Cross-disciplinary resource providing background and context for daily life in all historical eras, from ancient times to the present. Includes primary documents, images, maps, weblinks, folktales, recipes, much more.
Primary (and secondary) sources on medieval and renaissance military history. Includes the Crusades, Hundred Years' War, Anglo-Norman Warfare, and the Vikings and Norse. [Note: temporarily unavailable March 2012, but links to an archived site]
A major collection of scanned texts relating to empire studies, divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts 1492-1969; Empire Writing/the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion; and Race, class, imperialism and colonialism 1607-2007.
"Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
Presents a selection of primary source texts illustrative of various aspects of medieval urban life. Texts are grouped under four headings: community, economy, government and lifecycle.
Canonical information, apostolic fathers, texts, creeds and canons, and other miscelleaneous texts related to the development of the early Christian church.
This is the place to start. Huge collections of well-organized primary texts, divided into: Ancient History, East Asian History, Global History, History of Science, Indian History, Jewish History, Medieval History, and Women's History
Online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. Includes literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.
This resource consists of full-colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that make up these family letter collections and full-text-searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available.
A plethora of topics are covered in these collections, including trade, warfare, arranging advantageous marriages, arguments between parents and children, matters of inheritance, births and deaths, estate management, legal disputes, domestic finances, women and their role in the family and everyday social and domestic life.
"The documents translated in this book were employed in administering a religious discipline to our forefathers during their transition from paganism to Christianity and from barbarism to civilization."
Translated texts of the Pontificate of Gregory VII; the Crusades; the Norman Kingdom of Sicily; and the Chronicle of St. Clement, Casauria. From the University of Leeds.
This collection presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. It is an indispensable source for scholars of medieval travel, geography, exploration, trade, literature and medieval postcolonial studies.
Excellent site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.
(Note: site appears unavailable; link goes to archived site.) Primary source documents on issues relating to the interaction of religion and politics, categorized by era from ancient times to the present.
