Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: A

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

A

21CW Office of the 21st Century Workforce (unable to verify)
3CT Climate Change Communication Toolkit
3DEP 3D Elevation Program (older link archive; archive2)
AAA Archives of American Art
AAB Agency Assistance Branch (older link archive)
AABS Annual Arts Basic Survey (unable to verify 10/20)
AAD Access to Archival Databases
AADAP Aquatic Animal Drug Approval Partnership (older link archive; archive2)
AAG Assistant Attorney General
AAI Argonne Accelerator Institute (older link archive; archive2)
AAM Office of Aerospace Medicine
AAO Administrative Appeals Office (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
AAP Advance Acquisition Plan (unable to verify 10/20; older link archive)
AAPC Accounting and Auditing Policy Committee
AAPI Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (unable to verify 2/21; older link archive)
AAQTF Agricultural Air Quality Task Force
AAS Office of Airport Safety and Standards
AAVP Advanced Air Vehicles Program
AAWU Alaska Aviation Weather Unit (older link archive)
ABA Acquisitions and Bibliographic Access Directorate
ABADRU Arthropod-borne Animal Disease Research Unit
ABAWDS Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents (older link archive)
ABC At Risk Individuals, Behavioral Health, and Community Resilience
ABCC Advanced Biomedical Computing Center (changed to ABCS)
ABCD Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development Study (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4; archive5)
ABCs Active Bacterial Core surveillance
ABCS Advanced Biomedical Computational Science
ABES Adolescent Behaviors and Experiences Survey
ABIC Agriculture Business Innovation Center
ABLES Adult Blood Lead Epidemiology & Surveillance
ABMC American Battle Monuments Commission
ABOR AbilityOne Representative
ABPP American Battlefield Protection Program (older link archive) | Authorized Bulk Purchase Program
ABS Annual Business Survey
AC Animal Care
AC4 Atmospheric Chemistry, Carbon Cycle, & Climate (older link archive)
ACA Affordable Care Act
ACC Assistance to Coal Communities
ACCE Airborne Cloud Computing Environment (unable to verify 2/21)
ACCESS Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science
ACCLPP Advisory Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention (older link archive)
ACCSH Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health (older link archive)
ACCV Advisory Commission on Childhood Vaccines (older link archive)
ACD Advanced Counterfeit Deterrence (older link archive; archive2) | Advisory Committee to the Director | Applied Cybersecurity Division
ACDDE Advisory Committee on Diversity and Digital Empowerment (changed to CEDC)
ACDEB Advisory Committee on Data for Evidence Building
ACE Academic Center of Excellence (changed to YVPCs) | Advanced Composition Explorer |
Adverse Childhood Experiences (older link archive) | Aerosols, Clouds, Ecosystems (unable to verify 5/20) | Affordable Clean Energy | America's Children and the Environment (older link archive) | Assess Costs Everywhere | Assessment of Chemical Exposures Program | Automated Commercial Environment (older link archive)
ACEC Areas of Critical Environmental Concern (older link archive)
ACEP Agricultural Conservation Easement Program
ACES Active Community Environments Initiative (unable to verify) | Annual Capital Expenditures Survey
ACESD Atlantic Coastal Environmental Sciences Division
ACF Administration for Children and Families | Analytical Control Facility
ACFR Administrative Committee of the Federal Register
ACFRC Advisory Committee on Family Residential Centers (unable to verify 2/21)
ACH Automated Clearing House
ACHP Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
ACI Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (changed to OAC)
ACIP Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
ACIS Animal Care Information System (unavailable as of 8/16)
ACL Administration for Community Living | Analytical Chemistry Laboratory (unable to verify 12/17)
ACMAP Atmospheric Composition Modeling and Analysis Program
ACMD Applied and Computational Mathematics Division | Applied Chemicals and Materials Division
ACMUI Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes
ACO REACH Accountable Care Organization Realizing Equity, Access, and Community Health
ACOs Aircraft Certification Offices
ACPAC Aviation Consumer Protection Advisory Committee
ACPD Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy (older link archive) | Aviation Consumer Protection Division
AcqNet Acquisition Central
ACRES Assessment, Cleanup and Redevelopment Exchange System (older link archive; archive2)
ACRGP Airport Coronavirus Response Grant Program
