economy Board of Advisors
DEC Departmental Enforcement Center (older link archive)
DECA Division of Epidemiology and Clinical Applications (older link archive)
DECRM Division of Environmental and Cultural Resources Management (changed to BECRM; older link archive)
DECRS Drug Establishments Current Registration Site (older link archive)
DED Deferred Enforced Departure (older link archive) | Division of Economic Development (older link archive)
DEEB Disease Eradication and Elimination Branch (unable to verify 6/15)
DEEOIC Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation
DEHS Division of Environmental Health Services
DEHSP Division of Environmental Health Science and Practice
DEI Division of Economic Independence
DELTA Domestic Violence Prevention Enhancements and Leadership Through Alliances program (older link archive)
DELTA FOCUS Domestic Violence Prevention Enhancements and Leadership Through Alliances, Focusing on Outcomes for Communities United with States
DEM Digital Elevation Models (older link archive) | Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolic Diseases
DEMD Division of Energy and Mineral Development (older link archive)
DEO CDC Division of Emergency Operations (older link archive)
DEOB Diabetes, Endocrinology and Obesity Branch (older link archive)
DEP Directorate of Enforcement Programs (older link archive)
DEPORT Detention Enforcement and Processing Offenders by Remote Technology
DER Division of Extramural Research (NICHD) | Division of Extramural Research (NIDA)
DERA Division of Economic and Risk Analysis
DERS Data Element Registry Services
DERT Division of Extramural Reseach & Training
DESPR Division of Epidemiology, Services and Prevention Research |
Division of Epidemiology, Statistics and Prevention Research (changed to DIPHR)
DFA Director of U.S. Foreign Assistance (older link archive; archive2)
DFAST Dodd-Frank Act Stress Test (older link archive)
DFB Denial of Federal Benefits Program (older link archive)
DFC U.S. International Development Finance Corporation | Drug-Free Communities (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
DFCS Division of Family and Consumer Sciences
DfE Design for the Environment
DFEC Division of Federal Employees' Compensation
DFM Division of Financial Management
DFMC Division of Facilities Management and Construction (older link archive)
DFS Division of Family Strengthening (older link archive)
DFWED Division of Foodborne, Waterborne, and Environmental Diseases
DG Division of Gastroenterology
DGA Dietary Guidelines for Americans (older link archive) | Division of Grants and Agreements
DGCG Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology
DGE Division of General Endocrinology | Division of Graduate Education
DGHA Division of Global HIV/AIDS (changed to DGHT)
DGHP Division of Global Health Protection (older link archive)
DGHT Division of Global HIV & TB (older link archive)
DGIEP Division of Gastroenterology and Inborn Errors Products (changed to DG)
DGMQ Division of Global Migration and Quarantine
DGU DigitalGov University (older link archive)
DHAC Division of Health Assessment and Consultation (changed to DCHI)
DHAP Disaster Housing Assistance Program (older link archive) | Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
DHC Division of Health Communications (changed to DPEO)
DHCPP Division of High-Consequence Pathogens and Pathology
DHDS Disability and Health Data System
DHDSP Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
DHIS Division of Health Informatics and Surveillance (older link archive)
DHN Division of Hepatology and Nutrition
DHQP Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion
DHS Department of Homeland Security
DHS TRIP Department of Homeland Security’s Travel Redress Inquiry Program
DHS VINE Department of Homeland Security Victim Information Notification Exchange
DI Directorate of Intelligence (changed to DA)
DIAS Division of Institution and Award Support
DIC Division of International Conservation (unable to verify 8/17)
DICE Division of Industry and Consumer Education (older link archivee)
DIEA Division of Internal Evaluation and Assessment (older link archive)
DIEPD Division of Indian Energy Policy Development (unable to verify 11/16; likely changed to DEMD)
DIF Deposit Insurance Fund
DIHS Division of International Health Security
DIME Database for Incentives and Joint Marketing Exchange
DIMRC Disaster Information Management Research Center (older link archive)
DINAP Division of Indian and Native American Programs (older link archive)
DIPHR Division of Intramural Population Health Research
DIPPC Division of Informatics Practice, Policy and Coordination (unable to verify 6/14)
DIR Division of Intramural Research
DIRLINE Directory of Information Resources Online (discontinued)
DIRP Division of Intramural Research Programs (unable to verify 12/15)
DIS Decision and Information Sciences Division (changed to GSS) | Division of Information Systems
DIVER Data Integration Visualization Exploration and Reporting (older link archive)
DLHWC Division of Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation Program
DLMF Digital Library of Mathematical Functions
DLP Dairy, Livestock and Poultry Division (unable to verify 12/13)
DLPSS Division of Laboratory Programs, Standards, and Services (changed to DLS)
DLR Division of Loan Repayment
DLS Division of Laboratory Sciences | Division of Laboratory Systems (older link archive)
DLT Distance Learning and Telemedicine Program
DMA Division of Management Authority
DMC Disproportionate Minority Contact (older link archive)
DMEP Division of Metabolism and Endocrinology Products (older link archive; archive2)
DMG Desert Managers Group (unable to verify 7/17)
DMID Division of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
DMIP Division of Medical Imaging Products (changed to DMIRM)
DMIRM Division of Medical Imaging and Radiation Medicine
DMO Division of Market Oversight
DMR Discharge Monitoring Report (older link archive) | Division of Materials Research
DMS Debt Management Services (older link archive) | Division of Mathematical Sciences
DMSP Defense Meteorological Satellite Program
DMV Diplomatic Motor Vehicle Program (older link archive)
DN Division of Neuroscience
DN I Division of Neurology I
DN II Division of Neurology II
DNB Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (older link archive)
DNBBS Division of Neuroscience and Basic Behavioral Science
DNC Digital Nautical Chart (older link archive)
DNDHI Division of Notifiable Diseases and Healthcare Information (unable to verify 6/14)
DNDO Domestic Nuclear Detection Office
DNFSB Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board
DNH Division of Non-Malignant Hematology
DNI Director of National Intelligence (also, ODNI)
DNP Division of Neurology Products (split into DN I and DN II; older link archive; archive2) | Do Not Pay Business Center (older link archive)
DNPAO Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
DNS Office of Defense Nuclear Security (older link archive)
DO Directorate of Operations | Division of Ophthalmology
DOC Department of Commerce | Division of Online Communications (changed to DDOC)
DOCR Departmental Office of Civil Rights
DOD Department of Defense (older link archive)
DOD SIOO Department of Defense Senior Intelligence Oversight Official
DOE Department of Energy | Division of Enforcement
DOH Division of Oral Health (older link archive)
DOI Department of the Interior
DOIU Department of the Interior University
DOJ Department of Justice
DOL Department of Labor
DOQ Data, Outcomes, and Quality (unable to verify 12/18; likely replaced by SAMHSA Data and Dissemination)
DOS Department of State
DoT Division of Transplantation
DOT Department of Transportation
DOT | TRCC DOT Traffic Records Coordinating Committee
DP Division of Psychiatry
DPACC Division of Pulmonology, Allergy and Critical Care
DPARP Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, and Rheumatology Products (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
DPC Domestic Policy Council (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
DPCLD Defense Privacy and Civil Liberties Division
DPCLO Defense Privacy and Civil Liberties Office (changed to DPCLD)
DPCPSI Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives
DPDM Division of Parasitic Diseases and Malaria
DPEI Division of Preparedness and Emerging Infections
DPEO Division of Public Education and Outreach
DPFD Defense Procurement Fraud Debarment Clearinghouse (older link archive)
DPH Division of Population Health
DPHCD Division of Public Health Capacity Development (unable to verify 12/12)
DPHID Division of Public Health Information Dissemination (unable to verify 12/19; older link archive)
DPHPI Division of Public Health Performance Improvement (unable to verify 12/18; likely changed to Division of Performance Improvement and Field Services)
DPHSWD Division of Public Health Systems and Workforce Development (changed to DGHP)
DPIAC Data Privacy and Integrity Advisory Committee
DPL Denied Persons List
DPM Division of Payment Management (older link archive)
DPMCDA Division of Pharmacotherapies and Medical Consequences of Drug Abuse (changed to DTMC)
DPMH Division of Pediatric and Maternal Health (older link archive)
DPOE Digital Preservation Outreach and Education
DPP Division of Psychiatry Products (changed to DP; older link archive; archive2)
DPRP Diabetes Prevention Recognition Program (older link archive)
DPS Division of Program Statistics
DPT-II Division of Pharm-Tox for Immunology and Inflammation
DRA Delta Regional Authority
DRAGON Delta Research and Global Observation Network (unable to verify 11/18)
DRBC Delaware River Basin Commission
DRC Disaster Recovery Center
DRDMG Division of Rare Diseases and Medical Genetics
DRECP Desert Renewable Energy Conservation Plan
DRG Center Center of Excellence on Democracy, Human Rights and Governance
DRGR Disaster Recovery Grant Reporting
DRH Division of Reproductive Health (older link archive)
DRIVe Division of Research, Innovation, and Ventures
DRL Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor (older link archive) | Division of Research on Learning in Formal and Informal Settings
DRM Detention and Removal Management (unable to verify 12/13)
DRTM Division of Rheumatology and Transplant Medicine
DS Bureau of Diplomatic Security (older link archive) | Directorate of Support
DS&T Directorate of Science and Technology
DSA Dairy and Sweeteners Analysis | Division of Scientific Authority
DSAC Domestic Security Alliance Council
DSAT Division of Select Agents and Toxins (older link archive)
DSB Drug Safety Oversight Board (older link archive; archive2)
DSCOVR Deep Space Climate Observatory
DSCRTP Deep Sea Coral Research and Technology Program
DSEP Data Stewardship Executive Policy
DSEPD Division of Scientific Education and Professional Development (older link archive)
DSID Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database
DSIMS Depository Selection Information Management System
DSIO Division of Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight
DSIR Division of Services and Intervention Research
DSLD Dietary Supplement Label Database (older link archive)
DSLR Division of State and Local Readiness (older link archive)
DSMP Deployment Stress Management Program
DSNetwork Detention Services Network (older link archive)
DSNS Division of Strategic National Stockpile (changed to SNS; older link archive)
DSO Duck Stamp Office (older link archive)
DSP Division of Special Populations (changed to OHE)
DSR Division of Scientific Resources | Division of Scientific Review (changed to SRB)
DSRM Division of Safety and Risk Management (older link archive)
DSS Bureau of Diplomatic Security (older link archive) | Domestic Security Section (merged into HRSP) | Drug Shortages Staff (older link archive)
DSSTox Distributed Structure-Searchable Toxicity Database
DSTAC Direct Service Tribes Advisory Committee
DSTDP Division of STD Prevention