Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: I

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

I

IAE Integrated Award Environment (older link archive; archive2)
IAEGC Inter-Agency Electronic Grants Committee (changed to grants.gov)
IAEM Institute for Advanced Electron Microscopy
IAF Inter-American Foundation
IAG Industries at a Glance
IAIP Infrastructure Analysis and Infrastructure Protection Program (unable to verify 1/08)
IAIWG International Activities Interagency Working Group
IAL Innovative Approaches to Literacy (older link archive)
IALS International Adult Literacy Survey
IAM Indian Affairs Manual (older link archive)
IAO Interagency Office (unable to verify 7/22)
IAP International Activities Program | International Agricultural Productivity | Medicaid Innovation Accelerator Program (older link archive; archive2)
IAPD Investment Adviser Public Disclosure (older link archive)
IAPE Office of Intergovernmental Affairs and Public Engagement
IAQ Indoor Air Quality
IARPA Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity
IARPC Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee
IASA International Aviation Safety Assessment
IASAP Indian Alcohol and Substance Abuse Program (unable to verify 12/18)
IASOA International Arctic Systems for Observing the Atmosphere (older link archive)
IASP Integrated Aviation Systems Program
IAT Interagency Aviation Training
IATP Intelligence Analyst Training Program (unable to verify 8/18)
IAWG Interagency Working Group
IB Intelligence Branch | International Bureau
IBA Industrial Base Assessments
IBAS Industrial Base Analysis and Sustainment
IBAT Interagency Bolt Action Team
IC Intelligence Community
IC ACC Intelligence Community Advanced Campaign Cell
IC3 Internet Crime Complaint Center (older link archive)
ICAA International Conservation Chiefs Academy (older link archive)
ICAC Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force Program (unable to verify 10/19)
ICAD Intelligent Computer Assisted Detection
ICAM Identity, Credential, and Access Management | Innovative Coordinated Access and Mobility Pilot Program
ICAMS Interagency Council for Advancing Meteorological Services
ICARS Interagency Council on Agricultural and Rural Statistics
ICASS International Cooperative Administrative Support Services (older link archive; archive2)
ICATT Increasing Community Access to Testing for COVID-19
ICBEMP Interior Columbia Basin Ecosystem Management Project (archived site; older link archive; archive2)
ICC Office of Incident Command and Control (older link archive)
ICCE Office of International Climate and Clean Energy
ICCPUD Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Prevention of Underage Drinking (alternate link archive)
ICCVAM Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (older link archive)
ICD Intelligence Community Directive | Interagency Contract Directory | International Classification of Diseases (older link archive)
ICDBG Indian Community Development Block Grant (older link archive)
ICDR Interagency Committee on Disability Research
ICE Immigration and Customs Enforcement
ICEIWG Indian Country Energy and Infrastructure Working Group (older link archive)
ICESat-2 Ice, Cloud, and Land Elevation Satellite-2
ICF Office of Inertial Confinement Fusion (unable to verify 8/18)
ICH Interagency Council on Homelessness
ICILS International Computer and Information Literacy Study
ICSO Interior Complex Security Operations
ICSP Interagency Committee on Standards Policy (older link archive; archive2)
ICTIME Interagency Center for Trade Implementation, Monitoring, and Enforcement
ICTS Information and Communication Technology Survey
ICU Influenza Coordination Unit (unable to verify 2/16)
ID Infectious Diseases | Influenza Division | Intelligence Division (older link archive)
IDA Individual Development Accounts (older link archive) | Interactive Data Analyzer
IDB International Data Base (older link archive) | Investigational Drug Branch
IDC Imaging Data Commons
ID-CTP Immune Deficiency Cellular Therapy Program
IDD Infrastructure Protection and Disaster Management Division (unable to verify 5/14)
IDDB Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Branch
IDE International Data Explorer
IDEA Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
IDEAS IARPA Distribution & Evaluation System | Interagency Disability Educational Awareness Showcase (unable to verify 8/13) | Inter-Disciplinary Engagement in Animal Systems (older link archive)
IDENT Automated Biometric Identification System
IDEP Integrated Diabetes Education Program (defunct)
IdHSC Identity History Summary Checks (older link archive; archive2)
IDIS Integrated Disbursement and Information System
IDLH Immediately Dangerous To Life or Health
IDN International Directory Network
IDPB Infectious Diseases Pathology Branch
IDS Investigations Database System
IDSR Integrated Disease Surveillance and Response (older link archive)
IEA Integrated Ecosystem Assessments | Office of Independent Enterprise Assessments (changed to EA) | Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs
IEC International Energy Commitments
IECMH Infant Early Childhood Mental Health
IECMHC Center of Excellence for Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Consultation (older link archive)
IED Office of Indian Economic Development
iEdison Interagency Edison (older link archive)
IEDO Industrial Efficiency and Decarbonization Office
IEED Office of Indian Energy and Economic Development (changed to IED; older link archive)
IEG Instrument Enhanced Grading program
IEIP International Emerging Infections Program
