Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: P

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

P

P2 Pollution Prevention
P25 CAP Project 25 Compliance Assessment Program
P&R Personnel and Readiness
P&SP Packers and Stockyards Program (changed to PSD)
PA Bureau of Public Affairs (changed to GPA; older link archive)
PAB Personnel Appeals Board | Program Analysis Branch
PACA Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act Program
PACCARB Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria
PACE Pandemic Analytics Center of Excellence | Plankton, Aerosol, Cloud, ocean Ecosystem | Prevention through Active Community Engagement | Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (older link archive)
PACEI Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity (discontinued 1/18; documents & correspondence)
PACER Payments, Claims and Enhanced Reconciliation | Public Access to Court Electronic Records (older link archive)
PACHA Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS (older link archive)
PACIFICA Pacific Ocean Interior Carbon database (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PACT Partnering and Communicating Together to Act Against AIDS (older link archive) | Protecting American Communities Task Force
PAD Policy Analysis Division (unable to verify 8/21; older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PADD Petroleum Administration for Defense District | Product Acquisition & Deployment Directorate
PADRECC Parkinson’s Disease Research, Education, and Clinical Center
PAD-US Protected Areas Database of the United States (older link archive; archive2)
PAF Pregnancy Assistance Fund (older link archive; archive2)
PAFA Priority-based Assessment of Food Additives (unable to verify 5/19)
PAGER Prompt Assessment of Global Earthquakes for Response
PAGES Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science
PAID Payroll Audit Independent Determination (terminated 1/21; older link archive; archive2)
PAIMI Protection & Advocacy for Individuals with Mental Illness Program
PAIR Patent Application Information Retrieval | Protection and Advocacy of Individual Rights
PAIRS Partnerships to Advance Innovation and Regulatory Science
PAIVED Preventing and Addressing Intimate Violence when Engaging Dads
PAM Office of Acquisition and Property Management | Payment Automation Manager | Pesticide Analytical Manual (older link archive)
PAMA Pediatric, Adolescent & Maternal AIDS Branch (changed to MPIDB)
PAMS Portfolio Analysis And Management System
PANTHR Probabilistic Analysis for National Threats Hazards and Risks
PAO Privacy Act Office | Public Affairs Office
PARIS Public Assistance Reporting Information System
PARISE Phased Array Radar Innovative Sensing Experiment
PASS Physical Assessment Subsystem (older link archive) | Public Area Security Summits
PASSR Preadmission Screening and Resident Review
PatEx Patent Examination Research Dataset
PATH Projects for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness
PATHH Pandemic Assistance for Timber Harvesters and Haulers (page archived 10/21; older link archive)
PAUSE Public Alert: Unregistered Soliciting Entities (older link archive)
PAVE Interagency Task Force on Property Appraisal and Valuation Equity
PAW Program to Achieve Wellness (unable to verify 3/19)
PBA Public and Business Affairs (changed to PAO)
PBGC Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
PBM Pharmacy Benefits Management Services
PBRB Public Buildings Reform Board
PBRN Primary Care Practice-Based Research Networks (older link archive)
PBS Public Buildings Service (older link archive)
PC Peace Corps | Preferred Communities program (older link archive)
PCA Plant Conservation Alliance (unable to verify 8/17)
PCAH President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities (unable to verify 2/18)
PCAOB Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (older link archive; archive2)
PCAST President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (older link archive)
PCB Prevention Communication Branch
PCBE President's Council on Bioethics (changed to PCSBI)
PCC Program for Cooperative Cataloging
PCCP Pandemic Cover Crop Program (older link archive)
PCD Prevening Chronic Disease Journal | Program Counsel Division (older link archive; archive2)
PCE Personal Consumption Expenditures
PCEA Presidential Commission on Election Administration
PCFSN President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition (changed to PCSFN; older link archive)
