Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to collections
African Activist Archive Project
This project preserves records and memories of activism in the United States that supported the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection
Digitized pamphlets published by various groups before and during the prohibition era, ending with the 21st amendment in 1933.
American Indian Movement And Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Movement (AIM) was founded in 1968, at a time of social change and protest and the civil rights movement. AIM used the press and media to present its own unvarnished message to the American public. This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off, materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section. These primary sources provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism, as well as the attitudes of the US government towards this organization.
American Radicalism Collection
Includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
ASPCA Historical Archive
Collection of American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals annual reports, journals, scrapbooks, photos, and publications since its 1866 founding.
Baltimore 68: Riots and Rebirth
Offers oral histories, newspaper clippings, local government documents and photographs related to Baltimore's riots following the 1968 assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Black Panther Chronology
Embedded within this chronology are links to texts, photos and media clips. (archived copy)
Charlotte Perkins Gilman Digital Collections
Digitized collection of letters, writings and drawings.
Civil Rights History Project
Oral histories (with interview transcripts) and digital photographs of people who participated in the civil rights movement.
Disability History Museum
Presents primary documents and visual material to "help expand knowledge and understanding about the historical experience of people with disabilities in the United States."
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
This site documents various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
Dr. Seuss Political Cartoons
Political cartoons drawn for the New York newspaper PM by author and illustrator Theodor Seuss Geisel, 1941-1943.
Dramas of Haymarket
Examines selected materials from the Chicago Historical Society's Haymarket Affair Digital Collection. The Dramas of Haymarket interprets these materials and places them in historical context, drawing on many other items from the Historical Society's extensive resources.
The Empty Closet
One of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. Full text of issues from 1971- .
Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage. The collection consists of Federal statutes and Congressional resolutions, additional legislative documents, excerpts from the Congressional Globe and the Congressional Record, Presidential proclamations, prints and photographs, historic manuscripts and motion pictures.
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
Primary source accounts from those who worked with Cesar Chavez to build the farmworker movement (1962-1993).
Free Speech Movement Digital Archive
UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library maintains a large digital collection of documents from Berkeley's 1964-65 Free Speech Movement. Bibliograpies and other historical background is also included.
George Floyd & Anti-Racist Street Art
"Seeks to document examples of street art from around the world that have emerged in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd as part of an ongoing movement demanding social justice and equality."
Haymarket Affair Digital Collection
Presents images of key documents and artifacts in their historical context. Includes trial documents, broadsides, photos and more.
Herman Baca Collection
Selections documenting the work and activities of Chicano activist Herman Baca and the Committee on Chicano Rights.
Digital primary sources drawn mostly from U.S. archival collections. Collections are arranged into subject modules: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; American Indians and the American West; American Politics & Society; International Relations & Military Conflicts; Revolutionary War & Early America; Women's Studies; Workers, Labor Unions, & Radical Politics.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
The Labadie Collection is the oldest research collection of radical history in the United States, documenting a wide variety of international social protest movements of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It is named for anarchist and labor organizer Joseph Antoine Labadie (1850-1933). Available here are digitized pamphlets and photos from the collection; some are restricted to University of Michigan users only.
Minutemen, 1961-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Minutemen was a militant anti-Communist organization formed in the early 1960s. The Minutemen believed that Communism would soon take over all of America. The group armed themselves, and was preparing to take back the country from the "subversives." The Minutemen organized themselves into small cells and stockpiled weapons for an anticipated counter-revolution. This collection sets the stage for the political evolution of the contemporary militia movement by detailing the philosophies and activities of one early example of the changed definition of "militia". Primary sources from the FBI detail the philosophy, leader, plans and programs of the Minutemen organization.
Documenting and saving the digital evidence and stories from worldwide Occupy protests that began in September 2011. Created/maintained by volunteers working together at the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media and with other members of the George Mason University community.
Offers digitized materials that help document the Occupy Movement's meetings and protests. Includes flyers, pamphlets, postcards, articles, and more. Created/maintained by the Occupy Archive Team at Case Western Reserve University.
Pinback Buttons (Labadie Collection, University of Michigan)
This collection shows images of political buttons addressing issues of anarchism, civil liberties (with an emphases on racial minorities), socialism, communism, colonialism and imperialism, American labor history through the 1930s, the IWW, the Spanish Civil War, sexual freedom, women's liberation, gay liberation, the underground press, and student protest.
Post Family Papers Project
More than 2000 letters, books, newspapers, and other material from the Post family, dating 1817-1918. Primary subjects are abolition, women’s suffrage and Spiritualism.
Riots, Civil and Criminal Disorders
Congressional hearings, including witness testimonies, from 1967-1970. (You can find additional hearings in this database; try a search on the name of a particular group.)
Roz Payne Sixties Archive
Collection of "political artifacts from the 1960s-era, collected and saved over the years by activist, photographer and filmmaker, Roz Payne." Collections include underground press, small press publications, leaflets/flyers/broadsides/article reprints, posters/graphic design, buttons, photographs, objects, and newsreel films.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974
Thousands of pages of letters, diaries and oral histories, plus posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, audio and video materials. Also interpretive essays by historians.
Sixties Project: Primary Document Archive
Includes documents from Vietnam Veterans Against the War, Blank Panther Party, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, and several similar groups.
Student Activism (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
Students for a Democratic Society
A small collection of digitized material from the 1960's student activist group.
Temperance and Prohibition
Provides an overview of the temperance movement; includes photographs, political cartoons, charts, graphs, and excerpts from primary documents.
We Raise Our Voices
Small collection of items documenting Boston's African American, Latino, feminist, and LGBT community histories.
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962 This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary source documents from the FBI Library sheds light on the history of the Freedom Riders, civil rights activists who rode interstate buses into the segregated South in the summer of 1961. Their activities tested the US Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia, which outlawed racial segregation in the restaurants and waiting rooms in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines. At a time when Jim Crow travel laws remained in force throughout the South, the Freedom Rides, and the violent reactions they provoked, bolstered the credibility of the Civil Rights Movement and called national attention to the violent disregard for the law that was used to enforce segregation in the southern United States.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.