This collection incorporates documents about the Mexican Revolution, foreign relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States from 1930-1944, and documentation related to Emiliano Zapata.
Oral histories and documents related to the 1942-1964 Bracero program, a guest worker initiative in which millions of Mexican agricultural workers were contracted to work in the U.S. Be aware that the site allows user contributions; these items have not been validated, and are clearly identified.
Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts here are in English, but the site offers links to additional multilingual resources.
This collection reproduces documents from various archives, under the protection of the Archivo General de la Nacin̤, and is divided into the following documentary series: (1) The Flores Brothers revolutionary activities MAGO: movement Comun in the Baja California region; (2) Revolution and regime Madero: correspondence, reports and military activities, reports on the political situation in some States; (3) Emiliano Zapata, the Plan of Ayala and his agrarian policy: land deals, reports of troops and mail operations; (4) Revolution and regime Constitutionalist: circulars, laws, decrees and manifestos; and, (5) Sovereign revolutionary Convention: together prior to the sessions and sessions held 1914-1915
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
KEY THEMES:
Settlement, Slavery and Empire, 1624-1832
Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849
Economic Change and Indentured Labour, 1850-1870
The documents of Confidential Print: Latin America are full text records of the British Foreign Office covering the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners. Document types include: transcripts, journals, laws and draft laws on land, drafts of circulars and manifestos by General Emiliano Zapata; and documents relating to the signing and ratification of the Plan de Ayala organizations.
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean which provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands. Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
These pamphlets document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states, and illuminate many aspects of their populations' social and cultural life. Many pamphlets are devoted to boundary disputes, territorial expansion, the description of unexplored territories and the relationship between Church and State.
Consists of campaign literature such as handbills, broadsides, posters, newspapers, bulletins, and pamphlets predominately from Central America and Mexico from the 1980s up to 2009.
Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources.
Serves as a gateway to digital collections at participating institutions. Content is in the field of American Studies, focusing on a hemispheric view of the Americas. Date coverage is 1500-1927.
More than 1200 images, most of them dating from the period of slavery, that depict the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
"Through the presentation in digital form of books, maps, prints and photographs, manuscripts and other documents from the collections of the partner libraries, this project illuminates five main themes related to the history of Brazil and the interactions between the United States and Brazil: Historical Foundations, Ethnic Diversity, Culture and Literature, Mutual Impressions, and Biodiversity." Covers the 18th century to the present.
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page.