PCIE President's Council on Integrity and Effiency (changed to CIGIE)
PCII Protected Critical Infrastructure Information (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PCIP Pre-Existing Condition Insurance Plan (older link archive)
PCLFD Privacy, Civil Liberties, and Freedom of Information Directorate
PCLO Privacy and Civil Liberties Office (changed to OPCL)
PCLOB Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board (older link archive)
PCMDI Program for Climate Model Diagnosis and Intercomparison (older link archive)
PCMH Patient Centered Medical Home (older link archive)
PCMSC Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PCN Preassigned Control Number Program
PCOR Patient-Centered Outcomes Research
PCOS Physics of the Cosmos Program
PCPID President's Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities (older link archive)
PCRB Process of Care Research Branch (unable to verify 11/16) | Prepublication Classification Review Board (older link archive)
PCRM Program in Cellular Regulation and Metabolism (unable to verify 11/16)
PCS Permit Compliance System
PCSBI Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues (defunct; archived at Georgetown)
PCSFN President’s Council on Sports, Fitness & Nutrition (older link archive; archive2)
PCSP Provider Customer Service Program
PCSSP Private Charter Standard Security Program
PCT Patent Cooperation Treaty
PDB Planning Database (older link archive) | Population Dynamics Branch
PDBP Parkinson's Disease Biomarkers Program
PDC Prescott Dispatch Center | Proteomic Data Commons
PDCO Planetary Defense Coordination Office
PDEGEN Program on Developmental Endocrinology and Genetics (unable to verify 3/18)
PDM Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (older link archive)
PDMP Prescription Drug Monitoring Programs
PDN Program in Developmental Neuroscience (unable to verify 3/18)
PDNB Pediatrics & Developmental Neuroscience Branch (changed to SBP)
PDP Pesticide Data Program
PD&R Office of Policy Development and Research
PDS Planetary Data System (older link archive)
PDSD Personnel Document Security Division (older link archive)
PDSI Palmer Drought Severity Index (older link archive)
PE Postal Explorer
PEAP President's Education Awards Program
PEATT PFAS Exposure Assessment Technical Tools (older link archive)
PeBL Personal eBook for Learning
PECAD Production Estimates and Crop Assessment Division (unable to verify 3/07; likely changed to IPAD)
PECE Policy for Evaluation of Conservation Efforts (older link archive)
PEDAR Postsecondary Education Descriptive Analysis Reports
PedNSS Pediatric Nutrition Surveillance System (discontinued 2012)
PEER Protecting Employees, Enabling Reemployment Initiative
PEIR Program Evaluation and Information Resources
PEMAD Populations and Ecosystems Monitoring and Analysis Division (older link archive)
PEMAT Patient Education Materials Assessment Tool
PEP Population Estimates Program (older link archive) | Priority Enforcement Program
PEPC Planning, Environment and Public Comment
PEPFAR President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (older link archive)
PEPH Partnerships for Environmental Public Health
PEPS Postsecondary Education Participants System (older link archive)
PEQIS Postsecondary Education Quick Information System
PES Post-Enumeration Survey
PESD Pacific Ecological Systems Division
PESP Pesticide Environmental Stewardship Program
PETS Postsecondary Education Transcript Studies
PFAS Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances
PFC Passenger Facility Charge Program
PFDS Precipitation Frequency Data Server (older link archive; archive2)
PFEL Pacific Fisheries Environmental Laboratory (unable to verify 6/20)
PFIAB President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board (changed to PIAB)
PFM Office of Financial Management
PfP Partnership for Patients
PFR Partners for Recovery (unable to verify 8/19)
PFS Pay for Success | Principal Follow-Up Survey
PGD Program on Genomics of Differentiation (unable to verify 3/18)
PGDI Pediatric Genomic Data Inventory
PGNB Pediatric Growth and Nutrition Branch
PGP Policy and Global Presence Directorate
PGPRU Plant Germplasm Preservation Research Unit (unable to verify 8/19; older link archive)
PGRCU Plant Genetic Resources Conservation Unit
PGRL Petroleum Geochemistry Research Laboratory
PHA Public Housing Agency (see PIH)
PHAP Public Health Associate Program
PharmPAC Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee (unable to verify 11/16)
