Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: U

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

U

UAC Unaccompanied Alien Children (changed to UC)
UAS Unmanned Aircraft Systems Program (changed to UxSRTO)
UAVSAR Uninhabited Aerial Vehicle Synthetic Aperture Radar
UBPR Uniform Bank Performance Report
UBT Urban Bird Treaty
UC Unaccompanied Children
UCDMO Unified Cross Domain Management Office (unable to verify 12/13)
UCF Urban and Community Forestry (older link archive)
UCMR Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule
UCR Uniform Crime Reporting (older link archive; archive2) | Urban Congestion Reports
UCS Unaccompanied Children's Services (unable to verify 2/21; older link archive)
UDC Universal Data Collection System
UDI Urban Dynamics Institute (unable to verify 9/20)
UDP Undiagnosed Diseases Program (older link archive)
UDS Uniform Data System
UGMM Underground Mine Map (older link archive)
UI Unemployment Insurance (older link archive)
UIC Underground Injection Control
UIP Unified Immigration Portal
ULS Universal Licensing System (older link archive; archive2)
UMESC Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center (older link archive; archive2)
UMLS Unified Medical Language System (older link archive)
UNICOR Federal Prison Industries, Inc.
UNSCEAR United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation
UNSODA Unsaturated Soil Hydraulic Database
UOB Urologic Oncology Branch
UP Home Affordable Unemployment Program I(unable to verify 2/17)
UPCS-V Uniform Physical Condition Standards for Vouchers
UPI Toolkit Urban Partnerships Initiative Online Toolkit
UPIN Unique Physician Identification Number (replaced by NPI)
URLPWC Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program
URCS Uniform Rail Costing System
URM Unaccompanied Refugee Minors Program (older link archive)
URMCC Utah Reclamation Mitigation and Conservation Commission
URS Uniform Reporting System
USADF United States African Development Foundation
USAFC USA Freedom Corps (changed to Serve.gov; then CNCS; then AmeriCorps)
USAGM U.S. Agency for Global Media
USAID United States Agency for International Development
USALEEP U.S. Small-area Life Expectancy Estimates Project
USAO Offices of the United States Attorneys
USAP United States Antarctic Program
USARC U.S. Arctic Research Commission (also, ARCTIC)
USBC Bureau of the Census
USBG United States Botanic Garden
USBR Bureau of Reclamation
U.S.C. United States Code (older link archive)
USCAVC United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
USCC U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission
USCCR United States Commission on Civil Rights
US-CERT United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team (older link archive; archive2)
USCFC U.S. Court of Federal Claims
USCIRF United States Commission on International Religious Freedom
USCIS U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
USCIS ELIS USCIS Electronic Information System
US CLIVAR US Climate Variability & Predictability Program
USCO United States Copyright Office
USCP U.S. Capitol Police
USCRN U.S. Climate Reference Network (older link archive)
USCRTF United States Coral Reef Task Force
USCS United States Cancer Statistics (older link archive) | United States Customs Service (changed to CBP)
USMINT United States Mint
USMS United States Marshals Service
USNA U.S. National Arboretum
USNCB United States National Central Bureau of INTERPOL
US NDC United States National Data Center (unable to verify 12/17)
USNPRC U.S. National Poultry Research Center
US-PBARC Daniel K. Inouye U.S. Pacific Basin Agricultural Research Center
USPC United States Parole Commission | United States Patent Classification (older link archive)
USPHS U.S. Public Health Service
USPIS United States Postal Inspection Service (older link archive)
USPS United States Postal Service [state and street abbreviations]
USPSTF U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (older link archive; archive2)
USPTO United States Patent and Trademark Office
USRAP United States Refugee Admissions Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
USRDS United States Renal Data System
USRT U.S. Radiologic Technologists Study (older link archive)
USSC United States Sentencing Commission
USSGL U.S. Standard General Ledger
USSP United States Support Program
USSS United States Secret Service
UST Underground Storage Tanks
USTDA United States Trade and Development Agency
USTP U.S. Trustee Program
USTR United States Trade Representative
USUN United States Mission to the United Nations (older link archive)
US-VISIT U.S. Vistor and Immigrant Status Indicator Technology (replaced by OBIM)
USWDS U.S. Web Design System
USWTDB United States Wind Turbine Database
UTC University Transportation Centers (older link archive)
UV-CDAT Ultrascale Visualization Climate Data Analysis Tools
UVL Unverified List
UWFP Urban Waters Federal Partnership
UWR United We Ride (older link archive)
UxSRTO Uncrewed Systems Research Transition Office