Skip to Main Content
The Library

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: L

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

L

L Office of the Legal Adviser (older link archive; archive2)
L2SWBM Large Lake Statistical Water Balance Model (older link archive)
LA100 Los Angeles 100% Renewable Energy Study
LAADS Level 1 and Atmosphere Archive and Distribution System (older link archive; archive2)
LAD Laboratory of Allergic Diseases
LADMF Limited Access Death Master File
LAEP Legal Assistance Enhancement Program
LAFA Loss-Adjusted Food Availability
LAGEOS LAser GEOdynamics Satellite
LAI Location Affordability Index (older link archive)
LAIR Legal Aid Interagency Roundtable
LAIRS Labor Agreement Information Retrieval System (unable to verify 6/20)
LAMP Lakewide Action and Management Plan | Local Agriculture Market Program (older link archive) | Localized Aviation MOS Program
LAMRP Laboratory Animal Medicine Residency Program (older link archive)
LANCE Land, Atmosphere Near real-time Capability for EOS (older link archive)
LANDFIRE Landscape Fire & Resource Management Planning Tools Project
LANL Los Alamos National Laboratory
LANSCE Los Alamos Neutron Science Center
LAR Loan/Application Register
LaRC Langley Research Center
LARSE Laboratory for Applications of Remote Sensing in Ecology (older link archive)
LAS Land Acquisition Section
LASH Loss Adjustment Standards Handbooks
LASSO LES (Large-Eddy Simulation) ARM (Atmosphic Radiation Measurement) Symbiotic Simulation and Observation | Locating and Selecting Scenarios Online (older link archive)
LATCH Local Area Transportation Characteristics for Households (older link archive)
LAU Local Area Unemployment
LAUS Local Area Unemployment Statistics
LB Laboratory of Bacteriology
LB&I Large Business and International Division (older link archive)
LB21 Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program
LBD Longitudinal Business Database (older link archive)
LBL Ernest Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
LBMB Laboratory of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
LBMS Laboratory for BioMolecular Structure
LBNF Long-Baseline Neutrino Facility
LBTI Large Binocular Telescope Interferometer
LC Library of Congress
LCA Labor Condition Application | Life Cycle Assessments
LCB Laboratory of Cell Biology
LCBG Laboratory of Cancer Biology and Genetics
LCC Library of Congress Classification (older link archive)
LCD Landscape Conservation Design (older link archive) | Legal Counsel Division | Local Climatological Data
LCDS Laboratory of Cell and Developmental Signaling
LCI Land Cover Institute (site archived 12/11/18; older link archive) | Life Cycle Inventory (changed to USLCI)
LCID Laboratory of Clinical Infectious Diseases (merged into LCIM)
LCIM Laboratory of Clinical Immunology and Microbiology
LCLS Linac Coherent Light Source
LCM Library of Congress Magazine
LCMAP Land Change Monitoring, Assessment, and Projection
LCMB Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology
LCMS Landscape Change Monitoring System (older link archive; archive2)
LCO Laboratory of Cellular Oncology
LCR Light Curve Repository
LCRC Laboratory Computing Resource Center
LCRMSCP Lower Colorado River Multi-Species Conservation Program
LCROSS Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite (older link archive)
LCS Land Change Science Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4) | List of Classified Structures
LCSH Library of Congress Subject Headings
LDB Liver Diseases Branch (older link archive)
LDDs Local Development Districts
LDP Loan Deficiency Payments
LDRD Laboratory Directed Research and Development
LE Law Enforcement (FWS) (older link archive)
LEAD Low-Income Energy Affordability Data Tool (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
LEADS Law Enforcement Advancing Data and Science Scholars Program
LEAF Low-Energy Accelerator Facility
LEAP (Communities) Local Energy Action Program | Legal, External Affairs and Performance Branch (older link archive)
LECC Law Enforcement Coordinating Committee
