Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to collections
Collection of documents that "help clarify the fates of the victims of persecution. They contain information on victims of the Holocaust and concentration camp prisoners, on foreign forced laborers and on the survivors who were trying to rebuild their lives as displaced persons."
Collection of medieval Jewish manuscripts.
Center for Jewish History: Digital Collections
Large collection of material from the Center for Jewish History and its partner organizations: the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research. Features more than 25000 digital objects, including rare books, children’s books, personal letters, official decrees, maps, memoirs, posters, photographs, scrapbooks, oral histories and more.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive: Jewish Americans
Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).
Compact Memory: Internetarchiv Judischer Periodika
Browse or search more than 100 German-Jewish magazines and journals from the 18th to mid-20th centuries. Results, in German, are displayed as full page images.
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons, 1936-1945 This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but it also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes This link opens in a new window
Unique documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include: correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets.
A good number of documents related to Nazi Germanyand the Holocaust, intended as a teacher's guide to using primary sources in the classroom.
Holocaust Resource Center
Extensive collection of primary sources, including photographs; diaries and letters; documents; testimonies; maps; and images of artifacts and artwork. Part of the larger Yad Vashem website.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
Material documenting Jewish history from ancient times to the present day.
Internet Sacred Texts Archive: Judaism
Full text of public-domain editions of the Talmud, Tanakh, Kabbalah, and miscelleous texts from other eras, including Flavius Josephus, Maimonides; other documents from the modern era.
Israel's Foreign Policy - Historical Documents
This series of volumes from the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs contains documents, many in English translation, relating to Israel's foreign relations from 1947-2004.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Contains full-color, full-text searchable digitized primary source materials on the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to today. Includes access to the entirety of six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Themes covered include: Business, industry and enterprise; Civil rights and liberties; Culture, literature and the arts; Early Jewish experience; Everyday life: personal and family narratives; Immigration and settlement; Politics and the law; Reflections on the Jewish experience; Religion, tradition and community; War, conflict and persecution; and Welfare, health and education
Jewish News Archives This link opens in a new window
1923-2008. From the archive of the Jewish Telegraph Agency, an international, daily wire service for covering news about the Jewish people since the early 20th Century.
A collection of projects focused on the Holocaust and its denial, including documents on the camps and war crimes trials, organizations, people and places,and research guides.
Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud Text Databank This link opens in a new window
The Databank integrates, in digital text format, all of the surviving manuscripts of the Babylonian Talmud and first printed editions. The collection will encompass all primary textual witnesses of the Babylonian Talmud, including the manuscripts of the tractates of the Babylonian Talmud of Oriental, Ashkenazic, Sephardic, or Yemenite provenance, and first printed editions. It will include hundreds of Cairo Geniza and European binding fragments of the Babylonian Talmud, many as both text and digital image.
Southwest Jewish Archives
Features materials on Jewish pioneers, railroad builders, ranchers, and merchants; synagogues and religious objects; Crypto-Jews; finding aids for the archive's collections; and transcripts of over 20 oral histories.
Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library
Includes 10,000 Yiddish books, digitized as a project of the National Yiddish Book Center and the Internet Archive. Browse by turning pages or download as PDF files.
Testaments to the Holocaust
Personal accounts, interviews, letters, photographs; also biographical files and Nazi documents and propaganda texts, including textbooks, songbooks, Antisemitic tracts, etc. About 25% in English.
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 This link opens in a new window
Provides unique correspondence, reports and analyses, memos of conversations, and personal interviews exploring such themes as U.S.-Vatican relations, Vatican’s role in World War II, Jewish refugees, Italian anti-Jewish laws during the papacy of Pius XII, and the pope’s personal knowledge of the treatment of European Jews.
Visual History Archive (VHA)
Repository of Holocaust testimony, as well as testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. Can search remotely but videos may be viewed only on campus. Individual registration required. Works best with IE browser.
Voices of the Holocaust
Translations into English of interviews of Holocaust survivors conducted in 1946. These primary sources are complemented by maps, biographies, and links to other resources.
From the Hebraic Section of the Library of Congress; 77 unpublished manuscripts in the original Yiddish characters (not transliterated). Part of the American Memory collection of American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920.
Nearly 700 memorial books of communities destroyed in the Holocaust, digitized from New York Public Library collection. Published 1950s-1970s, most are in Hebrew or Yiddish; some portions also in English or other European languages. Browse by community.