It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with LGBTQ individuals, international gay/lesbian newspapers. Dates encompass 1940-2014.
GLAA is a "political organization that defends the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in the Nation's Capital." This website provides access to the organization's documents from 1953- .
Items from the 1960s-90s documenting the generations of activists in the United States that fought for civil rights for LGBT people and struggled against societal stigma to end the AIDS crisis. The collection consists of photographs documenting key activists, organizations, and protests, as well as posters, ephemera, and artwork.
Collection of texts and images. Includes ACT UP New York records, Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen gay history papers and photographs, Mattachine Society, Inc. of New York records, Gay Activists Alliance records, 1970-1983, and more.
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
This resource hosts the key works and, in future releases, archival documentation of LGBT underground political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. Includes personal papers of key figures and archival materials from local and national organizations; and seminal texts, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction.
Aims to understand often ignored queer geographies using the Damron Address Books, an early but longstanding travel guide aimed at gay men since the early 1960s...By associating geographical coordinates with each location mentioned within the Damron Guides, MGG provides an interface for visualizing the growth of queer spaces between 1965 and 1980.
"Collects together texts concerned with same-sex desire in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This comprehensive sourcebook ranges widely, both generically and chronologically, and includes prose, poetry, fiction, history and polemic from 1810 to 1914."
A selection of items from "the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world." Includes photos, letters, periodicals, sound recordings, and more.
Presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people (LGBT). The site includes hundreds of original texts, discussions and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods and in all regions of the world.
"Presents the images of over 420 trial narratives. Included are a number of trials of the wealthy and renowned such as an account of the adultery trial of Caroline, Queen Consort of George IV, [and] the sodomy trial of Oscar Wilde... The larger part of the collection, however, consists of the stories of ordinary men and women thrust into the public eye when their marriages and love affairs went wrong or their relationships did not conform to social standards."
A collection of manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that "illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave."