Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to collections
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A digital collection of 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.
American Memory: Literature & Poetry
Collections from the Library of Congress.
Aspects of the Victorian Book
British Library site devoted to the history of book production, illustration, and publishing in the Nineteenth Century, including penny dreadfuls, children's books, and much more. Site includes cover images of books, but no text.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore: African, African American, and Diaspora
Comprehensive collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. Also includes complete runs of selected literary magazines.
Broadside Ballads Online
A large collection of ballad broadsides, from the Bodleian Library.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
Collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of classic and current drama texts. Includes audio and video material.
Early American Fiction
Digitzed editions of American fiction written between 1789-1875.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text and page images of books published in English from 1475-1700. Search by subject, title, author. Will eventually include more than 125,000 books.
Early and Clairvoyant Journals
Collection of Hannah Weiner's "large-sheet poetry" of the 1970s.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature Note: site appears to be unavailable. See archived site.
Not a collection, per se, but provides numerous links to sites that offer digitzed texts of Western European literature.
Hannah Weiner Writings
Collection of writings from Hannah Weiner, a New York City poet and significant member of the "language-centered" group of writers.
Harry Ransom Center Digital Collections
Collections focus on literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts. Literature collection is especially well represented, with letters and manuscripts from several writers.
An ongoing effort to produce a parallel text of the first two editions of Raphael Holinshed's Chronicles of England, Scotland, and Ireland (1577, rev. 1587), which was a major source for many works by Shakespeare and other Elizabethan writers.
Internet Classics Archive
Contains the full text original language versions of Classical Literature as well as the English translations.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama and Fiction
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Jane Austen's Fiction Manuscripts Digital Edition
Gathers together some 1100 pages of fiction written in Austen's own hand. Through digital reunification, it is now possible to access, read, and compare high quality images of original manuscripts whose material forms are scattered in libraries.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
English literature of the Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century and Restoration periods.
Middle English Compendium
Includes an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary; a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies; and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
Modernist Journals Project
This website seeks to document the rise of the Modernist movement in English language literature by providing searchable texts of key literary and cultural periodicals from the period 1890-1922, including the 1912-1922 issues of Poetry.
North American Women's Drama
When complete, this collection will include more than 1500 plays along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information spanning from the 18th century to the present.
A large archive of recorded poetry.
Provides thousands of public domain e-texts, ranging from classical literature to modern works from authors who support the project's goals. Most in ASCII format, but also other formats such as PDF or audio.
TEAMS Middle English Texts
Collection of medieval literature.