ACRS Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
ACS American Community Survey | Office of American Citizens Services and Crisis Management (unable to verify 6/20)
ACS-ED American Community Survey Education Tabulation
ACSFA Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance (defunct)
ACSL Adaptive Cropping Systems Laboratory (older link archive)
ACSNCA Advisory Committee for the Sustained National Climate Assessment (also, SNCAFAC; defunct 8/17)
ACT-America Atmospheric Carbon and Transport - America (older link archive)
ACTION II Accelerating Change and Transformation in Organizations and Networks II (older link archive)
ACTIV Accelerating COVID-19 Therapeutic Interventions and Vaccines
ACTIV TRACE ACTIV Tracking Resistance and Coronavirus Evolution
ACToR Aggregated Computational Toxicology Online Resource (unable to verify 12/21)
ACTR Air Travel Consumer Reports
ACU Animal Care and Use (changed to OACU)
ACUS Administrative Conference of the United States
ACVP AIDS and Cancer Virus Program (site now requires login)
ACWI Advisory Committee on Water Information
ACWS Advisory Committee for Women's Services (older link archive; archive2)
ACWV Advisory Committee on Women Veterans
ACYF Administration on Children, Youth, and Families
AD Auctions Division
ADA Americans with Disabilities Act (Text of ADA legislation)
ADAMS Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (older link archive)
ADC Program Against Digital Counterfeiting of Currency (changed to ACD)
ADD Administration on Developmental Disabilities (changed to AIDD)
ADDM Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring Network
ADDS Aviation Digital Data Service
ADEAR Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center (older link archive)
ADEPP Aging and Disability Evidence-Based Programs and Practices
ADF African Development Foundation
ADHS Appalachian Development Highway System (older link archive)
ADL Advanced Distributed Learning
ADMA Associate Director for Military Affairs (unable to verify)
ADPI Alzheimer’s Disease Programs Initiative
ADR Interagency Alternative Dispute Resolution Working Group
ADRO Alternative Dispute Resolution Office (older link archive)
ADS-B Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (older link archive)
ADTF Accelerator Development & Test Facility
AEAP Antiterrorism and Emergency Assistance Program (older link archive)
AED Aircraft Evaluation Division
AEDI Appalachia Economic Development Initiative
AEED Atmospheric, Earth, and Energy Division (older link archive)
AEG Aircraft Evaluation Groups (changed to AED)
AEGL Acute Exposure Guideline Levels Program
AEO Annual Energy Outlook | Applied Economics Office | Arctic Energy Office
AERC Agriculture Economics and Rural Communities (older link archive)
AES APS Engineering Support Division | Automated Export System (older link archive)
AESC Arctic Executive Steering Committee
AESMD Atmospheric and Environmental Systems Modeling Division
AF Bureau of African Affairs (older link archive)
AFC American Folklife Center
AFCARS Adoption and Foster Care Reporting and Analysis System (older link archive)
AFDC Aid to Families with Dependent Children (changed to TANF) | Alternative Fuels Data Center
AFF American FactFinder (replaced by data.census.gov) | Automated Flight Following
AFFH Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing (older link archive)
AFFHT Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing Data and Mapping Tool
AFG Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program (older link archive)
AFI Assets for Independence
AFM Administrative & Financial Management
AFMD Acquisition and Facilities Management Division (older link archive)
AFMER Annual Firearms Manufacturers And Export Report (older link archive)
AFMLS Asset Forfeiture and Money Laundering Section (changed to MLARS)
AFMS Asset Forfeiture Management Staff
AFMSS Automated Fluid Minerals Support System
AFP Asset Forfeiture Program
AFPS American Forces Press Service (merged into DoD News)
AFRH Armed Forces Retirement Home
AFRI Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (older link archive)
AFRPS Animal Feed Regulatory Program Standards (older link archive; archive2)
AFS Air Facility System (unable to verify 2/16) | Armed Forces Sports
AFSC Alaska Fisheries Science Center (older link archive)
AFSIC Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (older link archive)
AFSP Alien Flight Student Program (older link archive) | Annual Filing Season Program
AFSS Animal Feed Safety System (older link archive)
AG2PI Agricultural Genome to Phenome Initiative (older link archive)
AGDC Alaska Geospatial Data Clearinghouse (discontinued)
AgFF Agriculture, Forestry, and Fishing Program
