Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bin Ladin's Bookshelf
Documents recovered during the raid on the compound used to hide Usama bin Ladin. The release contains two sections: a list of non-classified, English-language material found in and around the compound; and a selection of now-declassified documents.
Confidential Print, Middle East, 1839-1969
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government, aimed to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1974
A significant collection of diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles that addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Texts that document Islamic history. Topics include Islamic expansion and empire; the Ottomans; expansion to India, China and the East Indies; the western intrusion; and others.
Islamic Heritage Project
A digital collection of manuscripts, maps and printed texts from Harvard’s library and museum collections. IHP materials date from the 13th to the 20th centuries CE and represent many regions, languages and subjects.
Islamic Medical Manuscripts
Here you can learn about Islamic medicine and science during the Middle Ages and the important role it played in the history of Europe.
Israel's Foreign Policy - Historical Documents
Published by the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs, these are documents (official statements, press conferences, interview, letters, etc.) relating to Israel's foreign relations from 1947-2004.
Khirbat en-Nahas Project
A collection of archaeological artifacts and data for the excavation of the Khirbat en-Nahas site, and exploration of Iron Age state formation in southern Jordan. 2002-2009
Middle East, 1916-2001: a documentary record
Government documents, transcripts of speeches by government leaders and UN resolutions. Arranged by year.
Saddam Hussein Sourcebook: Declassified Secrets from the U.S.-Iraq Relationship
Brings together five briefing books previously published by the National Security Archive into one searchable file of primary sources. These include "Iraq and Weapons of Mass Destruction," "Eyes on Saddam," "Alleged Iraqi War Criminals in 1992," "Operation Desert Storm," and "Shaking Hands with Saddam: U.S. Policy before the Gulf War."
Travelers in the Middle East Archive
A digital archive that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
World Digital Library
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource. Also offers a keyword search box at top of page