Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: N

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

N

NACEM North American Climate Extremes Monitoring (unable to verify 6/21)
NACEPT National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology (unable to verify 12/19)
NACHHD National Advisory Child Health and Human Development Council (older link archive)
NACIC National Counterintelligence Center (merged into ONCIX, then into NCSC)
NACIDD National Advisory Committee on Individuals with Disabilities and Disasters
NACIE National Advisory Council on Indian Education | National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (older link archive)
NACIQI National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity
NACMH National Advisory Council on Migrant Health (older link archive)
NACO Name Authority Cooperative Program
NACOSH National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety & Health (older link archive)
NACS National Agricultural Classification Survey | Nuclear and Chemical Sciences Division (older link archive)
NACSD National Advisory Committee on Seniors and Disasters (older link archive)
NACTEP Native American-Career and Technical Education Program
NAD National Address Database (older link archive; archive2) | National Appeals Division (older link archive)
NADC National Animal Disease Center
NADM North American Drought Monitor (older link archive)
NADP National Atmospheric Deposition Program
NADRC National Alzheimer’s and Dementia Resource Center
NADS National Advanced Driving Simulator
NAEFS North American Ensemble Forecast System
NAEP National Assessment of Educational Progress
NAETC Native American Employment and Training Council (older link archive; archive2)
NAFDS National Agriculture and Food Defense Strategy (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NAFRI National Advanced Fire and Resource Institute
NAFTA North American Free Trade Agreement (older link archive; archive2)
NAGB National Assessment Governing Board
NAGP National Animal Germplasm Program (older link archive)
NAGPRA National Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (older link archive)
NAHLN National Animal Health Laboratory Network (older link archive)
NAHMS National Animal Health Monitoring System
NAHRS National Animal Health Reporting System
NAI NASA Astrobiology Institute (unable to verify 10/20)
NAICS North American Industry Classification System (older link archive)
NAIP National Adult Immunization Plan | National Agriculture Imagery Program (older link archive)
NAIRRTF National AI Research Resource Task Force
NAL National Agricultural Library (older link archive) | Native American Language program
NAL@ED Native American Language Grant
NALDC National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (older link archive)
NALO National Applications Liaison Office
NAM North American Mesoscale
NAMCS National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (older link archive)
NAMRS National Adult Maltreatment Reporting System
NAMSS National Archive of Marine Seismic Surveys
NamUs National Missing and Unidentified Persons System (older link archive)
NANC North American Numbering Council
NAO National Applications Office (defunct) | North Atlantic Oscillation (older link archive)
NAP National Action Plan for Open Government | National Action Plan to Combat Human Trafficking | Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program
NAPAP National Acid Precipitation Assessment Program (unable to verify 8/18)
NAPCS North American Product Classification System (older link archive)
NAPHS National Action Plan for Health Security
NAQFC National Air Quality Forecast Capability
NAQI National Air Quality Initiative (older link archive)
NARA National Archives and Records Administration
NAREL National Analytical Radiation Environmental Laboratory
NARIP National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) Act Record Improvement Program
NARMS National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System for Enteric Bacteria (older link archive)
NARP National Agriculture Release Program
NARR North American Regional Reanalysis (older link archive)
NARS National Aquatic Resource Surveys
NAS Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
NASA National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASCTN National Advanced Spectrum and Communications Test Network
NASIS National Soil Information System (older link archive) | Native American Student Information System
NASM National Air and Space Museum
NASNTI Native American-Serving Nontribal Institutions Program
NASS National Agricultural Statistics Service | National Assisted Reproductive Technology Surveillance System | National Automotive Sampling System (older link archive ) | Nationwide Ambulatory Surgery Sample
NATA National Air Toxics Assessment
NATCARB National Carbon Sequestration Database and Geographic Information System (older link archive)
National DPP National Diabetes Prevention Program
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (older link archive)
NATRS National Adenovirus Type Reporting System
NATTS National Air Toxics Trends Stations
NATTT North America Tapestry of Time and Terrain
NAVCEN Navigation Center
NAWQA National Water-Quality Assessment Program (older link archive; archive2)
NAWQA NLC National Water-Quality Assessment Program National Liaison Committee
NAWS National Agricultural Workers Survey (older link archive; archive2)
NBAC National Bioethics Advisory Commission (replaced by PCBE, then PCSBI)
NBACC National Biodefense Analysis and Countermeasures Center
NBAF National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility (older link archive)
NBAM National Broadband Availability Map
NBB Nutritional Biomarkers Branch
NBC National Business Center (changed to IBC)
NBCCEDP National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program
NBCS Navajo Birth Cohort Study
NBCUS National Blood Collection and Utilization Survey
NBD-PWG NIST Big Data Public Working Group (older link archive)
NBEL National Biomass Estimator Library
NBEOC National Business Emergency Operations Center
NBFAC National Bioforensic Analysis Center (merged into NBACC)
NBHQF National Behavioral Health Quality Framework (unable to verify 3/19; older link archive)
NBI National Bridge Inventory
NBIB National Background Investigations Bureau (merged into DCSA)
NBIC National Biosurveillance Integration Center (content archived 12/17)
NBII National Biological Information Infrastructure (defunct as of 1/12)
NBIS National Bridge Inspection Standards
NBL New Brunswick Laboratory Program Office (older link archive; archive2)
NBM National Broadband Map (discontinued 12/18; older link archive; replaced by Fixed Broadband Deployment map)
NBO NOAA Budget Office (older link archive; archive2)
NBP National Biomonitoring Program
NBPI Northern Border Prosecution Initiative (unable to verify 5/18)
NBR National Bison Range (older link archive)
NBRC Northern Border Regional Commission
NBS National Beneficiary Survey | National Electronic Disease Surveillance System Base System
NBSB National Biodefense Science Board (changed to NPRSB; reverted back to NBSB; older link archive)
NBSDB National Building Stone Database (unable to verify 11/22)
NBTCC National Biological Threat Characterization Center (merged into NBACC)
NBTS New Beginning for Tribal Students (older link archive)
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information
NCC National Combined Councils | National Computer Center | National Coordinating Center for Communications
NCCA National Coastal Condition Assessment
NCCAD National Counter-Improvised Explosive Device (IED) Capabilities Analysis Database (older link archive)
NCCAM National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (changed to NCCIH)
NC CASC North Central Climate Adaptation Science Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NCCC National Civilian Community Corps (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NCCCP National Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
NCCDPHP National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (older link archive)
NCCI National Correct Coding Initiative (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NCCIC National Child Care Information and Technical Assistance Center (defunct as of 8/11) | National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (unable to verify 6/19; possibly changed to CISA Central)
NCCIES National Climate Change Interpretation and Education Strategy
NCCIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
NCCOE National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence
NCCOS National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
NCCR National Childhood Cancer Registry | National Coastal Condition Reports
NCCS National Center for Computational Sciences (changed to OLCF)
NC CSC North Central Climate Science Center (changed to NC CASC)
NCCT National Center for Computational Toxicology (changed to CCTE)
NCCV National Climate Change Viewer (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NCCWSC National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center (changed to NCASC)
NCD National Council on Disability | Noncommunicable Diseases
NCDC National Climatic Data Center (merged into NCEI)
NCDDC National Coastal Data Development Center (merged into NCEI)
NCDF National Center for Disaster Fraud