LECS Law Enforcement Core Statistics Program
LED Local Employment Dynamics (changed to LEHD)
LEDP Laboratory Equipment Donation Program (unable to verify 8/19)
LEEP Law Enforcement Enterprise Portal (older link archive)
LE/FAMS Law Enforcement/Federal Air Marshal Service
LEFG Law Enforcement Forecasting Group (unable to verify 8/18)
LEHD Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (older link archive)
LEIA Lunar Explorer Instrument for space biology Applications
LEIE List of Excluded Individuals/Entities
LEIS Service Law Enforcement Information Sharing Service
LEISI Law Enforcement Information Sharing Initiative
LEISP Law Enforcement Information Sharing Program (changed to LEISS)
LEISS Law Enforcement Information Sharing Service (older link archive)
LEMAS Law Enforcement Management and Administrative Statistics
LEO Law Enforcement Online (unable to verify 4/16) | Office of Low Earth Orbit
LEOKA Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted Program
LEP Limited English Proficiency
LEPAC Lead Exposure and Prevention Advisory Committee (older link archive)
LESA Law Enforcement Systems and Analysis Division (older link archive)
LESC Law Enforcement Support Center
LESDC Law Enforcement Suicide Data Collection (older link archive; archive2)
LESO FEPMIS Law Enforcement Support Office Federal Excess Property Management Information System
LETTAC National Violence Against Women Law Enforcement Training and Technical Assistance Consortium
LF see LANDFIRE
LFLP Local Foods, Local Places
LFMPS Local Food Marketing Practices Survey
LFO Large Facilities Office
LFP Livestock Forage Program
LFPA Local Food Purchase Assistance Cooperative Agreement Program
LFRDB LANDFIRE Remap Reference Database
LGAC Local Government Advisory Committee
LGCP Laboratory of Genitourinary Cancer Pathogenesis (unable to verify 4/24)
LGI Laboratory of Genome Integrity
LHC Laboratory of Human Carcinogenesis
LHD Laboratory of Host Defenses (merged into LCIM)
LHI Leading Health Indicators
LHNCBC Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communication
LHO Little Horned Owl program
LHOB Longworth House Office Building
LHP National Landslide Hazards Program (older link archive; archive2)
LHS Learning Health Systems
LI Laboratory of Immunology (changed to LISB)
LICI Laboratory of Integrative Cancer Immunology
LID Laboratory of Infectious Diseases
LIDE Laboratory for Infectious Disease and the Environment
LIG Laboratory of Immunogenetics
LIHEAP Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (older link archive; archive2)
LIHTC Low-Income Housing Tax Credit
LIHWAP Low Income Household Water Assistance Program
LINCS Literacy Information and Communication System
LIONS Legal Information Office Network System
LIP Livestock Indemnity Program
LIR Laboratory of Immunoregulation
LiRHC U.S. Linked Retail Health Clinic Database
LISA Laser Interferometer Space Antenna
LISB Laboratory of Immune System Biology
LISD NOAA Library and Information Services (changed to NCRL)
LIV Legislative Indexing Vocabulary (discontinued)
LLGP Living Languages Grant Program
LLIS Lessons Learned Information Sharing (website discontinued; content migrated into HSDL)
LLNL Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
LLPI Longleaf Pine Initiative
LLQR Lessons Learned Quarterly Report (older link archive)
LLSIL Lower Living Standard Income Level (older link archive)
LM Office of Legacy Management
LMAC Livermore Microarray Center (unable to verify 11/16)
LMBP Laboratory Medicine Best Practices (unable to verify 5/24; older link archive; archive2; archive3)
LMD Logistics Management Directorate, FEMA (older link archive) | Logistics Management Division, NASA
LMG Lower Mississippi Water Science Center
LMI Laboratory of Molecular Immunology
LMIV Laboratory of Malaria Immunology and Vaccinology (older link archive)
LMM Laboratory of Molecular Microbiology
LMOP Landfill Methane Outreach Program
LMP Living Memorials Project (older link archive)
LMS Licensing and Management System
LMV-ILM Lower Mississippi Valley Integrated Landscape Science and Monitoring (unable to verify 10/18)
LMVR Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research (older link archive)
LNCB Laboratory on Neurobiology of Compulsive Behaviors
LNII Laboratory of Neurological Infections and Immunity
LNM Local Notice to Mariners
LOB Laboratory Operations Board
LOC Library of Congress
LOCIS Library of Congress Information System (older link archive)
LOCS Laboratory Outreach Communication System (older link archive)
LODES LEHD Origin-Destination Employment Statistics
LOFTID Low-Earth Orbit Flight Test of an Inflatable Decelerator
LogiQ Logical Qubits program
LOP Legal Orientation Program
LP Laboratory of Pathology | Office of Laboratory Policy (older link archive)
LPCS Land Product Characterization System (unable to verify 1/23; older link archive)
LPD Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases
LP DAAC Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (older link archive; archive2)
LPO Loan Programs Office
LPR Lawful Permanent Resident (older link archive; archive2)
LPS Laboratory for Physical Sciences (older link archive)
LPT Labeling Policy Team (older link archive)
LPVD Laboratory of Persistent Viral Diseases (changed to LNII)
LR2000 BLM Legacy Rehost System (discontinued; replaced by MLRS)
LRAT Logistics Response Assistance Team (older link archive)
LRBAA Long-Range Broad Agency Announcement
LRC Lepidoptera Research Collection
LRGBE Laboratory of Receptor Biology and Gene Expression
LRD Longitudinal Research Database
LRN Laboratory Response Network
LRO Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (older link archive)
LRP Loan Repayment Programs | Local and Regional Food Aid Procurement Program
LRPR Legal Requirements and Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program (older link archive)
LRR Land Resource Regions (older link archive)
LRS Land Remote Sensing (changed to NLI) | Laws and Regulations Services
LRTD Land Remediation Technology Division (older link archive)
LS Office of Language Services
LSA List of (CFR) Sections Affected (older link archive)
LSAH Lifetime Surveillance of Astronaut Health (older link archive; archive2)
LSASDs Lab Services and Applied Sciences Divisions (older link archive)
LSB Laboratory of Systems Biology (changed to LISB) | Laboratory Support Branch (unable to verify 5/20)
LSC Legal Services Corporation
LSCM Library Services & Content Management (older link archive; archive2)
LSDA Life Sciences Data Archive (older link archive)
LSIB Large Scale International Boundaries (older link archive)
LSIOU List of Serials Indexed for Online Users
LSN IWG Large Scale Networking Interagency Working Group
LSP Launch Services Program (older link archive) | Library Statistics Program
LSPPO Laboratory Science, Policy and Practice Program Office (unable to verify 10/14)
LSS Laboratories and Scientific Services
LSSB Library Science and Services Branch (merged into DPHID)
LSST Rubin Observatory Legacy Survey of Space and Time
LTAR Long Term Agroecosystem Research (older link archive)
LTAS Life Table Analysis System (discontinued)
LTBP Long-Term Bridge Performance Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
LTC Long Term Care (older link archive; archive2)
LTDL Land Treatment Digital Library
LTPP Long-Term Pavement Performance (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
LTRM Long Term Resource Planning
LTRMP Long Term Resource Monitoring Program (changed to LTRM; older link archive)
LTRO Land Titles and Records Office (older link archive)
LUCA Local Update of Census Addresses Operation
LUCs Land Use Controls
LUP Land Use Planning (unable to verify 6/20)
LUST Leaking Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund (older link archive)
LV Laboratory of Virology (older link archive; archive2)
LVD Laboratory of Viral Diseases
LVOC Livermore Valley Open Campus (older link archive; archive2)
LWCF Land and Water Conservation Fund
LWRS Light Water Reactor Sustainability Program
LWS Living With a Star
LYMB Lymphoid Malignancies Branch
LZP Laboratory of Zoonotic Pathogens (unable to verify 10/17; possibly merged into LB); (older link archive)