Skip to main content

Guide to Online Primary Sources: Other Libraries' Digital Collections

Subject listings of primary sources available online: free web collections as well as UCSD subscription-based resources. Includes a custom Google search engine to keyword search across many of the listed sites.

About

This page leads to digital collections from other libraries and organizations, arranged geographically. The list began with collections we were able to identify from Association of Research Libraries (ARL) member libraries, then grew to include collections from State Libraries and select additional sources (with thanks to Christine A. Pruzin from the Library of Congress, whose guide was very helpful in identifying resources).

There is a wealth of primary source material included in these collections. Many of the collections focus on topics of particular interest to that specific geographic area, but others - especially the university library collections - go far beyond that scope. Spend some time browsing and see what you can find!

States : A-M

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Missouri

Montana

States : N-Z

Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota

Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

Searchable Directory