IELS International Early Learning Study
IENC Inland Electronic Navigational Charts
IEO International Energy Outlook
IER Immigrant and Employee Rights Section
IERH International Emergency and Refugee Health (changed to ERRB)
IES Institute of Education Sciences | International Energy Statistics | Investigative and Enforcement Services
IESC Indian Energy Service Center (older link archive; archive2)
IEUBK Integrated Exposure Uptake Biokinetic
IE&VT Industries, Education, and Vocational Training Division (unable to verify 8/17)
IFAC In-Field Address Canvassing
IFAP Information for Financial Aid Professionals (changed to Knowledge Center)
I-FAST Innovations in Food and Agricultural Science and Technology Prize Competition (unable to verify 3/21)
IFD Division for International Finance and Development
IFDP International Finance Discussion Papers (older link archive)
IFFC Illicit Finance Fusion Cell
IFLE International and Foreign Language Education
IFO International Field Offices
IFPM Interagency Fire Program Management Standard
IFPS Institute of Food Production and Sustainability (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
IFS Center for Innovative Finance Support
IFSAC Interagency Food Safety Analytics Collaboration
IND Investigational New Drug (older link archive)
IndIWG Indicators Interagency Working Group
INEAP Interagency Network of Enterprise Assistance Providers (unable to verify 9/16)
INEPC Office of International Nuclear Energy Policy and Cooperation
INF Intermediate Range Nuclear Forces (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
INFRA Infrastructure for Rebuilding America (older link archive; archive2)
INL Bureau for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs (older link archive) | Idaho National Laboratory
INL/AME Office of Africa and Middle East Programs (unable to verify 6/19)
InPort NMFS Information Portal (older link archive)
INR Bureau of Intelligence and Research (older link archive; archive2)
INRMPs Integrated Natural Resources Management Plans
INS Immigration and Naturalization Service (changed to USCIS)
INSD FBI Inspection Division
INSITE INtegrated Support for Impacted air-Traffic Environments
INSTINCT Infrastructure for Noise and Soundscape Tolerant Investigation of Nonspecific Call Types
INT Office of International Affairs (DOI)
INTERPOL International Criminal Police Organization
INVNT CBP Innovation Team
IO Bureau of International Organization Affairs (older link archive)
IOC/AG Information Operations Center’s Analysis Group (unable to verify 2/17)
IOCM Integrated Ocean and Coastal Mapping
IOD Indexing on Demand | International Operations Division
IOLP Inventory of Owned and Leased Properties (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
IOMs Internet Only Manuals (older link archive)
IOOC Interagency Ocean Observation Committee
IOOS Integrated Ocean Observing System
IOS Division of Integrative Organismal Systems
IOSS Interagency OPSEC Support Staff (certificate error, able to access) | Investigative and Operations Support Section (unable to verify 8/22)
IP Intellectual Property Section | Office of Infrastructure Protection (changed to ISD)
IPaC Information for Planning and Consultation (changed from Information, Planning, and Conservation; older link archive)
IPAD International and Philanthropic Affairs Division | International Production Assessment Division (older link archive)
IPAS Illicit Pathways Attack Strategy (older link archive)
IPAWS Integrated Public Alert & Warning System
IPB Inspection Policy Branch
IPCA International Parental Child Abduction
IPCD Intermodal Passenger Connectivity Database (older link archive; archive2)
IPD Innovative Program Delivery (changed to CIFS) | International Programs Division (unable to verify 11/22)
IPDD Institutional Programs Development Division
IPE Immunization Program Evaluation
IPEC Intellectual Property Enforcement Coordinator (unable to verify 2/21)
IPEDS Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
IPEF Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity
IPEMF Integrated Physical and Ecological Modeling and Forecasting
IPEP Intellectual Property Theft Enforcement Program (older link archive; archive2)
IPI International and Philanthropic Innovation (changed to IPAD)
IPIF Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry
IPL Intergovernmental Public Liaison
IPM Integrated Pest Management, FWS (unable to verify 2/16) | Integrated Pest Management, NIFA (older link archive)
IPP Import Permit Program (older link archive) | Innovative Partnerships Program (changed to ITPO) | Unmanned Aircraft System Integration Pilot Program | Invoice Processing Platform
IPR Interatomic Potentials Repository
IPR Center National Intellectual Property Rights Coordination Center
IPRiS Intellectual Property Rights Internal Search System
IPRL Invasive Plant Research Laboratory (older link archive)
IPRP Interagency Pain Research Portfolio (older link archive)
IPRR Intellectual Property Rights e-Recordation Online System
IPRS Intellectual Property Rights Search
IPS Images and Publications System, NCDC
IPTF Intellectual Property Task Force (unable to verify / website archived 1/22)
IPTU International Prisoner Transfer Program (older link archive)
IPY International Polar Year
IQCP Individualized Quality Control Plan
IQIP Immunization Quality Improvement for Providers
IRA Industry and Regional Analysis Division (unable to verify 10/19)
IRAC Interdepartment Radio Advisory Committee
IRAP International Research and Applications Project (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
