Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of California
California Loyalty Oath Digital Collection
Documents the controversy (1949-1951) that shook the University of California during the McCarthy Era. More than 3500 pages of electronic text, plus some picture and audio files. Also resources for further study.
University of California's gateway to a world of historical primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items:photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, art works, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising and more.
Camp Matthews Photographs and Plans
Camp Matthews was a U.S. Army base; the land for the camp became part of the UC San Diego campus site. This collection includes photographs and plans of Camp Matthews buildings after the camp closed operations in 1964, plus building modifications through 1967.
Campus Files: Reagan, Hoover, and the UC Red Scare
Special report by the San Francisco Chronical, with archival documentation, on a covert FBI campaign in the 1960s to discredit UC Berkeleys Free Speech Movement and UC President Clark Kerr.
Charles H. Graves Photographs and Films
Film and color slides created for and used in a photographic documentary of early UCSD events from 1963 to 1967. The project documents the construction of Revelle College campus, various campus events, political and social activities of the first undergraduate classes.
Harry Crosby Photographs
Photographs of UC San Diego taken during the mid-1960s, including photographs of Baja California (1967-1992), and photographs of Sonora, Mexico (1958-1986).
History of UC San Diego
50 years of historical information about UC San Diego, digitized largely from the Archives in Mandeville Special Collections. Includes full text of student newspapers, campus news releases, images and oral histories.
Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
OAC identifies and provides access to materials such as manuscripts, photographs, and works of art held in libraries, museums, archives, and other institutions. Includes detailed finding aids; also images and many digitized texts.
Robert Glasheen Photographs
Photographs of University of California, San Diego faculty, staff, campus life, buildings, and events. 1964-1986
Sam Hinton Papers
Images from the University of California Division of War Research, Sam Hinton’s caricatures and sketches of SIO faculty, and original drawings of ocean plants and animals.1937-2006
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, Geological Collections
A growing archive of sea-floor samples and associated data supporting a diverse variety of scientific research. 1950-2006
Scripps Institution of Oceanography Letters, Clippings, Ships' Logs
Images of historical documents about Scripps expeditions. 1873-1987
Scripps Institution of Oceanography Photographs
Selections from archival collections held by the UC San Diego Library that document the history and activities of Scripps Institution of Oceanography. 1930s-2000s
Thurgood Marshall College Photographs
Photographs documenting UC San Diego's Thurgood Marshall College participation in campus and San Diego community events, provost office staff, and college programs. 1965-2000
UC San Diego History
Photographs, student newspapers, oral histories, campus news releases, news clippings, and publications that document the development and history of the campus. 1956-
Primary student newspaper of UCSD campus. Includes earlier versions of the Guardian, such as the Triton Times and special issues titled Hiatus. 1967-
UCSD Health Science Communications Photographs
Photographs of the UCSD School of Medicine and the UCSD Medical Center. 1961-2005
UCSD Oral Histories
Oral history interviews, with various persons involved with the establishment and development of the UC San Diego, and the development of various campus academic programs. 1984-1999
UCSD Student Newspapers
Scans of students newspapers, other than the UCSD Guardian. Includes Black Voices, California Review, New Indicator, Revellations, Third World, and Ujima, among others. 1960-
University Communications & Public Relations Materials: News Releases
News releases of UC San Diego adminstrators and faculty, campus events, major campus buildings, and aerial views of campus. 1956-2001
University Communications & Public Relations Materials: Photographs
Photographs of UC San Diego administrators and faculty, campus events, major campus buildings, and aerial views of campus. 1956-2001
University of California History Digital Archives
A growing collection of digitized historical documents, images and reference materials, along with past and current analysis on the history of the UC system and its individual campuses.
Links to UC Libraries' Digital Collections