AGID AGing, Independence, and Disability Program Data Portal (changed from AGing Integrated Database 11/19) site down/technical issues 4/22
AGIL Animal Genomics and Improvement Laboratory (older link archive)
AGO Acquisition and Grants Office, NOAA (older link archive; archive2) | America's Great Outdoors Initiative (unable to verify 9/15)
AGRICOLA Agricultural OnLine Access
AGS Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
AgVets Enhancing Agricultural Opportunities for Military Veterans Program (older link archive)
AGWA Automated Geospatial Watershed Assessment (older link archive)
AHAR Annual Homeless Assessment Report (older link archive)
AHAW America's Heroes at Work (unable to verify 2/19)
AHCPR Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (changed to AHRQ)
AHDR Animal Health and Disease Research Capacity Program
AHEAD America’s HIV Epidemic Analysis Dashboard
AHEC Area Health Education Centers (older link archive)
AHHS American Healthy Homes Survey
AHPP Alternative Housing Pilot Program (unable to verify 8/20)
AHPS Advanced Hydrologic Prediction Service
AHRC Advanced Housing Research Center
AHRF Area Health Resource Files (older link archive; archive2)
AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHS American Housing Survey
AIA Agriculture Innovation Agenda
AICC Alaska Interagency Coordination Center
AID Agency for International Development
AIDD Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (older link archive)
AIDS Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (older link archive)
AIEO American Indian Environmental Office
AILO American Indian Liaison Office (changed to ONAA)
AIM Aeronomy of Ice in the Mesosphere
AIP Airport Improvement Program | Animal Improvement Program (older link archive) | Arctic Investigations Program
AIPD Artificial Intelligence Patent Dataset
AIR Aircraft Certification Service
AirMSPI Airborne Multi-angle SpectroPolarimeter Imager
AIRR American Indian Records Repository
AIRS Aerometric Information Retrieval System (changed to AFS)
AIS Automatic Identification System
AITC Agriculture in the Classroom Program (older link archive)
AITO Artificial Intelligence & Technology Office (older link archive)
AK CASC Alaska Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
AK CSC Alaska Climate Science Center (changed to AK CASC)
AL Aerosol Laboratory
ALAC Agricultural Labor Affairs Coordinator (older link archive)
ALCC Arctic Landscape Conservation Cooperative (unable to verify 12/21)
ALCF Argonne Leadership Computing Facility
ALCP Assisted Living Conversion Program (older link archive)
ALEX Argonne Liquid Metal Experiment Facility
ALFD Advertising, Labeling and Formulation Division (older link archive)
ALFRED Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data
ALIC Archives Library Information Center
A/LM Office of Logistics Management
ALOHA Areal Locations of Hazardous Atmospheres
ALP Accelerating Local Potential
ALS Academic Libraries Survey | Advanced Light Source
ALTBIB Alternatives to Animal Testing Bibliography (older link archive; archive2)
AMA Agricultural Management Assistance Program
AMB Administrative Management Branch | Assimilation and Modeling Branch (unable to verify 8/17)
AMBER America’s Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response (older link archive)
AMCD Air Methods and Characterization Division
AMCG Office of Acquisitions Management, Contracts and Grants (unable to verify 1/22)
AMD Advanced Molecular Detection
AME Aviation Medical Examiner
AMED African and Middle Eastern Division
AMES Ames Laboratory
AMEWS Advanced Materials for Energy-Water Systems Center
AMH America's Marine Highway Program (older link archive)
AMJP Aviation Manufacturing Jobs Protection Program
AML Abandoned Mine Lands | Abandoned Mineral Lands
AMNPO Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office (older link archive)
AMO Advanced Manufacturing Office | Air and Marine Operations
AMP Accelerating Medicines Partnership
AMPD Air Markets Program Data
AMR Antimicrobial Resistance programs
AMS Agricultural Marketing Service
AMSO Ames Site Office (older link archive)
AMT Alternative Minimum Tax (older link archive)
AMTech Advanced Manufacturing Technology Consortia
AMTIC Ambient Monitoring Technology Information Center
AMTL Advanced Mobility Technology Laboratory
Amtrak National Railroad Passenger Corporation
ANA Administration for Native Americans
ANAWG APHIS Native American Working Group
ANCHOR Automated NonContact Hydrologic Observation in Rivers
ANDI Accessible Name & Description Inspector
ANES Advanced Nuclear Energy System
ANL Argonne National Laboratory
ANNH Alaska Native-Serving and Native Hawaiian-Serving Institutions Education Competitive Grants Program (older link archive)
ANS Aquatic Nuisance Species
ANSS Advanced National Seismic System (older link archive; archive2)
