Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to collections
Objectives are to digitise and present on the Internet quality Islamic resources, related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.
Atla Digital Library
Digitized collections from libraries, religious institutions, and other organizations worldwide who collect and preserve texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings, and other materials.
"A tool for reading and researching scripture online -- all in the language or translation of your choice! It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference."
Bible, King James version
Browse or search the KJV.
Bible, Martin Luther translation
This version of the Luther translation of the Bible is derived from the edition published by the Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft. Browse or search.
Book of Mormon
Browse or search.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Online texts of hundreds of classic Christian writings. Early Christianity, later history of the church, theology, and more.
Digital Quaker Collection
A digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Foxe's Book of Martyrs
"A history of the lives, sufferings and triumphant deaths of the early Christian and the Protestant martyrs." First published in 1563.
Global Missions and Theology
This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches. (part of Archives Unbound)
Guide to Early Church Documents
Material relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Texts on Islamic history from ancient times to the 20th century.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
This site is a freely available non-profit archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.
Browse or search this translation by M.H. Shakir.
Medieval Handbooks of Penance
"The documents translated in this book were employed in administering a religious discipline to our forefathers during their transition from paganism to Christianity and from barbarism to civilization."
Excellent site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.
Nag Hamadi Library
Collection of 13 ancient codices containing over 50 texts discovered in upper Egypt in 1945. The texts provide insight into early Christianity in general and Gnosticism in particular.
Douay-Rheims, Challoner revision, ca. 1750. Search/browse.
Letters, speeches and other writings from Pope Leo XIII (1878) through Pope Benedict XVI (current).
Primary Source Material in Religion and Politics Note: site appears to be unavailable. See archived website.
Extensive list of primary source documents on issues relating to the interaction of religion and politics, categorized by era from ancient times to the present.
Sacred and Historical Texts
Links to numerous websites of religious texts (Bahai / Bible/ Buddhist / Christian / Confucian / Hindu / Islamic / Jain / Jewish / Sikh / Taoist / Unification Church / Zoroastrian / Other).
Shaping the Values of Youth: Sunday School Books in 19th Century America
Presents Sunday school books published in America between 1815-1865, documenting the culture of religious instruction of youth in America during the Antebellum era.
The Bible in English (990-1970)
Searchable, fulltext database of 20 versions of the bible in English, from 990-1970 c.e.
Presents texts of the Bible (New American), Catechism of the Catholic Church, Code of Canon Law, II Vatican Council, and documents of the Jubilee 2000. Most texts are presented in multiple languages.
Wellington Valley Project
Letters and Journals Relating to the Church Missionary Society Mission to Wellington Valley New South Wales 1830 - 40.
An online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. The collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.
World Digital Library
Collection of manuscripts, books and images. Use limiters in the left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, or topic. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.