NCDRST NIOSH Center for Direct Reading and Sensor Technologies
NCDS National Center for Data Services
NCEA National Center for Environmental Assessment (unable to verify 12/19) | National Center on Elder Abuse
NCEAI National Council for Expanding American Innovation (changed to CI2)
NCEC National Climate Extremes Committee (older link archive)
NCECDTL National Center on Early Childhood Development, Teaching, and Learning
NCECR John S. McCain III National Center for Environmental Conflict Resolution
NCEE National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance | National Center for Environmental Economics
NCEF National Cryo-Electron Microscopy Facility
NCEH National Center for Environmental Health
NCEHC National Center for Ethics in Health Care
NCEI National Centers for Environmental Information
NCELA National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition
NCEM National Center for Electron Microscopy (older link archive)
NCEP National Centers for Environmental Prediction (older link archive) | National Cholesterol Education Program (unable to verify 10/14)
NCEPCR National Center for Excellence in Primary Care Research
NCER National Center for Education Research | National Center for Environmental Research (unable to verify 12/19)
NCERC National Criticality Experiments Research Center
NCI National Cancer Institute | National Compliance Initiative (changed to NECI)
NCIC National Crime Information Center (older link archive)
NCID National Center for Infectious Diseases (defunct; absorbed by NCHHSTP, NCIRD, NCPDCID, and NCZVED) | National Court Interpreter Database
NCIJTF National Cyber Investigative Joint Task Force
NCIPC National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (older link archive)
NCIRC National Criminal Intelligence Resource Center (older link archive)
NCIRD National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases
NCIRP National Cyber Incident Response Plan
NCITE National Counterterrorism Innovation, Technology, and Education Center
NCITSPSD National Center for Information and Technical Support for Postsecondary Students with Disabilities
NCIX Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive (merged with NCSC)
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service (older link archive)
NCJS National Center for Judicial Security
NCLB No Child Left Behind
NClimDiv NOAA Monthly U.S. Climate Divisional Database
NCLIS National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (defunct as of 3/08)
NCLR National Clandestine Laboratory Register
NCMAS National Commission on Military Aviation Safety (unable to verify 10/21)
NCMHD National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (changed to NIMHD)
NCMRR National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research
NCMVS NIOSH Center for Motor Vehicle Safety (changed to CMVS)
NCN NOAA Continuously Operating Reference Stations Network
NCNR NIST Center for Neutron Research (older link archive)
NCO NCEP Central Operations
NCOA National Change of Address
NCOD National Contaminant Occurrence Database (older link archive; archive2)
NCORP NCI Community Oncology Research Program
NCP National Center for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention | National Continuity Programs | National Oil & Hazardous Substances Pollution Contingency Plan
NCPAW National Center for Productive Aging and Work
NCPC National Capital Planning Commission | National Counterproliferation Center (changed to NCBC; older link archive)
NCPDCID National Center for Preparedness, Detection, and Control of Infectious Diseases (merged into NCEZID)
NCPFCE National Center on Parent, Family, and Community Engagement
NCPHI National Center for Public Health Informatics (changed to PHITPO, then PHSIPO)
NCPPCC National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council (older link archive; archive2)
NCPS National Center for Patient Safety | National Cybersecurity Protection System
NCPTSD National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (changed to PTSD)
NCPTT National Center for Preservation Technology and Training (older link archive)
NCPV National Center for Photovoltaics
NCPW National Consumer Protection Week (older link archive)
NCR National Capital Region
NCRA NCI Council of Research Advocates
NCRAR National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research
NCRC National Climate-Computing Research Center | Office of National Capital Region Coordination (older link archive; archive2)
NCRDS National Coal Resources Data System (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
NCRFO National Center for Radiation Field Operations
NCRL NOAA Central and Regional Libraries
NCRMP National Coral Reef Monitoring Program
NCRN NSF-Census Research Network
NCRP National Corrections Reporting Program (older link archive)
NCRPIS North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station
NCRR National Center for Research Resources (defunct; see org. history)
NCRTM National Clearinghouse of Rehabilitation Training Materials
NCS National Children's Study (older link archive) | National Clandestine Service (unable to verify 1/21) | National Communications System (changed to OEC) | National Compensation Survey (older link archive)
NCSA National Center for Statistics and Analysis (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NCSC National Counterintelligence and Security Center (older link archive)
NCSD National Cyber Security Division (unable to verify 12/13)
NCSER National Center for Space Exploration Research (defunct) | National Center for Special Education Research
NCSES National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (older link archive)
NCSIA National Center on Subsidy Innovation and Accountability
NCSMMN National Coordinated Soil Moisture Monitoring Network
NCSS National Computer Security Survey | National Concussion Surveillance System | National Cooperative Soil Survey (older link archive)
NCSSLE National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments
NCST National Construction Safety Team
NCS-X National Crime Statistics Exchange (older link archive)
NCTC National Conservation Training Center (older link archive) | National Counterterrorism Center (older link archive)
NCTECD National Center on Tribal Early Childhood Development (changed to Tribal Child Care Capacity Building Center)
NCTIC National Center for Trauma-Informed Care (unable to verify 3/19)
NCTR National Center for Toxicological Research (older link archive) | NOAA Center for Tsunami Research
NCTSI National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative
NCUA National Credit Union Administration
NCVAS National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
NCVHS National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics
NCVRW National Crime Victims' Rights Week (older link archive)
NCVS National Crime Victimization Survey (older link archive)
NCVSP National Census of Victim Service Providers
NCWCP NOAA Center for Weather & Climate Prediction
NCZVED National Center for Zoonotic, Vector-Borne, and Enteric Diseases (merged into NCEZID)
NDA National Institute of Mental Health Data Archive
NEFSC Northeast Fisheries Science Center (older link archive)
NEGP National Education Goals Panel (defunct; UNT has archived some material)
NEH National Endowment for the Humanities
NEHHOR Northeast Home Heating Oil Reserve
NEHRP National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program
NEHRS National Electronic Health Records Survey
NEI National Emissions Inventory | National Export Initiative (unable to verify 1/20; older link archive) | National Eye Institute
NEIC National Earthquake Information Center (older link archive; archive2) | National Enforcement Investigations Center
NEISS National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (older link archive)
NEJAC National Environmental Justice Advisory Council
NEL Nutrition Evidence Library (changed to NESR; older link archive)
NEMESIS National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System
NEMI National Environmental Methods Index
NEMS National Energy Modeling System
NEMSAC National EMS Advisory Council (older link archive)
NEMSIS National Emergency Medical Services Information System
NEO Near-Earth Object Program (defunct as of 4/17; see CNEOS)
NEON National Ecological Observatory Network | National Expansion of Employment Opportunities Network
NEOWISE Near-Earth Objects Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer
NEP National Estuary Program | National Exercise Program
NEPA National Environmental Policy Act
NEPAG NASA Electronic Parts Assurance Group
NEPHTN National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (older link archive)
NEPIS National Environmental Publications Information System (merged into NSCEP)
NEPP NASA Electronic Parts and Packaging
NEQsys Northeast Quantum Systems Center
NERDE National Economic Resilience Data Explorer
NERFC Northeast River Forecast Center
NERI National Estuaries Restoration Inventory (unable to verify 2/18)
NERL National Exposure Research Laboratory (unable to verify 12/19)
NERRS National Estuarine Research Reserve System
NERSC National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center
NES Nonemployer Statistics
NESARC-III National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions-III
NESC NASA Engineering and Safety Center