ANSTF Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force (older link archive; archive2)
ANTD Advanced Network Technologies Division (unable to verify 4/22)
AO Administrative Office of U.S. Courts | Agricultural Outlook (discontinued ) | Arctic Oscillation
AOA Administration on Aging (older link archive)
AOC Architect of the Capitol
AoD Administration on Disabilities (older link archive) | Aviation and Operations Division
AOIMSG Airborne Object Identification and Management Synchronization Group
AOML Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory
A/OPE Office of the Procurement Executive
AOSP Airspace Operations and Safety Program
AOSSP Aircraft Operator Standard Security Program
AOTUS Archivist of the United States (older link archive)
AP U.S. Additional Protocol
APAD Advanced Planning and Analysis Division (unable to verify 6/15)
APB CJIS Advisory Policy Board
APC Automated Passport Control
APCD All Payer Claims Databases (older link archive; archive2)
APCF Advanced Protein Characterization Facility
APD Tribal Advance Planning Document
APEC Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (unable to verify 2/21; older link archive)
APFO Aerial Photography Field Office (changed to GEO)
APHIS Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
APIS Advanced Passenger Information System (older link archive) | Alcohol Policy Information System
APLAA Office of Asian Pacific, Latin American, and African Analysis (unable to verify 1/17)
APOD Astronomy Picture of the Day
APP Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (older link archive) | Apex Predators Program (older link archive) | Appellate Section | Office of Airport Planning and Programming
APPEL Academy of Program/Project & Engineering Leadership
APT Alcohol Policy Taxonomy
APRHB Air Pollution and Respiratory Health Branch (unable to verify 1/20)
APS Advanced Photon Source
APTF Advanced Placement Test Fee (older link archive)
APTI Air Pollution Training Institute (older link archive)
AQA Air Quality Analysis
AQI Agricultural Quarantine Inspection | Air Quality Index
AQIP Air Quality Implementation Plans
AQS Air Quality System
ARB Administrative Review Board (older link archive) | Animal Resources Branch (replaced by CMB)
ARC Administrative Resource Center (older link archive) | Agriculture Risk Coverage | Appalachian Regional Commission | Applied Research Center (unable to verify 10/21) | Arctic Report Card
ARCIS Archives and Records Centers Information System
ARC/PLC Agriculture Risk Coverage/Price Loss Coverage Program
ARCTAS Arctic Research of the Composition of the Troposphere from Aircraft and Satellites
ARCTIC U.S. Arctic Research Commission (also, USARC)
ARC-X Climate Change Adaptation Resource Center
ARD Air Resources Division | Arrest-Related Deaths
ARDI Alcohol-Related Disease Impact
ARIA Advanced Rapid Imaging and Analysis
ARIS Air Resources Information System (changed to Air Quality in Parks)
ARL Air Resources Laboratory
ARM Agency Relationship Management & Engagement Division | Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (older link archive)
ARMD Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate
ARMI Amphibian Research and Monitoring Initiative
ARMS Agricultural Resource Management Survey
ARNet Acquisition Reform Network (changed to AcqNet)
ARNOLD All Roads Network Of Linear Referenced Data
ARP Acid Rain Program (older link archive) | AIDS Research Program (changed to HRP) | Applied Research Program (defunct; merged into BRP, EGRP, and HDRP)
ARPA-E Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy
ARPA-H Advanced Research Projects Agency for Health
ARRA American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
ARRI Appalachian Regional Reforestation Initiative (older link archive)
ARRT Advanced Rehabilitation Research and Training
ARS Agricultural Research Service
ART Accessibility Requirements Tool
ARTS Annual Retail Trade Survey
AS Acquisition Services (older link archive)
ASA Assistant Secretary for Administration, HHS
ASAC Applied Sciences Advisory Committee | Aviation Security Advisory Committee
ASAMM Aerial Surveys of Arctic Marine Mammals
ASAP Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel | Alcohol and Substance Abuse Program | Automated Standard Application for Payments
ASB Agricultural Statistics Board
ASC Advanced Simulation and Computing | Alaska Science Center (older link archive; archive2) | Appraisal Subcommittee
ASCAC Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee (older link archive)
ASCENDS Active Sensing of CO2 Emissions over Nights, Days, and Seasons (older link archive)
ASCQR Ambulatory Surgical Center Quality Reporting Program
ASCR Advanced Scientific Computing Research (older link archive)
ASD Accelerator Systems Division | Astrophysics Science Division | Atomic Spectra Database
ASDC Atmospheric Science Data Center (older link archive; archive2)
ASE Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs
ASEC Annual Social and Economic Supplement
ASER Annual Site Environmental Report | Individual ASERs: Ames (older) | ANL | BNL | LANL | LBL | LLNL | LM | NREL | PNNL | PPPL (older link archive) | Sandia | SRS
ASF DAAC Alaska Satellite Facility Distributed Active Archive Center (older link archive; archive2)
ASGC Atmospheric Sciences & Global Change (changed to Atmospheric Science)
ASH Office of Security & Hazardous Materials Safety | Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (changed to OASH)
ASHA American Schools and Hospitals Abroad
ASIAS Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing (older link archive)
ASIWG Adaptation Science Interagency Working Group
ASJ Annual Survey of Jails (older link archive)
ASL Assistant Secretary for Legislation
ASLBP Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
ASM Annual Survey of Manufactures (older link archive) | At-Sea Monitoring Program (older link archive)
ASMD Atmospheric Sciences Modeling Division
ASO Airborne Snow Observatory | Argonne Site Office (older link archive)
ASOA Acquisition Support and Operations Analysis (replaced by CDS)
ASOS Automated Surface Observing System (older link archive)
ASP Airborne Science Program
ASPE Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
ASPEP Annual Survey of Public Employment & Payroll
ASPIRE Algorithm Suggesting Proportionate Incident Response Engagement (older link archive)
ASPP Annual Survey of Public Pensions
ASPR Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (older link archive)
ASR Alternative Summary Reporting | Antenna Structure Registration | Atmospheric System Research
ASRAC Appliance Standards and Rulemaking Federal Advisory Committee
ASRS Aviation Safety Reporting System
AST Division of Astronomical Sciences | Office of Commercial Space Transportation
ASTEP Astrobiology Science & Technology for Exploring Planets (unable to verify 4/16)
ATA Annual Threat Assessment | Office of Antiterrorism Assistance - changed to Antiterrorism Assistance Program (older link archive; archive2)
ATCSCC Air Traffic Control System Command Center
ATDC Agency Transition Directors Council (unable to verify 2/18)
ATDD Atmospheric Turbulence and Diffusion Division
ATDP Addiction Treatment Discovery Program (older link archive; archive2)
ATF Accelerator Test Facility | Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
ATFE Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
ATIP Anti-Trafficking in Persons (changed to OTIP) | Automated Track Inspection Program
ATJ Office for Access to Justice (merged into OLP 10/18)
ATLAS Argonne Tandem Linac Accelerator System
ATMB Analytic Tools and Methods Branch (merged into DPHID)
ATN Animal Telemetry Network
ATO Air Traffic Organization
ATom Atmospheric Tomography Mission (older link archive)
ATP Advanced Technology Program (unable to verify) | Agricultural Trade Promotion Program
ATR Antitrust Division
ATRF Advanced Technology Research Facility (older link archive)
ATRO Advanced Technology Research Office
ATS Adoptions Tracking Service | Automated Targeting System
ATSD-IO Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Intelligence Oversight (changed to DOD SIOO)
ATSDR Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
ATTAINS Assessment and Total Maximum Daily Load Tracking and Implementation System (older link archive)
ATTREX Airborne Tropical TRopopause EXperiment (older link archive)
ATUS American Time Use Study
ATVM Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
ATW Air Toxics Web Site
AVC Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (older link archive)
AVERT AVoided Emissions and geneRation Tool (older link archive; archive2)
AVRS AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee
AVS Applicant/Violator System (older link archive) | Aviation Safety
AVSO Appraisal and Valuation Services Office
AV TEST Automated Vehicle Transparency and Engagement for Safe Testing Initiative (older link archive)
AWAE Air, Water, & Aquatic Environments Program
AWAHDC Animal Welfare Act History Digital Collection
AWC Aviation Weather Center
AWE Academy for Women Entrepreneurs
AWEP Agricultural Water Enhancement Program (older link archive)
AWFCG Alaska Wildland Fire Coordinating Group
AWIC Animal Welfare Information Center (older link archive; archive2)
AWL Areawide Leasing Study
AWOIS Automated Wreck and Obstruction Information System
AWOS Automated Weather Observing System (older link archive; archive2)
AWTP Advanced Wireless Test Platforms (older link archive)
AWTS Annual Wholesale Trade Survey
AXL Aquatic Experimental Lab
AZWSC Arizona Water Science Center