Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links to collections
The American Influenza Epidemic of 1918-1919: A Digital Encyclopedia
A digital collection of archival, primary, and interpretive materials related to the history of the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic in the United States.
Bee Research Methods: Video Demonstrations
Shows bee behaviors and methods used to study bee behaviors. 2005-2014
Classics in the History of Psychology
"An effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites."
Collection of Historical Scientific Instruments
Images of more than 20,000 objects dating from about 1400 to the present. A broad range of scientific disciplines are represented, including astronomy, navigation, horology, surveying, geology, calculating, physics, biology, medicine, psychology, electricity, and communication.
Complete Work of Charles Darwin
Includes publications, manuscripts, private papers, and supplementary works.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Makes available more than 500,000 pages of books, serials, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other materials that offer historical perspectives on diseases and epidemics.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Searchable texts of more than 6000 letters written by Charles Darwin and information about 9000 more, as well as essays and other contextual material.
Digitized Archival Primary Sources in STEM: A Selected Webliography
Provides links to primary source collections in: Biology & Natural History, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering & Technology, Environment/Forestry/ Agriculture, Medicine, Physics, and General STEM.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text and page images of books published in English from 1475-1700. Search by subject, title, author. Will eventually include more than 125,000 books.
ECE Distinguished Lecturer Series
Lectures in Electrical and Computer Engineering recorded in 1991 and 1992 at UC San Diego.
Images from the History of Medicine
With nearly 70,000 images, this collection of portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters and graphic art illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine from the 15th to the 21st century.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Extensive collection of documents from ancient to modern times.
John Muir Correspondence, 1856-1914
Most of these letters were sent and received by Muir, although the collection also includes some correspondence of selected family members and colleagues. Muir’s correspondence offers a unique first-hand perspective on his thoughts and experiences, as well as those of his correspondents, which include many notable figures in scientific, literary, and political circles of the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Leo Szilard and Aaron Novick Research Files
These research files document experiments on bacterial populations performed jointly by Szilard and Novick at the Institute of Radiobiology and Biophysics, University of Chicago. (1948-1964)
Leo Szilard Papers
A selection of documents, photos, and audio-visual materials of the nuclear physicist and inventor Leo Szilard. (1898-1998)
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Currently includes four distinct collections: Medicine in the Americas, Cholera Online, The Public Health Film Goes to War, and Tropical Disease Motion Pictures. Material dates back to 1541.
A selection of Newton's manuscripts, concentrating on his mathematical work in the 1660s.
Niels Bohr Archive
Facsimiles, transcriptions, and translations of documents pertaining to the September 1941 meeting of Bohr and Heisenberg. Also contains links to annual reports, photographs and more.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia online resource that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. The collection pairs 65 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 45,000 pages of primary-source documents. It’s packed with exclusive and hard-to-find materials including notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments.
Royal Society Journal Archive
Free access to nearly 70,000 historical scientific articles published more than 70 years ago (and dating to 1665). "Treasures in the archive include Isaac Newton's first published scientific paper, geological work by a young Charles Darwin, and Benjamin Franklin's celebrated account of his electrical kite experiment. Readers willing to delve a little deeper may find some undiscovered gems from the dawn of the scientific revolution."
San Diego Technology Archive
Documents the history, formation, and evolution of the companies that formed the San Diego region's high-tech cluster, beginning in 1965.
Santa Fe Light Cone Simulation research project files
This project was the result of an ongoing effort by the Laboratory for Computational Astrophysics, leading to development of the Enzo simulation software capable of a seven-level adaptive mesh refinement (AMR) cosmology simulation. (2005-2012)
Provides bee-related teaching exercises and information for instructors of students ranging from junior high school through college. 2005-2013
Western Waters Digital Library
Free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.
World Digital Library
Collection of manuscripts, books and images. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range or topic. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.