PHB Population Health Branch
PHE Public Health Emergency (older link archive)
PHECC Public Housing Environmental and Conservation Clearinghouse (older link archive)
PHED Pesticide Handler Exposure Database
PHEMCE Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise
PHESD Public Health and Environmental Systems Division
PHGKB Public Health Genomics Knowledge Base (older link archive)
PHGR Public Health Grand Rounds (older link archive)
PHHO Population Health and Healthcare Office
PHIFP Public Health Informatics Fellowship Program
PHIL Public Health Image Library (older link archive)
PHIN Public Health Information Network
PHIN DIR PHIN Public Health Directory
PHINMS PHIN Messaging System
PHIN VADS PHIN Vocabulary Access and Distribution System
PHIO Public Health Informatics Office
PHITD Public Health and Integrated Toxicology Division
PHITPO Public Health Informatics and Technology Program Office (replaced by PHSIPO)
PHLIC Public Health Library and Information Center (changed to CDC Library)
PHMOD Public Housing Management and Occupancy Division
PHMSA Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Administration
PHOD Physical Oceanography Division
PHPPO Public Health Practice Program Office (defunct)
PHPPP Plant Health and Production and Plant Products (older link archive)
PHPR Office of Public Health Preparedness and Response (changed to CPR)
PHPS Public Health Prevention Service
PHR Public Health Reports (older link archive)
PHREO Program in Human Research Ethics and Oversight
PHS Division of Public Health Services | Public Health Service (changed to ASH then OASH) | Public Health Statements (older link archive)
PHSIPO Public Health Surveillance and Informatics Program Office (unable to verify 6/14)
PHSPO Public Health Surveillance Program Office (changed to PHSIPO)
PHTN Public Health Training Network (defunct; some content absorbed by CDC Learning Connection)
PHY Physics Division
PI Office of Policy and International Affairs (changed to IA) | Pandemic Influenza programs | Promoting Interoperability (older link archive)
PIA Privacy Impact Assessments
PIAAC Program for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies
PIAB President's Intelligence Advisory Board (unable to verify 2/21; older link archive)
PIADC Plum Island Animal Disease Center
PIC Performance Improvement Council | PNNL Institutional Computing (unable to verify 3/19)
PI CASC Pacific Islands Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PICH Partnerships to Improve Community Health
PICOE Payment Integrity Center of Excellence
PICS / PICSWEB Procurement Information Control System (unable to verify 2/16)
PI CSC Pacific Islands Climate Science Center (changed to PI CASC)
PID Pathway Interaction Database (website retired; content merged into NDEx)
PIDB Public Interest Declassification Board
PIECP Prison Industry Enhancement Certification Program (unable to verify 11/16)
PIERC Pacific Island Ecosystems Research Center
PIF Pandemic Intervals Framework | Presidential Innovation Fellows | Public Inspection Files
PIFSC Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center (older link archive)
PIGWAD Planetary Interactive G.I.S.-on-the-Web Analyzable Database (retired 2/19; replaced by MRCTR)
PIH Office of Public and Indian Housing (older link archive)
PIL Prescription Interdiction & Litigation Task Force
PILB Public Information and Liaison Branch (changed to CB)
PILOT Planetary Image Locator Tool
PILOTS Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (changed to PTSDpubs)
PILT Payment in Lieu of Taxes
PIMS Pension Insurance Modeling System
PIN Public Integrity Section (older link archive)
PINC Potential Incident of Noncompliance (older link archive)
PINR Division of Price and Index Number Research
PIR Payment Information Repository
PIRLS Progress in International Reading Literacy Study
PISA Program for International Student Assessment
PIT Point in Time homeless count
PITF President’s Interagency Task Force to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons
PJAC Procedural Justice-Informed Alternatives to Contempt
PLACES Population Level Analysis and Community Estimates
PLAIN Plain Language Action and Information Network
PLC Price Loss Coverage
PLCY DHS Office of Strategy, Policy, and Plans
PLIP Pandemic Livestock Indemnity Program (page archived 10/21; older link archive)
PLLI National Institute on Postsecondary Education, Libraries, and Lifelong Learning (defunct)
PLR Polar Programs (changed to OPP)
