Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives of the Communist Party of China (CPC) 中国共产党档案文件库
Archive of the important, historical documents. Search interface is Chinese language only [1921 to present].
Archives Unbound (China Studies) This link opens in a new window
This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics vary from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China
China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new window
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries including a selection of rare books and manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives. These include selected rare books from the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages and manuscript material for the Alaska Commercial Company Records.
China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service – from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze – are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War and tantalising glimpses of life in China from the collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family. Significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals are also featured.
Chinese Film and Newsreel Scripts from the Cultural Revolution Online This link opens in a new window
Documentary films and newsreels were two of the major mass media and communication channels in China from the 1950’s through the 1970’s. They covered all aspects of social activities, though the emphasis was on developments in the building of a socialist country. The bulk of the items in the collection are transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from the Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976.
East Asia Image Collection
Archive of visual materials including photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980: 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International 1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of communist victory 1949-1956: The Communist revolution 1957-1966: The Great Leap Forward 1967-1980: The Cultural Revolution
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
This collection focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Section I: Independence, partition, and the Nehru era, 1947-64 ; Section II: South Asian conflicts and independence for Bangladesh, 1964-71; Section III: Afghanistan and the Cold War, emergency rule in India, and the resumption of civilian rule in Pakistan, 1972-80.
Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成
Contains searchable full-text and scanned images of important classics from ancient China to the Qing Dynasty. Includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more.
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Subject listing of documents from East Asian history. Includes cultural origins; religious traditions; imperial China; western intrusion; Japan as a world power; and others.
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Texts documenting the history of India. Topics include the formation of religious traditions; medieval India; Muslim-era India; western intrusion; and others.
Mongols in World History
Images, timelines, maps, and other information on the role of the Mongols in world history.
North Korean Propaganda Posters
Reproductions of North Korean propaganda posters, dating from 1985-2002.
Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊
Contains scanned images and searchable full-text of 504 works in 3,134 volumes compiled during the years 1919 to 1936. Topics include history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and literature.
Si ku quan shu 四庫全書
An electronic edition of the Si ku quan shu 四庫全書. Works only with IE.
Song Dynasty in China (960-1279)
Life in the Song as seen through a 12th-century scroll.
South Asia Study Resources
Extensive and well-organized collection of links. For primary sources, see especially the sections "Maps of South Asia (and Beyond)" and "South Asian literature."
Southeast Asia in the Ming Shi-lu
Accounts of emperor reigns in China from 1368-1644.
Southeast Asia Visions
Written and photographed experiences of Europeans and Americans who traveled to Southeast Asia during the period of imperialism. Document dates range from 1633 to 1926.
Taiwan wen xian cong kan 臺灣文獻叢刊
Also known as the Encyclopedia of Taiwan. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images of 595 books originally published in print between 1959 and 1972. Temporal coverage from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period.
World Digital Library
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.