NESD Nonemployer Statistics by Demographics
NESDIS National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service
NESDOCS NESDIS Directives Online Collaboration System (changed to NESDIS Policies, Procedures, and Plans; older link archive)
NESHAP National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
NESR Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review
NESS National Enterovirus Surveillance System | Office of Nuclear Energy, Safety and Security (older link archive; archive2)
NEST Nuclear Emergency Support Team
NET New Electronic Titles
NETCCN National Emergency Tele Critical Care Network
NETF National Explosives Task Force
NETI National Enforcement Training Institute
NETL National Energy Technology Laboratory
NETWG Nuclear Energy Tribal Working Group
NEUP Nuclear Energy University Programs
NEVI National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Formula Program
NEW Native Employment Works
NEW VISTAS Neighborhood Enrichment with Vision Involving Services, Treatment, and Supervision (older link archive; archive2)
NEWIS NOAA Extreme Weather Information Sheets (older link archive)
NEX NASA Earth Exchange (older link archive)
NEXRAD Next Generation Weather Radar (older link archive)
NExT NCI Experimental Therapeutics Program
NFWPCAS National Fish, Wildlife, and Plants Climate Adaptation Strategy (older link archive)
NGA National Gallery of Art
NGAC National Geospatial Advisory Committee
NGC National Gang Center (older link archive) | National Guideline Clearinghouse (discontinued 7/18; see GAM)
NGCE National Geospatial Center of Excellence (unable to verify 10/22)
NGDA National Geospatial Data Asset
NGDC National Geophysical Data Center (merged into NCEI)
NGEE Arctic Next-Generation Ecoexperiments Arctic
NGEE Tropics Next-Generation Excoexperiments Tropics (older link archive)
NGFR Next Generation First Responder
NGGDPP National Geological and Geophysical Data Preservation Program (older link archive; archive2)
NGGS Next Generation Grants System
NGI Next Generation Identification (older link archive)
NGIC National Gang Intelligence Center (older link archive)
NGMDB National Geologic Map Database
NGN PS Next Generation Networks Priority Services
NGP National Geospatial Program (older link archive; archive2)
NGR National Gang Report (older link archive)
NGRAC National Genetic Resources Advisory Council (older link archive)
NGRL National Germplasm Resources Laboratory
NGRP National Genetic Resources Program
NGS National Geodetic Survey
NGSR Northeast Gasoline Supply Reserve
NGTOC National Geospatial Technical Operations Center (older link archive; archive2)
NGU National Gang Unit (older link archive)
NGWMN National Ground-Water Monitoring Network
NGWOS Next Generation Water Observing System
NGWU Natural Gas Weekly Update
NHA National Heritage Area
NIC National Ice Center (changed to USNIC; older link archive) | National Information Center (older link archive) | National Institute of Corrections | National Intelligence Council (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
NICC National Interagency Coordination Center
NICE National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (older link archive)
NICEATM NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (older link archive)
NICHD National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
NICHSR National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (older link archive)
NICS National Instant Criminal Background Check System (older link archive; archive2)
NID National Inventory of Dams
NIDA National Institute on Drug Abuse (older link archive)
NIDB NIH Intramural Database
NIDC National Isotope Development Center (older link archive)
NIDCD National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders
NIDCR National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
NIDDK National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease
NIDILRR National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (older link archive; archive2)
NIDIS National Integrated Drought Information System (older link archive)
NIDRR National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (changed to NIDILRR)
NIEHS National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
NIEM National Information Exchange Model
NIES National Indian Education Study
NIF National Ignition Facility
NIFA National Institute of Food and Agriculture
NIFC National Interagency Fire Center
NIFL National Institute for Literacy (defunct; some content continued in LINCS)
NIFSI National Integrated Food Safety Initiative (older link archive)
NIFTT National Interagency Fuels, Fire, and Vegetation Technology Transfer (absorbed into WFMRDA FFE 02/14)