IRAS IWG Intelligent Robotics and Autonomous Systems Interagency Working Group
IRAT Influenza Risk Assessment Tool | Inorganic and Radiation Analytical Toxicology Branch
IRB Internal Revenue Bulletin (older link archive)
IRDA Informatics Research and Development Activity (unable to verify 6/14; likely replaced by DHIS)
IREMS Integrated Real Estate Management System
IREPO Institutional Resilience and Expanded Postsecondary Opportunity program
IRFMS Integrated Rangeland Fire Management Strategy
IRG Intergovernmental Reference Guide
IRIS Immigration Records and Identity Services Directorate | Industrial Research and Development Information System (unable to verify 11/18; see archive) | Integrated Risk Information System | Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph
IRM Bureau of Information Resource Management (older link archive) | Internal Revenue Manual
IRMA Integrated Resource Management Applications
IRMCO Interagency Resources Management Conference (unable to verify 3/13)
IRP Intermediary Relending Program (older link archive) | Intramural Research Program
IRR Indian Reservation Roads (replaced by TTP; older link archive)
IRS Indian Resources Section | Internal Revenue Service
IRS-CI Internal Revenue Service, Criminal Investigations (older link archive; archive2)
IRSOB IRS Oversight Board (unable to verify 4/22)
IRTM Division of Information Resources and Technology Management (older link archive)
IRWIN Integrated Reporting of Wildland-Fire Information
IS International Services
ISA Importer Self-Assessment (older link archive; archive2)
ISAs Integrated Science Assessments
ISAC Invasive Species Advisory Committee (inactive as of 2020)
ISAT Information Sharing Assessment Tool
ISB Investigative Services Branch
ISC Integrated Support Center (changed to CSC; older link archive) | Interagency Security Committee (older link archive)
ISC3 Implementation Science Centers in Cancer Control
ISCAP Interagency Security Classification Appeals Panel
ISCD Infrastructure Security Compliance Division (older link archive; archive2; archive3)
ISCR Institute for Scientific Computing Research (unable to verify 2/19)
ISD Division of Indian Self-Determination | Immunization Services Division | Industry Safety Data | Information Services Division | Infrastructure Security Division (older link archive) | Integrated Surface Database (older link archive)
ISDC Interagency Suspension and Debarment Committee
ISE Information Sharing Environment (unable to verify 8/22; older link archive)
ISF Importer Security Filing
ISIS Integrated Software for Imagers and Spectrometers
ISLSWG International Space Life Sciences Working Group
ISMICC Interdepartmental Serious Mental Illness Coordinating Committee
ISN Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation (older link archive)
ISN/ECC Office of Export Control Cooperation (also, ECC)
ISN/MNSA Office of Multilateral Nuclear and Security Affairs (also, MNSA)
ISO Immunization Safety Office (older link archive) | Office of International Security Operations (unable to verify 6/19)
ISOO Information Security Oversight Office
ISP International Statistics Program
ISPO International Safeguards Project Office
ISSM Ice Sheet System Model
ISSMG Internet and Scalable Systems Metrology Group (older link archive)
ISTAND Innovative Science and Technology Approaches for New Drugs
I-STEP Intermodal Security Training and Exercise Program
ITA Interactive Tax Assistant (older link archive) | International Trade Administration
ITAP Federal Interagency Committee on Invasive Terrestrial Animals and Pathogens | International Technical Assistance Program
ITAR International Traffic in Arms Regulations
ITC International Tax Counsel | International Technical Cooperation | NRCS Information Technology Center (unable to verify 11/22) | United States International Trade Commission
ITD International Trade Division (changed to IAD)
ITDS International Trade Data Systems
ITEC Interagency Trade Enforcement Center (replaced by ICTIME)
ITF Infrastructure Task Force | Innovation Task Force
ITIL Interdiction Technology and Integration Laboratory
ITIS Integrated Taxonomic Information System
ITL Information Technology Laboratory
ITPO Innovative Technology Partnerships Office (changed to SPO)
ITR Innovation, Technology, and Research Hub
ITS Identity Theft Supplement (older link archive) | Institute for Telecommunications Sciences (older link archive) | Intelligent Transportation Systems | International Treasury Services
ITVERP International Terrorism Victim Expense Reimbursement Program (older link archive)
IV&V Katherine Johnson Independent Verification and Validation Facility
IVLP International Visitor Leadership Program
IVP International Visitors Program
IWAAs Integrated Water Availability Assessments
IWCAL Integrated Water Chemistry Assessment Laboratory
IWCG Integrated Water Cycle Group
IWG Interagency Working Group
IWG-FI Interagency Working Group on Facilities and Infrastructure
IWG-OCM Interagency Working Group on Ocean and Coastal Mapping
IWG-OEC Interagency Working Group on Ocean Exploration and Characterization
IWGOA Interagency Working Group on Ocean Acidification
IWGYP Interagency Working Group on Youth Programs
IWM Office Integrated of Waste Management
IWMS Irrigation and Water Management Survey
IWS Irregular Warfare Support Program (unable to verify; likely changed to CTTSO)
IWTSD Irregular Warfare Technical Support Directorate
IYFC Institute of Youth, Family, and Community (older link archive; archive2; archive3; archive4)
IYSC Indian Youth Service Corps Program