PLS Physical and Life Sciences Directorate | Public Land Statistics (older link archive) | Public Libraries Survey
PLSS Public Land Survey System (older link archive; archive2)
PLT Patent Law Treaty
PM Bureau of Political-Military Affairs (older link archive)
PMA Premarket Approval | President's Management Agenda (older link archive)
PMB Office of Policy, Management and Budget | Pharmaceutical Management Branch
PMC PubMed Central
PMED Project Management and Execution Division (older link archive; archive2)
PMEL Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory
PMF Presidential Management Fellows Program
PM/GPI Office of Global Programs and Initiatives
PMI Precision Medicine Initiative (older link archive; archive2) | President’s Malaria Initiative
PML Physical Measurement Laboratory
PMNM Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument
PMPD Program and Project Management Policy, Practice and Development Division
PM/PPA Political-Military Policy and Planning Team (unable to verify 8/18)
PMRP Particulate Matter Review Panel (discontinued 10/18)
PMS Payment Management System
PM/SDI Office of State-Defense Integration
PM/SNA Office of Security Negotiations and Agreements (older link archive)
PMT Production Measurement Team
PMVAP Pandemic Market Volatility Assistance Program
PMW Propagation Modeling Website (older link archive; archive2)
PM/WRA Office of Weapons Removal and Abatement (also, WRA)
PN Promise Neighborhoods
PNB Presidential Nominations Branch (older link archive)
PNGV Partnership for a New Generation of Vehicles (unable to verify 12/12)
PNNL Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
PNP Protection and National Preparedness (unable to verify 8/18; older link archive)
PNSO Pacific Northwest Site Office (older link archive)
PNSP Pesticide National Synthesis Project (older link archive)
PNSS Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System (discontinued 2012)
PNT Positioning, Navigation and Timing (older link archive)
PNW Pacific Northwest Research Station (older link archive)
POB Pediatric Oncology Branch
PO.DAAC Physical Oceanography Distributed Active Archive Center (older link archive; archive2)
POINTER Precision Outdoor and Indoor Navigation and Tracking for Emergency Responders
POLAD Office of the Coordinator of the Foreign Policy Advisor Program (older link archive)
POMS Program Operations Manual System | Property Owners and Managers Survey
POP Pelagic Observer Program (older link archive)
PORTS Physical Oceanographic Real-Time System
POS Provider of Services Current Files
POTUS President of the United States
POWER Providing Opportunities for Women's Economic Rise
PPA Office of Policy Analysis
PPAC Patent Public Advisory Committee
PPB Pregnancy and Perinatology Branch | Program on Physical Biology (unable to verify 3/18)
PPC Planning, Programming, and Coordination Group
PPCS Police-Public Contact Survey (older link archive; archive2)
PPD Particle Physics Division | Political Prisoner Database (older link archive)
PPDB Pesticide Properties DataBase (older link archive)
PPDC Pesticide Program Dialogue Committee
PPE-Info Personal Protective Equipment Information
PPEO Program Performance and Evaluation Office
PPFS Port Performance Freight Statistics Program
PPH Patent Prosecution Highway (older link archive)
PPHO Prion and Public Health Office
PPI Producer Price Index
PPIRS Past Performance Information Retrieval System (merged into CPARS; older link archive)
PPITS Program on Pediatric Imaging and Tissue Sciences (unable to verify 11/16)
PPM Office of Program, Policy and Management
PPO Office of Policy and Public Outreach
PPOC Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
PPOHA Promoting Postbaccalaureate Opportunities for Hispanic Americans
PPP Paycheck Protection Program (older link archive) | Prohibited Personnel Practices (older link archive)
PPPL Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
PPPO Portsmouth/Paducah Project Office
PPPR Project Plan Peer Review
PPPSR Poultry Production and Product Safety Research
PPQ Plant Protection and Quarantine
PPRO Program in Perinatal Research and Obstetrics (unable to verify 3/18)
PPRT Personal Property Reporting Tool
PPRTV Provisional Peer-Reviewed Toxicity Value
PPS Planetary Protection Subcommittee | Precipitation Processing System (older link archive)
PQMP Pediatric Quality Measures Program
PQRS Physician Quality Reporting System (discontinued 2016; transitioned to MIPS)
PRA Presidential Records Act