NIPP National Infrastructure Protection Plan (older link archive; archive2)
NIPRB Notice of Illegal Pirate Radio Operation
NIRSQ National Institute for Research on Safety and Quality (unable to verify 12/21)
NIS National Identification Services (unable to verify; likely absorbed by PPQ) | National Immunization Survey (older link archive) | National Incidence Study | National Inmate Survey | National (Nationwide) Inpatient Sample
NISAR NASA-ISRO SAR Mission
NISC National Invasive Species Council
NISIC National Invasive Species Information Center (older link archive)
NISIMS National Invasive Species Information Management System (retired 4/19; replaced by VMAP)
NISP National Industrial Security Program
NISPPAC National Industrial Security Program Policy Advisory Committee
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST ARC NIST Alternatives for Resilient Communities
NISTIR National Institute of Standards and Technology Interagency Report (older link archive)
NISVS National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey (older link archive)
NITAAC NIH Information Technology Acquisition and Assessment Center
NITAM National Insider Threat Awareness Month
NITRD Networking and Information Technology Research and Development
NITTF National Insider Threat Task Force (older link archive)
NITT-TA Now Is The Time Technical Assistance Center (unable to verify 3/19)
NIWQP National Irrigation Water Quality Program (unable to verify 8/17)
NJRP National Judicial Reporting Program
NJTTF National Joint Terrorism Task Force
NKSIP North Korean Serials Databases
NKUDIC National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse (unable to verify 5/15)
NLA National Lakes Assessment
NLAE National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment
NLAPH National Leadership Academy for the Public’s Health
NLB Native Lifestyle Balance
NLCD National Land Cover Database
NLDAS North American Land Data Assimilation System
NLE National Library of Education | National Library of Energy (discontinued; older link archive)
NLG National Leadership Grants for Libraries (changed to NLG-L)
NLG-L National Leadership Grants for Libraries
NLI National Land Imaging Program (older link archive; archive2)
NLIC National Lead Information Center
NLLAP National Lead Laboratory Accreditation Program
NLM National Library of Medicine
NLMC National Labor-Management Conference
NLMS National Longitudinal Mortality Study (older link archive)
NLRB National Labor Relations Board
NLRC National Legal Resource Center (discontinued)
NLS National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped | National Longitudinal Surveys
NLSCYA National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1979 Child and Young Adult
NLSI NASA Lunar Science Institute (changed to SSERVI)
NLSM National Longitudinal Survey of Older and Young Men
NLSP NASA Life Science Portal
NLSW National Longitudinal Survey of Mature and Young Women
NLSY National Longitudinal Survey of Youth
NLTS2 National Longitudinal Transition Study-2
NMAfA National Museum of African Art
NMAI National Museum of the American Indian (older link archive)
NMAM NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods
NMAO NOAA Marine and Aviation Operations (changed to OMAO)
NMB National Mediation Board (older link archive)
NMDB National Mortgage Database
NMFS National Marine Fisheries Service (older link archive) | National Mortality Followback Survey
NMHSS National Mental Health Services Survey (older link archive; archive2)
NMHSUPL National Mental Health and Substance Use Policy Laboratory
NMI NNDSS Modernization Initiative (unable to verify 6/21)
NMIC National Minerals Information Center (older link archive)
NMIHS National Maternal and Infant Health Survey
NMIO National Maritime Intelligence-Integration Office (older link archive)
NMMR National Mine Map Repository (older link archive)
NMMSS Nuclear Materials Management & Safeguards System (older link archive)
NMNH National Museum of Natural History
NMO New Mexico Operations
NMP National Mesonet Program
NMREC National Maritime Resource and Education Center (unable to verify 7/20; older link archive)
NMTC New Market Tax Credit Program
NMVTIS National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (older link archive)
NN National Network | Public Housing Neighborhood Networks Program (older link archive)
NNAS National Nursing Assistant Survey (older link archive)
NNCO National Nanotechnology Coordination Office
NNCP National Name Check Program (older link archive; archive2)
NNCSS National Neurological Conditions Surveillance System (older link archive)
NNDSS National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (older link archive)
