Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
De Re Militari
Primary (and secondary) sources on medieval and renaissance military history. Includes the Crusades, Hundred Years' War, Anglo-Norman Warfare, and the Vikings and Norse. [Note: temporarily unavailable March 2012, but links to an archived site]
Digital Military Collection
Collection of contemporary and historic military books, newspapers, periodicals, video and audio content.
Imperial War Museums
Digitized photos, diaries, letters, posters, propaganda leaflets, films, interviews, and other material related to military conflicts - especially those involving Britain and the Commonwealth - from WW I to the present.
Internet History Sourcebooks
The Internet History Sourcebooks are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts. Topics include Ancient, Medieval and Modern histories.
The Korean War and Its Origins
Provides access to Korean War materials from the Truman and Eisenhower administrations.
Korean War Propaganda Leaflets
Based upon what President Truman called “the campaign of truth,” these leaflets became one of the primary means of winning the hearts and minds of enemy troops and Korean civilians.
Mexican-American War: Primary Sources
Texts and images related to the war (1846-1848).
Naval History and Heritage Command
Official website for U.S. naval history. Includes administrative histories and reports as well as links to other government and private historical museums, collections and organizations.
Papers of the War Department: 1784 to 1800
Offers access to 55,000 documents of the early War Department, many long thought irretrievable but now reconstructed through a multi-year research effort. Covers the history of the Early Republic, from the handling of Indian affairs, pensions and procurement to the nature of the first American citizens’ relationship with their new Federal government.
Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
A collection of 68 motion pictures, produced between 1898-1901, of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution.
U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center Collections
Excellent collection of texts, photos, digitized images of military artifacts, and military publications. Material dates from the mid-1800s. Includes 23,000 photographs from the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States (MOLLUS) from the Massachusetts Commandery, considered the single best Civil War photo collection in the world.
War of 1812 in the Collections of the Lilly Library
Types of materials offered include books, broadsides, prints, maps, correspondence, log books, legal documents, diaries, speeches, letter copybooks, orderly books, and receipts.
World of 1898: The Spanish-American War
Information about Cuba, Guam, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Spain, and the United States is provided in chronologies, bibliographies, and a variety of pictorial and textual material from bilingual sources.