Speeches and political ads for more than 300 women candidates that are easily accessible through the online archives. All include a transcript of the text and many also feature video.
This collection includes the papers of Fannie Lou Hamer, a civil rights activist, political activist, and woman. It also includes materials related to Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women.
Digitized collection of letters, writings and drawings.
College Women: Documenting the History of Women in Higher Education
(Note: appears to be unavailable. See archived site.) A collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives the Seven Sisters colleges.
Defining Gender is a collection of over 50,000 images from 669 original documents relating to Gender Studies. The sources come from libraries and archives throughout the world, including many from the Bodleian Library in Oxford, England
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
This site documents various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humorous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
"A collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Collection of 120 declassified documents (studies, memos, letters, and other official records) documenting the CIA's efforts to examine, address, and improve the status of women employees from 1947 to today.
Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.
(Note: site appears to be unavailable; link goes to archived site.) Outstanding collection of 400+ speeches from influential women, dating from 1848-present.
A full text collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950. Also includes bibliographies on the field.
Digital primary sources modules (50) drawn mostly from U.S. archival collections.
African American Police League Records, 1961-1988
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate
American Politics in the Early Cold War—Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century, Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe
Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Africa and the Middle East
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Asia
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969, Europe and Latin America
Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO
Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal Manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library
Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents
NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files
NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns—Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files
NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns—Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post World War II Restitution Process
New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies
Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961
Pinkerton’s National Detective Agency Records, 1853-1999
Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation and Rights
Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers
Progressive Era: Voices of Reform (1875-1945)
Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War
Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969
Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society, 1721-1860
Slavery and the Law
Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries
Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2
Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1
Southern Women and their Families in the 19th and 20th Centuries, Holdings of the Southern Historical Collection
Struggle for Women's Rights: Organizational Records, 1880-1990
Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933
Thomas A. Edison Papers
U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights
Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records
World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence
World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era
World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees
Online sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
Dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays.
This collection includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographical sketches of people represented in this database.
This collection of speeches "showcases women speakers across time and around the world, from antiquity to the present." Arranged by topic, with a keyword search option and an alphabetical index by speaker name.
Spanning the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906, this collection includes correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and miscellaneous items.
A collection of manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that "illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave."
An online selection of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. The collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.
With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this archive and database includes documents related to the Hapsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand, and Australia. A large section focuses on the voices of Native Women in North America.
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Notable works included in this library are History of Woman Suffrage (1881-1922), the complete Feminism and Legal Theory Project, and the Documentary History of the Legal Aspects of Abortion series. Also featured are other works on abortion, biographies of famous women, works pertaining to legal rights and suffrage, and books and journals that pertain to the role of women in education and employment.
Online audio collection devoted to women’s history. These recordings include interviews, panel discussions, literary and musical performances, news coverage, and other programming broadcast between the mid-1950s and the 1980s. Currently includes 26 files, with more to come. Requires RealAudio.
Access to digitized books, manuscripts and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930. Searchable, or browsable by topic, individual, dates and events, or organization.
Diaries written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States.