NNF National Needs Graduate and Postgraduate Fellowship Grants Program (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NNHS National Nursing Home Survey (older link archive)
NNI National Nanotechnology Initiative | Native Nations Institute for Leadership, Management, and Policy
NNL National Natural Landmarks Program
NN/LM National Network of Libraries of Medicine
NNMI National Network for Manufacturing Innovation (older link archive)
NNPP Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program
NNRRC National and Nuclear Risk Reduction Center
NNSA National Nuclear Security Administration (older link archive)
NNSS Nevada National Security Site
NOAA National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
NOAA ENC NOAA Electronic Navigational Charts (older link archive)
NOAAGlobalTemp NOAA Merged Land Ocean Global Surface Temperature Analysis (older link archive; archive2)
NOB Neuro-Oncology Branch
NOC National Ocean Council (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition) | National Operations Center (older link archive)
NOC-DRS National Operations Center Division of Resource Services (absorbed by NOC)
NODC National Oceanographic Data Center (merged into NCEI)
NODD NOAA Open Data Dissemination
NOHRSC National Operational Hydrologic Remote Sensing Center
NOHSS National Oral Health Surveillance System (older link archive)
NOIRS National Occupational Injury Research Symposium
NOMADS National Operational Model Archive and Distribution System (older link archive; archive2)
NOMEC National Strategy for Ocean Mapping, Exploration, and Characterization Council (older link archive)
NOMS National Occupational Mortality Surveillance
NOP National Observer Program (older link archive) | National OPSEC Program (certificate error) | National Organic Program
NOPP National Oceanographic Partnership Program
NOPREN Nutrition and Obesity Policy Research and Evaluation Network (older link archive)
NOPUS National Occupant Protection Use Surveys
NORA National Occupational Research Agenda (older link archive)
NORMS National Occupational Respiratory Mortality System (unable to verify 5/20)
NOROCK Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
NORS National Outbreak Reporting System | Network Outage Reporting System
NOS National Ocean Service
NOSA NOAA Observing System Architecture (unable to verify 1/22; older link archive)
NOSC NOAA Observing Systems Council
NOTAM Notice to Air Missions
NOTC National Offshore Training Center
NOTP National Offshore Training Program
NPL National Priorities List
NPMS National Pipeline Mapping System
NPOESS National Polar-orbiting Operational Environmental Satellite System (replaced by JPSS)
NPP Nuclear & Particle Physics Directorate
NPPD National Protection and Programs Directorate (changed to CISA; older link archive)
NPPLAP National Plant Protection Laboratory Accreditation Program
NPPSD North Pacific Pelagic Seabird Database (older link archive; archive2)
NPPTL National Personal Protective Technology Laboratory
NPR National Partnership for Reinventing Government (archived at UNT) | Naval Petroleum Reserves
NPRA National Program Retrospective Assessment | Nonprofit Research Activities Survey
NPRC National Personnel Records Center
NPREC National Prison Rape Elimination Commission (unable to verify 2/18)
NPREP National Preparedness for Response Exercise Program (older link archive)
NPRM Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
NPRP National Pretrial Reporting Program (changed to SCPS)
NPRSB National Preparedness and Response Science Board (changed back to NBSB)
NPS National Pain Strategy (older link archive) | National Park Service | National Participants Survey (unable to verify 4/22) | National Prisoner Statistics Program (older link archive) | Nonpoint source pollution
NPS-8 National Prisoner Statistics program
NPSAB National Park System Advisory Board
NPSAS National Postsecondary Student Aid Study
NPSL NASA Parts Selection List
NPSS National Partnership for Student Success
NPTEC Nonproliferation Test and Evaluation Complex
NPTO National Petroleum Technology Office (unable to verify 1/08; likely absorbed into SCNGO)
NPWC National Prevailing Wage Center (older link archive; archive2)
NPWRC Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center (older link archive; archive2)
NREL National Renewable Energy Laboratory
NREN National Research and Education Network (unable to verify 7/16)
NREPP National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (discontinued; older link archive; archive2)
NREVSS National Respiratory and Enteric Virus Surveillance System
NRF National Response Framework
NRFC National Responsible Fatherhood Clearinghouse
NRFU Nonresponse Followup Operation