PRAC Pandemic Response Accountability Committee
PRAE Program in Reproductive and Adult Endocrinology (unable to verify 11/16)
PRAMS Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System
PRAMStat PRAMS online data platform (discontinued)
PRAO Professional Responsibility Advisory Office
PRB Prevention Research Branch (older link archive) | Program Review Branch (older link archive) | Publications Review Board (changed to PCRB)
PRC Postal Regulatory Commission | Prevention Research Centers
PRCC Prevention Research Coordinating Committee (older link archive)
PRCS Puerto Rico Community Survey
PRD Pilot Records Database
PREA National Prison Rape Elimination Commission (unable to verify 2/18)
PREIS Personal Responsibility Education Innovative Strategies Program
PREMIS Preservation Metadata: Implementation Strategies
PREP Partnership for Resilience and Preparedness
PREP PYP Personal Responsibility Education Program: Promising Youth Programs
PRF Provider Relief Fund
PRIDE Port-Radiation Inspection, Detection, & Evaluation System
PRISM Performance and Registration Information Systems Management (older link archive) | Primary Response Incident Scene Management (older link archive)
PRISM-ID Protective Research Information System Management System replaced by PTMS)
PRIV Privacy Office, DHS
PRM Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration (older link archive)
PRS HIV/AIDS Prevention Research Synthesis Project | Pandemic Response and Safety Grant Program | Protocol Registration and Results System
PRSU Programs Research and Standards Unit
PSA Pretrial Services Agency | Project Shield America | Protective Security Advisor Program (older link archive; archive2)
PSAC Public Safety Advisory Committee
PSAF Pandemic Severity Assessment Framework
PSAP Participant Statistical Areas Program (older link archive)
PSB Payroll Services Branch (older link archive; archive2)
PSC Partnership for Sustainable Communities (unable to verify 8/18) | Product Service Code | Program Support Center (older link archive) | Project Safe Childhood
PSCR Public Safety Communications Research (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PSD Packers and Stockyard Division | Physical Sciences Division (changed to PSL) | Policy and Standards Division | Production, Supply and Distribution (older link archive) | Public Services Division
PSDB Pyramid Servings Database
PSEO Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes
PSEP Pharmacy Student Experiential Program
PSGP Port Security Grant Program (older link archive)
PSHSB Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau (older link archive)
PSI Physical Science Informatics | Proliferation Security Initiative
PSL Physical Sciences Laboratory
PSLF Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program (older link archive)
PSN Project Safe Neighborhoods (older link archive)
PSNET Patient Safety Network
PSO Patient Safety Organization | Princeton Site Office (older link archive)
PSOB Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program (older link archive)
PSOTP Protective Service Operations Training Program
PSRs Prevention Status Reports
PSS Preferred Sustainability Status | Private School Universe Survey
PSTP Physical Security Training Program
PSW Pacific Southwest Research Station
PTAB Patent Trial and Appeal Board (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
PTAC Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee (older link archive) | Privacy Technical Assistance Center
PTAI Periodic Table of Acquisition Innovations
PTB Predictive Toxicology Branch
PTCIB Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch
PTD Prevention through Design
PTFP Public Telecommunications Facilities Program
PTMS Protective Threat Management System
PTO Patent and Trademark Office
PTRB Pediatric Translational Research Branch (older link archive)
PTRC Patent and Trademark Resource Center
PTSD National Center for PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)
PTSDpubs Post Traumatic Stress Disorder publications database
PTWC Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (website terminated 3/20; older link archive)
PUMS Public Use Microdata Sample (older link archive)
PVSA President’s Volunteer Service Award
PWBA Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration (changed to EBSA)
PWRC Patuxent Wildlife Research Center (merged into EESC; older link archive)
PWSD Public Workforce System Dataset (older link archive)
PWSS Public Water System Supervision
PZ Promise Zone