NRGR NIMH Repository & Genomics Resource
NRHEEC National Report on Human Exposure to Environmental Chemicals
NRI National Resources Inventory (older link archive) | National Risk Index | Nationwide Rivers Inventory (older link archive) | Neighborhood Revitalization Initiative (unable to verify 12/19)
NRIC Natural Resource Investment Center (unable to verify 8/17)
NRM Natural Resource Manager
NRMC National Risk Management Center (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NRMRL National Risk Management Research Laboratory (unable to verify 12/19)
NRNP National Road Network Pilot Program
NRO National Reconnaissance Office
NROC Natural Resources Office of Communications
NRP National Residue Program for Meat, Poultry, and Egg Products (older link archive)
NRPB National Recording Preservation Board
NRPC National Railroad Passenger Corporation (AMTRAK)
NRR Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
NRRC Nuclear Risk Reduction Center (changed to NNRRC)
NRRSS National River Restoration Science Synthesis (defunct)
NRS National Runaway Safeline | Natural Resources & Science | Natural Resources Section | Northern Research Station (older link archive)
NRSA National Rivers and Streams Assessment
NRSS Natural Resource Stewardship and Science Directorate (older link archive) | National Roadway Safety Strategy
NRT NSF Research Traineeship
NSD National Security Division, DOJ | National Security Division, ICE | National Security Division, USDA
NSDI National Spatial Data Infrastructure
NSDUH National Survey on Drug Use and Health (older link archive)
NSEB National Security Education Board (older link archive)
NSECE National Survey of Early Care and Education
NSEERS National Security Entry-Exit Registration System
NSEP National Security Education Program (older link archive)
NSERL National Soil Erosion Research Laboratory
NSES National Strategy for Electronics Stewardship
NSF National Science Foundation
NSF-PAR NSF Public Access Repository
NSFG National Survey of Family Growth (older link archive)
NSFLTP Nationally Significant Federal Lands and Tribal Projects Program
NSGO National Sea Grant Office
NSGP Nonprofit Security Grant Program
NSHAPC National Survey of Homeless Assistance Providers and Clients
NSI Nationwide Suspicious Activity Reporting Initiative (older link archive) | Neighborhood Stabilization Initiative
NSIA National Security and International Affairs Division (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
NSID National Security Investigations Division (changed to NSD; older link archive)
NSIDC National Snow and Ice Data Center Distributed Active Archive Center (older link archive; archive2)
NSIDS National Survey Of Indigent Defense Systems
NSIP National Streamflow Information Program (changed to FPS) | Nutrition Services Incentive Program (unable to verify 3/18)
NS-ISA Non-SDN Iranian Sanctions Act List
NSISS National Strategy for Information Sharing and Safeguarding (unable to verify 2/18)
NSL National Sedimentation Laboratory
N-SLCT NASA Sea Level Change Team
NSRS National Spatial Reference System
NSS National Security Science (older link archive) | National Settlement Service | National Shelter System
NSSATS National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services (older link archive; archive2)
NSSC NASA Shared Services Center (older link archive) | National Supply Service Center
NSSDCA NASA Space Science Data Coordinated Archive
NSSE National Special Security Events (older link archive)
NSSH National Soil Survey Handbook
NSSL National Severe Storms Laboratory
NSSP National Syndromic Surveillance Program
NSSRN National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses
NSST Near-surface Sea Surface Temperature
NST Nanoscience and Technology Division
NSTAC National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
NSTC National Science and Technology Center (changed to NOC) | National Science and Technology Council (older link archive)
NSTCS National Survey of Tribal Court Systems
NSTF Natural Convection Shutdown Heat Removal Test Facility
NSTIC National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace (changed to TIG)
NSTS National Source Tracking System
NSTTC Office of National Security and Technology Transfer Controls
NSTX-U National Spherical Torus eXperiment - Upgrade (older link archive)
NSU National Security Unit (unable to verify 2/21)
NSUBS National Survey of the Use of Booster Seats
NSWP National Space Weather Program
NSYC National Survey of Youth in Custody
NTA National Taxpayer Advocate (changed to TAS) | National Technical Assistance (older link archive) | Non-Traditional Agent
NTAC National Threat Assessment Center
NTACT National Technical Assistance Center on Transition